Skip to content

Shite Weather…There & Back!!

April 30, 2009

The journey down to Trowbridge was just like this…most of the way!Return Journey 021

These pictures were taken on the way home, though…

and it got worse…

Return Journey 028

Still people were speeding past…don’t they ever learn…!!!

Anyway, after leaving Trowbridge itself, we actually went through Bradford-on-Avon (on the way there we by-passed it)

Return Journey 005

 

 

Maybe next time we will stop and have a wander round this delightful town…there are so many lovely buildings to take photographs of.

 

 

 

 

       Return Journey 004 Return Journey 006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next time we are down, I will insist we have a decent wander around Trowbridge, as well as Bradfor-on-Avon, so I can take photographs of the more picturesque buildings…and there are some lovely old, and quaint, as well as new and eccentric buildings to be found!!  I just love this whole region of our country…it’s so beautiful!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    April 30, 2009 8:27 pm

    Yo Sandi, aaw it\’s horrible travelling back in those conditions. Hope ur gonna have a snugly chilled out evening, Luv PF XXX

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 30, 2009 8:47 pm

    You bet I am, PF…watching I\’ve Got Britain\’s Best Home at the moment…I can never make up my mind which one\’s I like best! Himself has gone to the pub to chalk for the ladies darts team…hehehe…count me out!!The rain got so heavy at times I was almost gripping my seat!!! I get very nervous when travelling in bad weather…!!!

  3. Sandi permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:12 pm

    I meant \’Own\’ not \’Got\’…besides, I\’m now watching The Mentalist……and I\’ve just realised that I\’ve left my little needlework scissors behind…oh, poo!!

  4. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:30 pm

    I love Bradford-on-Anon, as it\’s one of those lovely picturesque places that has the River Avon running through the town centre, and the streets climb either side of the valley. Built of Bath stone, it reminds me of Stamford…only a lot steeper!

  5. Princess permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:06 pm

    Yo Sandi! I watched The Mentalist last night as well, tis great isn\’t it! Mind u……He does have the most engaging infectious smile, froggie swoons! Hope u have a lovely evening, It\’s my chinky nite & I can\’t wait! Luv PF XXX

  6. May 1, 2009 7:11 pm

    ooh i knew some folk who lived in broughton gifford at the old manor house buildings there….was a wonderful place all around that spot! hope you dont mind me calling in, spotted bits on updates page.x

  7. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:22 pm

    Patrick Jane (The Mentalist) has the most cheeky grin….he\’s so yummy!!Talking of yummy…himself is bringing a chinky home tonight, too…the curry is going into the freezer for later. Mouth watering now…!!!

  8. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:31 pm

    Broughton Gifford…I\’m going to have to look that one up…! Call in anytime…all welcome…!Br…Brou…Broughton Gifford…aha!! 167 Gb! It\’s on the B3107, just outside Bradford-on-Avon. Right, I\’m off to Googlr Maps now to have a wee peek…!!

  9. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:32 pm

    I meant \’Google\’…stoopid keyboard!!

  10. Princess permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:33 pm

    I know, yummy on both accounts eh?! hehehehee. Ooh I might be having one 2moz 2, we\’re going over 2 a friends house 4 the eve, not sure yet weather it will be another chinky or a curry! We are gonna be playing bowls on the Wii! I played it 4 the first time last time we went over, it was men vs women, naturally we won!! Once I worked out that I simply cunda aim straight & accounted 4 it in my future aims, I did really well! Enjoy ur chinky when u have it! Luv PF XXX

  11. Princess permalink
    May 1, 2009 7:34 pm

    Correction- whether!

  12. Mike permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:19 pm

    Hmm my mouth wasn\’t watering till i got here…..there\’s now a very good chance i\’ll be ordering a takeaway in the next hour…Chinese or Indian…..decisions decisions! 🙂 Enjoy your chinky Sandi and have a relaxing weekend! xxx

  13. Curiosity permalink
    May 1, 2009 9:19 pm

    We enjoyed our chinky tonight too! Curry, beef in oyster sauce, spring rolls, rice. Not much left for the dog who loves it and gets sooooo excited when she sniffs it coming in the door.

  14. Sandi permalink
    May 1, 2009 10:02 pm

    This boring old fart likes nothing more than a tasty chicken chow mein…and I sometimes like using chopsticks…!Chinese, Mike…join the club!You got a stoopid keyboard, too, PF…? Darn things can\’t spell!!Anne, why not order a portion for Mo if she loves it so much…don\’t be mean! (A treat now and then doesn\’t hurt…so long as it is only now and then, of course…can\’t go spoiling the wee horror.) ;-)Right, I\’m off back to watch Lizzie and Mr Darcy…(big) sigh……………!

  15. Curiosity permalink
    May 2, 2009 7:28 am

    Would you overfed a great eight and a half stone lump of dog that thinks she can still jump on your lap!times I have had to phone hubby who\’s asleep upstairs to come down and get her off me.

  16. Sandi permalink
    May 2, 2009 10:30 am

    Size obviously means nothing to her! You\’ve got a point there, Anne…I guess that\’s why I wouldn\’t have a pet that\’s bigger than me!!

  17. Sandi permalink
    May 2, 2009 5:24 pm

    Think I\’ll get myself a hamster…!

  18. Curiosity permalink
    May 2, 2009 5:40 pm

    Brilliant idea…..at least you could use it to shred all your paper junkpiles.

  19. Sandi permalink
    May 2, 2009 7:28 pm

    Hmmm…you\’re not wrong, there, Anne…! Here ya go Hammy, knock yerself out…!

  20. Eileen permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:41 pm

    Hi Sandi,Just popped over from the maid\’s place.. I was born in Bradford-on-Avon, it\’s a beautiful place so I\’m glad you liked it.

  21. Sandi permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:43 pm

    Bradford-on-Avon is a very picturesque town, and I would love to spend a few hours huffing and puffing up and down those steep streets…and taking lots of photos. It\’s a steeper version of Stamford…stone-built houses and shops, with a river running through it. Come to think of it, all the towns and villages that attract me seem to have a river…and be built on hills! I wonder why?

  22. Eileen permalink
    May 8, 2009 2:49 pm

    Maybe you don\’t like your calf muscles? Try living in Bath.. can\’t go anywhere without climbing a massive hill

  23. Sandi permalink
    May 8, 2009 3:00 pm

    Apart from the Wolds, to the NW, Lincolnshire has a limestone ridge running north/south…this is disected by the River Witham, and this is where Lincoln has grown since before the Romans built their Lindum Colonia. The main street from the Colonia heading south is now known as Steep Hill…and it is. I used to walk this several times a week, when I worked at the museum, and was quite proud of the fact that I could march straight to the top without stopping…passing all those huffing and puffing tourists!Since the thyroid problems, I have been short of breath, so will probably be huffing and puffing myself when I make the \’climb\’ to the Cathederal Quarter for a forthcoming blog or blogs. Watch this space…

Leave a Reply

