Skip to content

Sandi’s Armchair Tours – An Introduction to Lincoln

May 11, 2009

Here is a blog I prepared earlier, just to recap…

 

Catherderal from Broadgate

Lincoln grew up as a settlement long before the Romans arrived in the mid first century.  The Ninth Legion built a fort, which later became Lindum Colonia…a settlement for retired soldiers and their families.  Newport Arch, in the north wall of the Roman city, is the best preserved Roman gateway still in use, and gave access to Ermine Street.  There are also many other Roman remains in Lincoln.

In 1068 William the Conqueror built a wooden castle, destroying 166 houses in  the process.  In the twelfth century this was replaced by a stone-built castle of the motte-and-bailey design.

In 1072 the Bishop Remigius moved his seat to Lincoln from Dorchester, and File0005built the cathedral, which was completed in 1185.  The building has been damaged by fire and earthquake, and the central tower collapsed, causing it to be re- built bigger and better over the ensuing centuries.  It has also suffered at the hands of Cromwell’s troops who caused untold damage during the English Civil War.

Stonebow  There are many fine examples of Lincoln’s history in the Roman remains and architecture of the ensuing centuries, such as the Medieval Bishop’s Palace; the Stonebow, the southern gateway into the Medieval town; St Mary’s Guildhall; High Bridge, the only remaining Medieval bridge with buildings still on it; the Norman House on Steep Hill, and Jew’s House on The Strait.

In the coming weeks, I will blog about Lincoln’s history, and will also set out, camera in hand, to visit places of interest including the Collection, the Usher Art Gallery, The Lawn, the Museum of Lincolnshire Life and Ellis’s Windmill, so…

Watch this space…!

  

 

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:19 pm

    What a bloody hoo-ha trying to get this entry to publish on here!!! I clicked on Publish to Blog but kept getting a server error message. Anyway, I found that if I click on the button that allows me to save to drafts on blog, then I can just click on Publish here…and voila!…here it is! But what a load of fart-arsing around!! Other times I have no probs whatsoever, but occasionally it plays up…why?!! Sometimes I wish I was technology-minded, then I\’d probably understand what I\’m trying to do…!!

  2. Curiosity permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:42 pm

    Just think of all that time you could have been needleworking costumes and bonnets instead.I shall look forward to taking a journey in and around Lincoln with Sandi\’s Armchair Tours.

  3. commander permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:50 pm

    It.s simply how long you have the page open sandy > it is a bug in spaces and happens to all .I used to write blogs that took ages to compose and ir would hapen EVRY time .I learned when i had finished to highlite the whole blog and copy then i refresh the page and paste it back and publish But if it will saveto draft then do that as a precaution if u think u been a while .I do it now without thinking in blog and guest book and copy every time .

  4. Sandi permalink
    May 11, 2009 9:57 pm

    Sandi\’s Armchair Tours…I like that. Thanks Anne.Yes, it did take quite along time to write…believe it or not…as I was tearing the place apart looking for my Lincoln info, then looking facts up online, and cross-checking them with other sources…!! So it is all down to length of time?! Thanks for that, Robin, I will have to remember to save it to the blog Drafts in future.I\’m not exactly full of patience at he moment…several weeks without medication, now I\’ve also got to wait for radioiodine to work…!!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:24 am

    When I took the top photo (last month), it was about 7.20pm and the road is usually busy still…I didn\’t even notice the total lack of traffic at first, even after I\’d uploaded it. When I did notice, I was rather taken aback, because I don\’t think I\’ve ever seen Broadgate like this. Every time I come over the footbridge, now, I look…but there is always traffic!I\’m really chuffed with this pic!!!

  6. Eileen permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:12 am

    Hiya Sandi,Now I see why you like Bath etc so much! Lincoln looks lovely – thank you for your introduction, I look forward to more of Sandi\’s armchair tours!On the patience front.. I don\’t take meds and never have a huge amount of patience – I\’m sure my kids would love to know what I could take!! But I always save to drafts as I go in my blogs – or write in word and copy and paste when I\’ve finished (spell check etc there).xxx

  7. Cornish permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:12 am

    You should be chuffed Sandi, it\’s a lovely photo and captures the old and the new together in harmony. They certainly don\’t build them like they used to do they? My youngest used to ask me if the princess was in the tower with our cathedral whenever we walked past. Never did find out.It\’s funny but as I was reading I was wandering what sort of things we had down here like your arch and I couldn\’t think of anything. I guess our history is in the engine houses and the cottages that surround us.Enjoyed the history lesson and look forward to more. xx

  8. Sandi permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:44 am

    I have to agree with you, Rachel…there certainly is a selection of old and new in Lincoln (I just hate the red Lincoln brick! It\’s a hard orangey-red!)In this pic you can see the cathedral and Bishop\’s Palace. On the right is the 50s telephone exchange…and on the left is St Swithin\’s church, then the brick entrance to Greyfiars (more of these later), then the new library…followed by the Drillhall (more of that later, too.)I originally had a picture of Newport Arch at the top, but as I thought that that was the problem, when trying to publish, I swapped it! In Guy de la Bedoyere\’s book The Buildings of Roman Britain, Exeter seems to be the furthest west of Roman occupation…but that is known remains, rather than actual occupation. Maybe Cornwall was just a bit too wild for the poor old Romans? Bath was a Roman city…and has some of the best preserved baths and other buildings all in one place…fabulous.The Lincolnshire limestone of a lot of old buildings and cottages looks so lovely in the glow of the evening sun…unlike Lincoln brick!! And I\’ve always had a fascination with a tree-clad hillside with buildings half hidden….and houses on hills, generally. Bath is one of the most beautiful cities in this country of ours…mainly because it is a Georgian gem!

  9. Poppy permalink
    May 12, 2009 3:49 pm

    Its a long time since I was in Lincoln, but I remember that I enjoyed the visit very much, the Cathedral sticks in my memory most! Is it Lincold Cathedral that has a circular room (maybe the chapter house) that has no central support? I have seen one somewhere, just cannot remember where :p

  10. Bran permalink
    May 12, 2009 5:14 pm

    Romans in Cornwall? Rachael they didnt come here because they heard we put everything in Pasties! As for you having little history near you, the place is littered with old standing stones, stone circles and prehistoric monuments even on the hill (Carne Brae) near your house there are burial cairns and ancient fortress remains.Sandie I think it is a wonderful idea to document your cities history for us all on windows and am looking forward to more.Have you tried writing the blog offline with Windows Live Writer, I find that I can usualy fit in writing mine (using WLR) between doing other things rather than trying to do it live and worrying about Windows Live crashing while I am writing it!

  11. Cornish permalink
    May 12, 2009 6:09 pm

    I can almost see your finger wagging at me Bran. I got told off Sandi, did you see? (I think he\’s testy because I changed my profile picture for a very recent one [insert winky smiley]). I mean (and should have said), there\’s not a lot of arch-ee-tech-sure around here (here comes the finger again). I know there\’s stone circles and burial chambers and stuff (plans are also afoot to visit some soon) but not a lot of buildings to admire the architecture over the years other than mines and cottages. Sorry, should have been more specific. Hum! Bad weed. *sniff*Sorry Sandi to hog your space with all my brackets and mumbings but I know you\’re a sweetie so will excuse me.

  12. Bran permalink
    May 12, 2009 6:25 pm

    As if I would tell you off sweet maid.So saying there are some wonderful old buildings in Redruth and Cambourne your neck of the woods from when, in the days off copper mining in the 1800\’s, the area was the richest place in the UK. Shame is that they are all suffering from a century of decay. And yes I do miss your old profile picture 😉

  13. Princess permalink
    May 12, 2009 7:43 pm

    Yo Sandi, thanks 4 that, very interesting! I shall look 4ward 2 more! hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  14. Sandi permalink
    May 12, 2009 9:00 pm

    Poppy, you are correct…the Chapter House is round, and the building has flying-butresses around the outside for support. I haven\’t been to the cathedral for years…or anywhere else…which is why I\’m going to re-discover my inner tourist this year!Rachel…I don\’t think Bran is telling you off at all. Cornwall has such ancient history…it\’s a magical place with all those mystical stones and such things. Also, you have so many old mines and all that important industrial history….and I\’m still itching to explore it all…!!!!PF…thanks…am off to watch CSI…bliss!I will definitely be writing my blogs out before getting onto the computer in future…it will be so much easier…and I won\’t have to kick Robert off it while I\’m writing nd re-writing etc.

  15. Poppy permalink
    May 12, 2009 9:10 pm

    Aw thanks Sandi, it has been bugging me for years trying to remember which Cathedral it is!!!! Hmmm, wonder if I could wrangle a trip to Lincoln sometime, and be a proper tourist lol x

  16. Bob permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:53 pm

    I\’ve been on Jury Service since last week at Lincoln Crown Court, which is situated in the grounds of Lincoln Castle. I\’ve spent more time as a tourist on my breaks from service than in the previous 20 years! Lincoln really is a fascinating place, steeped in history and folklore, and hopefully Sandi\’s Armchair Tours will soon feature an edition on the Castle, including as much info as I can garner on the Courts. I\’ve taken a few pics from similar angles as Sandi had years earlier, so they may appear inthe tour for comparison.

  17. Sandi permalink
    May 13, 2009 10:46 am

    The castle will definitely be included, as it\’s one of the places I want to visit again…and take loadsa photos, of course!

  18. Sandi permalink
    May 13, 2009 11:49 am

    Sorry Poppy…have just been checking up on the Chapter House, and there is a central support…and it\’s not quite round…if you can call it round with many flat sides…?!

  19. Poppy permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:25 pm

    Thanks for the info Sandi, if I ever find the right place I will let you know… I wonder if I dreamt it?? lol I will pass on the birthday wishes to Alice, Thank you xx

  20. Curiosity permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:29 pm

    re; Cromwell\’s troops causing damage. Amazing the journeys they made and distances travelled. I wonder if any of those troops were here in Maidstone causing damage in a running battle in Gabriels Hill which can still be seen. There was a re enactment last year.

  21. Sandi permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:40 pm

    The Civil War will be a seperate blog, as Lincoln changed hands several times during this period, with battles and skirmishes in the region.

  22. Eileen permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:49 pm

    Argh!! You have no idea what you\’ve started! I thought to my self oh! I should look up some of the history of Bath… big mistake! You know I\’ve lived here 32 years and I had no idea that the first ever King of England was crowned here in Bath.. I have a lot of research to do now 🙂

  23. Sandi permalink
    May 13, 2009 8:11 pm

    LOL! The Celts believed the the goddess Sul dwelt in the place of the hot springs….so the Romans, accepting this deity added the name of their own goddess, and she became Sulis Minerva…and the settlement became Aquae Sulis.Here\’s a challenge for everyone…put our tourist goggles on and look at the place where you live….I mean look at it as if you were a stranger. How many things have you become blind to? How much history do you take for granted? How much do you actually know about the place where you live…?

  24. Sandi permalink
    May 13, 2009 8:33 pm

    Oh poo! Keyboard is playing silly buggers again!!! I actually meant for you all to put \’your\’ tourist goggles on!

  25. Eileen permalink
    May 14, 2009 8:24 am

    I admit I don\’t know much about where I live, but I\’m learning! Did you know that much of the Georgian facades on the buildings actually cover the original Saxon buildings – so although we are Georgian fantastic we still have some great examples of our heritage. I may have to get a camera and explore 🙂

  26. Sandi permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:21 am

    No, I didn\’t know that…but I do know that pre-eighteenth century, a battlemented Medieval wall still surrounded the city. After Queen Anne paid a visit and \’Beau\’ Nash took over as Master of Ceremonies, Bath began to gain in popularity and the buliding spree began. The wall was demolished, and Bath spread out into the surrounding farmland… two of the best known architects of Georgian Bath are John Wood the Elder who built Queen Square and The King\’s Circus, and his son, John Wood the Younger, who built The Royal Crescent.Anyway, I\’m getting carried away again…!!! And I see that the challenge for you all to put on your \’tourist goggles\’ has gone down like a lead balloon! (Walks off shaking head…!)

  27. Eileen permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:28 am

    We still have part of the original wall, Bath was much smaller then and it\’s sort of in the middle of the city (opposite the Mineral Hospital)

  28. Sandi permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:53 am

    Where is the Mineral Hospital? (Staring hard at map of Bath!!)Hey! This is \’Eileen\’s Armchair Tours…!!

  29. Eileen permalink
    May 14, 2009 12:46 pm

    Upperborough Walls (the hospital is the Royal National Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases founded in 1738) lol.. I should get on my own blog really instead of taking over yours! slap me

  30. Sandi permalink
    May 14, 2009 12:58 pm

    Found it…Old Bond Street comes off of it, so do Union Street and Union Passage…oh, roll on September!!Eileen\’s Armchair Tours – Bath….and don\’t forget the photos…LOL!! ;-DAhem! Back to Lincoln…the photo of the cathedral was taken from the castle walls….I\’d only just got my new SLR and was snapping all over the place…it was August 1984! Wow! That long ago…?!!

Leave a Reply

