Skip to content

Confessions of…

April 5, 2009

…A Frustrated Minimalist!!

Can anyone truly begin to understand what it is like to be a frustrated minimalist….?!  Well…can they…?!!! 

Here is someone who used to be so tidy…so organised…who had a place for everything, and everything was in its allotted place.  So, what I want to know is…just what has gone wrong…?!!!  I am desperate to regain some kind of control over my environment again, but I look around at the piles of accumulated crap and clutter…and collapse into a helpless, despairing, gibbering heap.  Where do I start?

It feels as though I am fighting a losing battle, as no matter how much of it goes out of the door…there always seems to be twice as much in its place!  Why?!  How?!  What am I doing wrong?! 

To be honest with you….I am totally ashamed.  Ashamed of myself for letting my home get in this state…!  And…worst of all…ashamed of letting anyone see, or set foot in this place!  At my age I should have a home that I am proud of, and that I want people to see and admire…but the reality is the opposite!

(Takes a very deep breath…!!)…So…I am wondering if I should take photos of the place now and post them on here…for all to see…in the hope that it will spur me on to ever greater efforts…?!  I’m warning you…the pictures will show that we could easily feature on Life Laundry…and teenagers will be shocked…and that’s saying something!!

So, what do you think…?  Can you help me to de-junk….?!!!

 

 

39 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    April 5, 2009 4:08 pm

    Come and see my house and then yours will look really tidy!Start in one corner Sandi and it\’ll soon spread across the room and before you know it the whole place will be spiffing again.Anyway, it\’s far too nice to be indoors tidying. That\’ll wait for another day when it\’s raining. Get out and enjoy the sun for a bit. The vitamin D will do you good. Maid\’s orders. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 5, 2009 4:16 pm

    I did actually want to go up to the museum today…but the time has gone in the blink of an eye…as usual! There are some lovely (not!) big grey clouds muscling in on the act, as I type this…boo, hiss…!!Sewing is what I\’ve been doing today…just one or two more rows of piping, and the brim will be done…! The living-room was tidy…before all my sewing stuff kinda took over…but it\’s the rest of the place I\’m ashamed of…hall, kitchen, and library…(shoulders slump in despair)…where to start…where to start…?!!!

  3. Bran permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:03 pm

    Always suspicious of over tidy people, with too immaculate homes, usualy they are obsessives with something to hide! Or to quote an old office saying "A tidy desk is a sign of a sick mind" change it how you will !!!!!

  4. Pamela permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:35 pm

    They say the greatest of minds work and live in utter chaos,we must be freakin` genious Sandi !!I feel the same way, it is overwhelming.I sat in my livingroom last night, and kept hearing this noise like water dripping, I`ve been hearing itfor weeks now,never finding out what it was, last night ((( lightbulb !!! ))) I realised it was my entertainment center,which has been leaning a bit, slowly getting ready to crumble!!It was a DIY assembled by little ole me years ago.So, at eleven last night I dismantled the POS, which spurred me to clean my livingroom.Sorry to write a blog on your blog, lol…

  5. Sandi permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:41 pm

    I don\’t think I\’ll ever be anal about tidiness, but I need to start clearing out all this useless clutter before we totally run out of floor-space!!Go ahead, Pam…you write as much as you like…you know I don\’t mind…I think I will take photos…then I will post them in Photographic Evidence…!!

  6. Princess permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:06 pm

    Hehehehhee, Good Idea Sandi! Bitta photographic evid is just wot we need 2c whether u really are a clutter bug!!!

  7. Mike permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:48 pm

    Hmm my place is pretty tidy (well for a bloke it is anyway lol) but i do have a spare room where things have just been shoved out of sight! God knows what i\’d find if i sorted it all out….i do know there is some weight lifting equipment in there somewhere that i got when i was about 20 ……….Jeez, thats donkey\’s years ago! 🙂 xxx

  8. Sandi permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:59 pm

    We used to have a spare room…we called it the Trebus Room…after old Mr Trebus from A Life of Grime. Maybe we should call this flat Trebus Heights…?Photographic Evidence you shall have, then, PF….!!

  9. Natalia permalink
    April 5, 2009 8:10 pm

    Perhaps Sandi it is something that happens to all of us at a certain time of life. My parents are reknown for it. All her Art work as well as his crammed into every available space. They also have many a round tuite in the house. They complain and shout at the cats if they knock things over. I point out that the fault lies not at the animals feet, but at them not getting around to it. ;o) However, I feel that as we age, Our priorities change. We prefer to do what pleases us instead of what is expected of us. :o)xxx

  10. Sandi permalink
    April 5, 2009 9:20 pm

    Oh, Natalia…that last sentence…what pleases us instead of what is expected of us…!! Nails and heads come to mind…!! I am guilty as charged! When my interest cycle moves on to something new, I end up with stuff all over the place….like the needlework bits that are taking over the living-room at the moment. What I need is to learn to be organised again, but I realise that our main problem, here, is the lack of storage.If I can whittle away at the crap, then what we keep must be stored properl…so statements must be filed properly, in clearly labelled folders, etc., etc. I shall empty the trolley again and re-organise the files…well, it\’s a start!! Oh, and I must make lists as things occur to me…so I don\’t forget them!!

  11. Sandi permalink
    April 6, 2009 9:58 am

    Another \’problem\’ that I have identified, is that of having too much stuff that we want around, like hi-fi and all the records (vinyl), chair and two sofas, and other bits of furniture…and all my houseplants!! Result = I can\’t see any skirting-boards. The living-room just looks cluttered, and I want it to look spacious and calm…somewhere to relax. Now just where am I going to put all my needlework stuff…?!!!!!

  12. Sandi permalink
    April 6, 2009 1:56 pm

    Phew….have reduced a huge pile of papery crap, that has been dumped in the kitchen over the last few weeks…!! As I have been \’tidying\’ here and there, the stuff that I have collected goes into the kitchen to be sorted between \’recycling bin\’ and \’to-be-destroyed\’ bags…I have just not got \’a round tuit\’…until today! I feel good about this one little victory…it\’s just the \’keep going\’ bit that is hard…!! Once I have got rid of it all, it should be easy to stay on top of it all…I hope…oooooooooh-er….!

  13. Princess permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:15 pm

    Where\’s the photo evid then?! I am sat here patiently waiting!!!

  14. Natalia permalink
    April 6, 2009 4:22 pm

    Curiously Sandi, I found a round tuite in my kitchen too. It wasn\’t yours was it?? ;o) xx Now the washing machine has had a meal of sofa covers……….. and now it going to rain. Like I care……… Time to make the bed now. How decadent am I?? ;o) xx

  15. Sandi permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:02 pm

    PF…have taken some pics with my normal camera…d\’you remember them…? You know, you load a film into it, take pics….then take it to be developed…be patient…and stop tapping your foot…!!If said \’round tuit\’ is going spare, Natalia…I\’ll take it off your hands. I need all the help I can get…!!!

  16. Princess permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:07 pm

    oh, well ya see, in case u have\’t gathered, patience is not one of my strongest attributes!

  17. Natalia permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:08 pm

    Plenty down the charity shop I\’m informed Sandi. Many people buy them intending to use but invariably it end lying around gathering dust. :op Hmmm? perhaps I should post a pic of my erhem, Naked Sofa\’s. (Their covers are still on the washing Line ;o)…………) xx

  18. Sandi permalink
    April 6, 2009 8:39 pm

    I\’m araid you will have to wait…I\’m only half-way through a 36 exposure film….and I bought it…when…? January? February? The intention being to take photos of High Bridge, Steep Hill, Brayford Pool, etc….and I\’m still waiting…!!!Oooh…naked sofas…?! Poor things are probably blushing…(how daft am I…?!!) Hehehe…!

  19. Bran permalink
    April 7, 2009 12:04 am

    Thank goodness for digital Sandi, otherwise I would be bankrupt this month, I think I have taken 5-600 shots in the last week or so!

  20. Sandi permalink
    April 7, 2009 11:16 am

    We have a digital camera…as I have mentioned on a previous blog…but I\’m not sure what is wrong with it…if anything. I just haven\’t worked it out yet…it has a new battery (not cheap!), but I\’m not sure if it…oh, I don\’t know…! I will have to get Robert to show me, won\’t I…?!!! Besides, it\’s more compact than my SLR and will fit in my bag nicely. Hmmmm…time I learned a bit more technology…don\’t ya think…?!!!!

  21. Sandi permalink
    April 10, 2009 8:37 pm

    Ha ha…I have been playing with the digital camera and learning how to use it…so now I have taken some photos of the clutter that I am trying to do battle with…the only thing now is finding the damned USB cable amongst all this bloody crap!!! Aaaaaaaargh!!!!!!!

  22. Bran permalink
    April 11, 2009 12:11 am

    Think we shall soon see more pictures on the blog as you get used to carrying the camera with you —– in the most most mundane of places there are extraordinary photographic opportunities, though usually they only appear when the camera is elsewhere!

  23. Sandi permalink
    April 11, 2009 12:44 pm

    That\’s so true…! Sod\’s law!!I have decike the camera with me on Tuesday, when meet Mum for lunch, as there are a few things I want to take pictures of…you\’ probably right….photography is so adictive….!!!

  24. Sandi permalink
    April 11, 2009 12:48 pm

    It would be helpful if I could find the USB cable so that I can download pics from camera…! There\’s always something…!!!

  25. Bran permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:26 pm

    the thing I find easiest is to have a card reader or usb/card adapter —- pop the card out of the camera into the reader/adapter and plug it in no cables and a lot easier to use —- the usb card adapters are only a couple of quid on EBay and they save loads fiddling about with wires!

  26. Sandi permalink
    April 11, 2009 4:29 pm

    We have a 12-in-1 card reader sat on the shelf over there…woah! Covered in dust, or what!! The box…not the card reader…!I have no idea what is on the card…if anything….but it\’s not in the camera at the moment…more stuff to learn about…never ending…keeps the old grey cells active, I guess…!!

  27. Mike permalink
    April 11, 2009 5:44 pm

    Yeah…..so i subsequently found out when Princess picked out the same horse and left a pic of John Travolta as Danny Zuko! Doh!! Mind, like most of our horses in the competition today, it ran as if it had several pounds of grease stuck to its hooves! Just chilling today…..then out on the razz tonight! 🙂 xxx

  28. Sandi permalink
    April 11, 2009 6:41 pm

    Yours was more imaginative, though Mike…oh…and one for me while you\’re out, will ya…I\’m going to stay in and watch Red Dwarf and CSI: NY…but now, I guess I must go and clear out a bit more crap…then do some sewing…then…

  29. Sandi permalink
    April 12, 2009 7:35 pm

    Hey, Bran…have learned something new today…! Computer…card reader…card.= pictures on my computer…!!! That\’s it…I\’m all set…there\’s no stopping me now!! Woohooooo! The rest I can pick up as I go along…yay!!!

  30. LABW permalink
    April 12, 2009 10:30 pm

    I don\’t think I can point you in the right direction here Sandi..\’cos I am hopless at organising the cleaning /sorting out junk I don\’t really need…but the daughter sometimes helps out here ….for cash reward…but if I leave her on her own…I can\’t find things after…lol LABW LABW xx

  31. Sandi permalink
    April 12, 2009 10:39 pm

    I have written another blog, Chris…but I\’m too scared to post it…as I have added photos of the living-room….and all the mess…!! I hang my head in shame…but…but…I have no storage for my sewing stuff and sunbonnets…what should I do…?!!! Anyone…?!! Please…?!!!!

  32. Pamela permalink
    April 12, 2009 11:51 pm

    Under the bed storage thingies??

  33. Sandi permalink
    April 12, 2009 11:55 pm

    Only if they are an inch high…! No room Pam…!

  34. Curiosity permalink
    April 13, 2009 7:40 am

    Be brave dear friend. Post the blog. You know it makes sense. We will all support your efforts. Or are you tidying up now to retake the pics so it does not look as bad? I too am a natural clutterbug my place as it is now is only as a result of being with a compulsive stroppy minimalist who always demands things his way, so i gave in with a bit of compromise, just don\’t try opening any of my cupboards!

  35. Curiosity permalink
    April 13, 2009 7:42 am

    You could change the description of \’Mess\’ to \’Display\’ which is much more acceptable!

  36. Princess permalink
    April 13, 2009 9:50 am

    Yo Sandi! Ur friend\’s willnot judge u on a bitta clutter! If u don\’t feel comfortable posting the phots, then don\’t post em! Went 2 a carboot sale this morn, had been looking 4ward 2 it all week, as they\’re only held on a Bank Hol Mon about twice a year! I woz sooo disappointed, it woz rubbish! The only thing we bought were bacon butties on the way out!!!! I had washed & straightened my hair b4 we went & due 2 the mist, I looked like I\’d been plugged in, by the time I\’d got around! Hope u have a Great Day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  37. Sandi permalink
    April 13, 2009 2:31 pm

    I have just tried to publish the blog entry…but keep getting an error message!! Do they think it will be too shocking, I wonder…?!!Anne…the photos from the blog…of the living-room \’display\’ have actually gone to the Blog photos album…even though the blog didn\’t publish…what\’s that about…?!!!PF…sorry to hear about this morning\’s carboot…I had visions of a picture of a frog…with an afro hair-do…hmmm…!OK…will try to publish blog entry again…(sigh)…!

  38. Sandi permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:43 pm

    And I have just tried again…so I deleted all my hard work…!! I will just have to write a blog the old-fashioned way, won\’t I…!!!

  39. Princess permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:49 pm

    Yo Sandi! U will! I hardly dare tell u this(says Froggie with a wide mouthed grin!) but I have spent the afternoon in Haworth!!!! Lalalalalalalalalalalla!

Leave a Reply

