Skip to content

A Hundred And One Ways Not To Do It…!

April 20, 2009

“Do what?!” I hear you cry?!

Well, it’s like this, you see…about three years ago I discovered a magazine…and in that Issue12lg magazine were photos of an event.  That was it, I was hooked…I subscribed to the magazine, then proceeded to buy all the back numbers…and from then onwards, my head was full of plans and ideas and designs…!

The magazine is Jane Austen’s Regency World, and the event is the annual Jane Austen Festival in Bath, held every September, and kicking off with the Grand Regency Promenade. 

I wanted to go so much, especially in costume, but for all my efforts, had not succeeded to come up with a satisfactory design.  I bought metres of cheap calico to make a toile with….and reduced most of it to scraps!!

In 2007 we finally got to attend the Promenade….but not in costume.  It was amazing!  The DSCF0041 atmosphere was wonderful, and even Robert and his mum enjoyed themselves!  I’ve never had so much fun, talking to all those people who did attend in costume, and following them through the beautiful streets of Georgian Bath.

Anyway, back to my latest efforts to create a costume.  This year, I HAVE to go in costume!!  I want to be part of the attempt at the Guinness world record for the largest gathering of people in Regency costume, and have (finally) decided what I want to do!

I have already designed the spencer (short jacket), and based it on the one that was worn by Amanda Root as Ann Elliot in Persuasion.  As was common at the time, I have decided to make a skirt, attached to a small half-bodice, rather than a complete dress….as was worn as part of Walking or Promenade dress and Riding Habits.

So, yesterday evening was spent, while watching Cranford, then Catherine Cookson’s The Rag Nymph on TV, attempting to copy a pattern from Janet Arnold’s Patterns of Fashion 1…unsuccessfully, and trying a couple more ideas….and in the process turning more calico intoMore Mess! 002 a bagful of scraps…!  OK…so I have found plenty of ways not to do it.  It’s only a matter of time before I find the correct way to do it!!  And that time draws ever nearer…

I must succeed!!  I WILL succeed!!!!

See you in Bath in September….!!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:10 pm

    Had a sneaky idea that you would be watching Rag Nymph. I was but then forgot I was and stayed on pc longer than I should have and missed most of it.

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:57 pm

    Catherine Cookson isn\’t ususlly my kinda thing, but I actually enjoyed The Rag Nymph….I only put it on while I was reducing my piece of calico to shreds….!!! I found a handful of previous efforts, and think that one of them might just be about right for my purposes…fingers crossed…!!!

  3. Princess permalink
    April 20, 2009 7:21 pm

    Yo Sandi! U will do it! I know u will! I shall look 4ward 2 the pic evid!!!! Now u just knew that one was coming! Been glorious here 2day! Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  4. Sandi permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:15 pm

    It\’s been glorious here, too….absolutely gorgeous…!!I\’m wondering what the heck I\’m doing…!! Making a toile on someone else is easy peasy lemon squeezy…trying to make one on myself is a blasted nightmare…!! A contortionist I definitely am not!!! I need another pair of hands…!!! I thought that the back was fine, and the side pieces…then I put the straps on, and they won\’t go right because my stupid shoulders are not built like coathangers!!! Gggrrrrrrrr!!!!! I\’m running out of calico….!!!!!!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:24 am

    If at first you don\’t succeed…try, try, try again…and again, and again…oh, you get the picture…!!!Sorry for boring the pants of you……….!

  6. Mike permalink
    April 22, 2009 8:46 am

    Morning Sandi…..IT"S YOUR BIRTHDAY TOMORROW…don\’t hope or think we havn\’t noticed! 🙂 xxx

  7. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:20 pm

    It\’s a figment of your imagination, Mike…! I\’m twenty-one…so no need of birthdays…is there…?!!! LOL!!! 😉

  8. Curiosity permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:53 pm

    You is telling fibs young Sandi!

  9. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:07 pm

    Ssssssh….!!! I ain\’t!! Twenty-one I tells ya…have been fer years! Haven\’t you…?!!

  10. Cornish permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:15 pm

    I started going through the alphabet saying 21a, 21b. But I\’ve lost count now. I\’m still 21 though, you ask my youngest, she doesn\’t tell horrible porky pies. Give it a few years and I\’ll be 21-2. Oh yeah, I\’m still alive and kicking. Not feeling very sociable at the moment though so it\’s best I keep schtum. Big hugs. xx

  11. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:22 pm

    It\’s all numbers…and I don\’t do numbers…!!

  12. Curiosity permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:00 pm

    In 7 years time we shall be the age of the year we were born in…….. Hang on..i always thought i was a few months older than you, hummm am i though?

  13. Princess permalink
    April 22, 2009 7:36 pm

    Oooooh Sandi! Ur Birthday 2moz!!!! (Froggie makes mental note!) Hope u have a lovely evening, been Gorgeous here! Luv PF XXX

  14. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:18 pm

    Oooooh…SSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH…..!!!!!!!!!!!!I\’m TWENTY-ONE I TELL YA\’s…!!!!I thought you was older than me, too, Anne…but if you were born in \’58 too…oh, shit…!!!!!

  15. Sandi permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:45 pm

    Have been stitching and trimming bits o\’ calico this evening. Have I finally got it, or have I just created more scraps for the rag bag…?! Find out in the next episode of….Madwoman Makes A Mess…!!!!!

  16. Natalia permalink
    April 23, 2009 2:30 pm

    hi sandi. here is another way not to do something. wish you a very happy birthday via mobile whilst on a train. thinking of you with affection. x x

Leave a Reply

