Skip to content

Weekend Bits And Bobs

May 16, 2009

The weekend is here, once again, and it’s raining!  Bloomin’ typical!  (Someone ought to inform whoever is in charge of the weather that it is NOT a Bank Holiday!!)

In a way, I am glad that we are having a spot of wet weather, because it means that I don’t have to go out and water my ‘pottery’…I know, Lazy Wotsit!  But I am also a little ‘peeved’ because I can’t get out and finish defeating the Corner Monster, as it’s too soggy!

Next thing you know…out comes the sun!  But only for a few minutes, until the clouds and rain move in again….but, hey! a little bit of sunshine is better than no sunshine at all!

Guess what!  Robert has cleared his desk!  He has left a pile of Crap Monster Defeated...and hallway 001rubbish on the floor for me to  throw away, but at least he has done something at last….now for the rest of it!  Please…????

While I took a couple of pics of Roberts desk, I turned and took some of the hallway.  The theme had previously been along Regency lines, and looked good with the strip of black paper dividing the green of the walls from the white of the ceiling…but it is now time for a change, and a more black and white theme is in order…with animal print shades to go with the pictures…what do you think?Crap Monster Defeated...and hallway 005                              

 

The bathroom doorway has had the architrave removed, and the panel over the door is to be blocked in, and new architrave applied.  All the doors have glass panels above, and look very 1960s…yuk!  We have already done this door frame (a few years ago!) and it still looks good…Crap Monster Defeated...and hallway 007

 

I then want to get down-lights for the hall, as these give a clear, bright light…not like those horrid energy-saving bulbs that the government are foisting on us!!!  And to finish off…I think a nice runner with either a zebra or tiger design would look great!!

In the mean-time….back to the crap-clearing…!

Hope you all have a fantastic weekend…XXX

   

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    May 16, 2009 7:02 pm

    Hmmm…that green looks paler than it really is. Maybe it\’s because the sun was shining at the time…?!

  2. Pamela permalink
    May 16, 2009 8:01 pm

    The desk looks great Sandi, and I love the cub pics.

  3. Sandi permalink
    May 16, 2009 8:09 pm

    They were a Christmas present a few years ago…from Lynda and Smokie, as they know he likes big cats. In the other pics of Robert\’s desk, you will see his tiger calendar on the noticeboard…and I also have the big cats calendar from last year as there are some fabulous pictures in there too.

  4. Pamela permalink
    May 16, 2009 11:02 pm

    I saw that calendar in a previous blog.

  5. Sandi permalink
    May 17, 2009 12:02 am

    Oh, I thought it was on one of the pics in Photographic Evidence.

  6. Princess permalink
    May 17, 2009 7:58 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Desk looks FAB! Aaaaw I lurve the cub prints 2! The wall looks more bluey 2 me in that pic! Hope u have a lovely Sunday! Luv PF XXX

  7. Sandi permalink
    May 17, 2009 10:40 am

    It is green…well and truly green. If the hall light is on, and you see it from outside, it looks really deep and luminous. I love it, but it\’s looking tired and in desperate need of an update…so I\’m going to paint it white, and the pictures need nice new black frames…oh, and the tiger or zebra print runner (now where can I get one of those…?!) Black floor tiles would finish it off nicely, methinks!

  8. Sandi permalink
    May 17, 2009 12:15 pm

    OK…bluey-green…it depends on the light!

  9. Curiosity permalink
    May 17, 2009 1:43 pm

    Settle this question of colour….what brand is it and what name is the colour? Cos I may go to B&Q later and pick up a colour chart!!!lol lol

  10. Curiosity permalink
    May 17, 2009 1:45 pm

    and don\’t tell me it is a different colour because of all the layers cos I\’m not sitting here all day watching paint dry!

  11. Sandi permalink
    May 17, 2009 1:55 pm

    It is…I think…Winsor & Newton artists acrylic…and I\’ve forgotten what shade it was…did this a long time ago!! Actually, it might very well have been Phthalo green (blue shade)…I thought it sounded familiar when Rachel mentioned it…! (I just checked it out on the Winsor & Newton website!)

  12. Eileen permalink
    May 17, 2009 5:28 pm

    It looks lovely and well done Robert!!It\’s pouring with rain here 😦

  13. Sandi permalink
    May 17, 2009 6:50 pm

    It\’s been raining here all day, apart from a few minutes of sunshine here and there…just like now. Those few mins of sunshine make all the difference, don\’t you think?

  14. Cornish permalink
    May 18, 2009 9:10 am

    I like the look of your hallway Sandi but then I\’m biased towards that colour at the moment. I have my paint now and it\’s not the colour I first went for. There\’s a one man band paint shop up the road that came as a reccommendation and he mixed the colour I wanted for half the price! Can\’t complain at that. Work has now started on the cracks in the walls too. Can\’t decide whether to turn my curtains into blinds now or not. Hmmmm.Oh it\’s your blog not mine. Hum. Sorry. I like the sound of the animal theme for your hallway. Roar! We all know you\’re an animal underneath really!Way to go Robert. Keep going now you\’ve got the momentum and get all your things sorted. You can do it Robert, you know you can!!Going now before he hits me. Have a great day Sandi. How\’s the glow going by the way? xx

  15. Eileen permalink
    May 18, 2009 10:32 am

    I must have blinked when the sun came out! Still at least it\’s not raining yet! (crossed fingers)

  16. Bob permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:05 am

    It was a bit blustery last night, and looks like being the same today. Never mind, I\’m going to be in bed anyway, lol.

  17. Sandi permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:29 am

    Yes, definitely been blowing great guns, here! But the sun and clouds seem to be taking it in turns, with a few showers thrown in for good measure.I\’ve always loved bluey-greens and greeny-blues, even when my favouite colour was red…or blue…or violet…or purple…I just love intense colours! As for turning curtains into blinds, Rachel, go for it. Blinds are very smart, and I would prefer to have roman blinds in the other room when we swap back…so much neater, I think….I just don\’t like vertical blinds much (too much like an office…besides, too many people round here have them!!)

  18. Sandi permalink
    May 18, 2009 10:29 pm

    The wonderful thing about sunshine and showers…are the beautiful rainbows!

  19. Sandi permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:59 pm

    Time to work on another blog entry, methinks…!! Now what can I write about…….?

  20. Curiosity permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:23 pm

    Husbands………..Nuisance or Necessary? or just spoilt brats. Yes, you\’ve guessed it…tonight mine is a pain in my – to put it as he has – "lazy fat a*se". And he has the cheek to say whinging kids need a slap! Kettle..pot…black.. springs to mind!! I bet you get the drift of the mood I am in don\’tcha.

  21. Sandi permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:13 pm

    Oh, yes…where are the ran-tanners when you need \’em…!!

Leave a Reply

