Skip to content

The Trouble With Trowbridge…!

April 29, 2009
The Trouble With Trowbridge….The Trouble With Tribbles…not the same…simples!!!
 
I just liked the sound of it…and as we don’t live here, we don’t really know what ‘troubles’ there really are with this place…though they can’t be any different to Lincoln…or any other town or city.  Councils seem to be top of the list for most people…!  Surprised 
 
But, that is not the purpose of this blog…I’m not really sure what is, but you know me…just like to have a good old-fashioned waffle now and then…Wink
 
Anyway…at the weekend, the weather was beginning to turn cloudy with one or two showers (a little waffle about the weather!), but on Monday, well, it rained.  Oh, great!  Off to Trowbridge and the weather has turned really crappy!!  It rained most of the way down here, with one or two really heavy downpours…most of the time the problem came from spray.  When travelling downhill, you could see what looked like a fog surrounding the vehicles ahead, but despite adverse weather conditions…people were still speeding!  Bloody idiots!! 
 
We passed one accident, but luckily only one vehicle was involved (maybe due to a blow-out…?), and apart from a cut to his brow, the guy was helped out of his car looking nothing more than badly shaken.  Having just passed this accident, we were then overtaken by several cars who then disappeared into the misty distance….!!!!  Don’t they ever learn…?!!!!
 
Anyway, by the time we arrived here the weather had improved greatly, and has stayed nice (we missed one little shower, yesterday, while wandering around The Shires shopping mall!)  We have been wandering around the shops again today, but didn’t find any more Bernard Cornwell or Ian Rankin books in the remaining charity shops…so I’m still missing Set In Darkness and The Falls!!!!  Robert bought three Sharpe novels, yesterday, and I found one Georgette Heyer…so we’re both happy for the moment!
 
We were going to meet up with Natalia, this afternoon, which I was really looking forward to, but a family commitment prevented her from coming, so we will have to wait until September now.  We will definitely be here in September, as we both have a week booked…from work, and with Robert’s mum!  The Jane Austen Festival (Oh, here she goes again!!!) is the reason we will be back then.
 
While in town today, Vi showed us where the fabric shop was that she’d previously mentioned, so we had a look.  I wasn’t hopeful of finding anything at all, as it was mainly curtains and blinds, but found a lovely yellow damask that would be perfect for Robert’s waistcoat…at only two pounds per metre!  I also bought a metre of calico, and a couple of metres of pelmet stiffener (just right for making hats or bonnets!)  Sandi happy!!
 
We are going home tomorrow, and I have just realised that I have yet another short week at work, next week as Monday is bank holiday…and I will be off work Thursday, Friday and Monday due to my radioiodine treatment.
 
Well, that’s about it for now…I’m all waffled out!!! Sarcastic  Have a lovely day, all…XXX
 
 
 
 
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalia permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:05 pm

    Hey Sandi, Having read your Blog I am truely sorry for not being able to make the short trip to see you. However, I don\’t know how the little one would have fared on the train with an already fatigued Grandmother. Really pleased to hear you found some Damask that suited your requirements.Safe Journey home tomorrow and if you\’re down this way again before September. Perhaps we can redezvous?? ;o) xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:33 pm

    Not to worry. I was disappointed, but we will have to wait until September…unless we can make it down again in between (fingers crossed…!!!)Making a shirt for Robert…no problem. Making a waistcoat for Robert…no problem, so I will have some fabric left over to make something else. Making pantaloons or breeches for Robert…oh, heck!! Making a tail-coat for Robert…Oh, help!!!!!!! Fingers crossed! Legs crossed!! Everything else crossed!!!!!!!

  3. Natalia permalink
    April 29, 2009 11:14 pm

    Oh I forgot to say, I hope the radioiodine treatment has no adverse effects Sandi. :o) xox

  4. Mike permalink
    April 30, 2009 7:56 am

    Glad to see you\’ve enjoyed your few days in Trowbridge (not too far away from me) though i think you were taking a chance mentioning the curry in your other blog……Princess has been known to travel miles to nick someone else\’s balti! 🙂 xxx

  5. Princess permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:26 am

    Yo Sandi, aaaw glad u have enjoyed ur few days! U will manage the costumes fine! Good Luck with ur treatemtn next week! Hope u have a lovely day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  6. Cornish permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:42 am

    Travel safely me dear. At least the weather looks better today so the journey should be easier and hopefully you\’ll see no accidents at all.I\’ve swapped one samll needle for a pair of loner ones. Just finished a white cardigan for number two and have now started on one for me for the summer we are going to have. Take care and tell Robert to drive safely or you\’ll make him a dress instead. xx

  7. Sandi permalink
    April 30, 2009 11:29 am

    Thanks guys…I like the idea of making Robert a dress instead…will be a lot easier!! LOL!!I\’m hoping the radioiodine treatment has no adverse effects on me too, Natalia…that\’s the only bit that I am worrying about!Mike…I told Robert where you work, when we passed Swindon…so be a good boy or we will pay a visit!! Oh, just thought…are you free for Saturday 19 September? Location…Bath!Thanks PF…like I said…am a bit worried in case of side effects, but am hoping it will work! Will get back to my costumes while I\’m still in the mood, when I get home. Am going to get started on Robert\’s shirt, now I know where I went wrong on the first one!!Rachel…(as someone we know would say…) are you going to add the pics of finished cardies…?!!Right, gotta finish packing…see ya\’s later…XXX

  8. Sandi permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:35 pm

    Oh, Rachel…we did see one accident…again, it looked like jut the one vehicle…facing the wrong way and part way up the embankment!

  9. Cornish permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:30 am

    That wasn\’t an accident, that was someone stopping for a picnic. Do it all the time.Don\’t know about piccies of cardies. If number two puts all her gear on this weekend I might see if I can get one of her cos she looks so cute in her leggings and top but as she always frowns at me when I try and take a picture of her ………..You be fine this week too. Try not to worry or you\’ll come out glowing. What channel will we be able to pick up Radio Iodine on? I might tune in and have a listen. *Macho DJ speak* "And now playing on Radio Iodine a real golden oldie, Elvis and Jail House Rock. Rockin!"

  10. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 10:58 am

    What idiot would have a picnic in the pouring rain…?!! But then again, what kind of idiots eat or drink on roller coasters, or jump out of a perfectly sound aeroplane…?!!!!Radio Iodine…love it…how about playing the Moody Blues and Glow Now…?!! LOL!! Any more…?!!

  11. Curiosity permalink
    May 1, 2009 12:51 pm

    lol

Leave a Reply

