Skip to content

The Road To Mandalay…?

May 22, 2009

Glancing through a pile of old Lincolnshire Life magazines, I found this picture which I thought might tickle you….

File0012

This sign is in the village of Fishtoft near Boston….well, it was in August 1981…!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    May 22, 2009 12:54 am

    Now that I have discovered how to edit and crop pictures…(how long has it taken me?!)…I can add pictures from my old Lincolnshire Life magazines…and there are hundreds of them!! I started buying them in the late 70s through to the 80s, but I acquired a pile from the 60s when I worked at the museum. It\’s fascinating, reading them now…so quaint!

  2. Mike permalink
    May 22, 2009 8:19 am

    So that\’s where i lost my hair then?!! 🙂 xxx

  3. Cornish permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:10 am

    You\’ll find me at Split End. xx

  4. Eileen permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:16 am

    Lol, we have a place called Tucking Mill not far from us and the sign is so rusted it looks like it says something completely different (the T looks like an F) – always makes me chuckle when I see it!

  5. Cornish permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:26 am

    I lived in Tuckingmill until I was six!!!!! Could\’ve sworn you lived furher away than that Eileen. Confused now. (Ok not really, there\’s obviously two (F)Tuckingmill (Mill)\’s) Oh dear, bracket fever is setting in again. Funny how no one thought to add an F to ours.

  6. Eileen permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:36 am

    lol, must be our odd sense of humour up here xx

  7. Poppy permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:58 am

    Haha I love it! We used to have a signpost near us that read Ham Sandwich!! It got stolen so many times that they stopped replacing it, I went to check about a week ago to take a photo 😦 Hope you are good, I am about to go and put up all the pots for my \’pottery\’ – about time too! Have a really lovely weekend x

  8. Sandi permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:21 am

    Ah, place names…once they had meaning in Anglo Saxon, Danish, or Old English, etc., but down the years they have become…um…what\’s the word I\’m looking for? Anyway, you know what I mean…they change and become what they are today…and we find them hilarious!Hey, Mike…bald is very sexy, OK!Eileen and Rachel…Tucking Mill…I like that one…photo? I think you\’ll find we can all have an odd sense of humour whan occasion presents itself…! Poppy…I now have to try and find some motivation to go and finish the job…defeating the Corner Monster! Then I will be able to get on with arranging my pots to best advantage…the fun bit.

  9. Sandi permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:26 pm

    Have just found another signpost…pointing to Jolly Common…hehe!!

  10. Natalia permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:54 pm

    Jolly Common??? do the upperclass look at the people picnicing there and comment on their table Manners? Perhaps it\’s where they themselves go to get their clandestine Jollies. *whispers V quietly, it\’s called Dogging… ewwwwww!!* ;o) :oD

  11. Curiosity permalink
    May 23, 2009 8:16 pm

    We have a Gravelly Bottom!

  12. Curiosity permalink
    May 23, 2009 8:19 pm

    and a Pratts Bottom.

  13. Bob permalink
    May 23, 2009 9:52 pm

    Gravelly Bottom? I should see your doctor about that one…I drive around the Lincoln area quite a lot in my various guises – pizza/curry delivery driver and darts team shover (chauffeur) – but until very recently didn\’t think to carry a camera around. Now, if I see something good, I stop and take a shot with my \’phone. One problem with that – it\’s a relatively new \’phone and I don\’t have the appropriate lead to connect the phone to the \’puter. That\’ll have to wait \’til next week, then I\’ll get a bluetooth dongle jobbie thingy when I buy Sandi\’s new 19" TFT monitor.

  14. Bob permalink
    May 23, 2009 9:53 pm

    Note how Sandi gets the new big TFT monitor and I get the 17" CRT back…

  15. Sandi permalink
    May 23, 2009 10:11 pm

    Er, hello! You are the one who said about getting me a new monitor as you are the one who had the new computer last time! You have the new monitor then!!

  16. Curiosity permalink
    May 23, 2009 10:21 pm

    So Bob had a hidden agenda when he cleared his desk did he?My vote goes to Sandi for the big screen.

  17. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 7:59 am

    Well yeah, of course I do! I had to clear enough space to get the great big monitor on the desk. Let\’s face it, if I was having the new TFT screen I could just stick it on the wall, couldn\’t I…I\’m getting a new toy as well, though. We need to be able to connect our phones to the \’puters without all the messing about with a new cable for each one, so I\’m buying a bluetooth dongle.

  18. Curiosity permalink
    May 24, 2009 8:14 am

    I got a card reader thing for a pound in guesswhere.. Poundland. Only have to take phone memory card out and put it in reader then straight in usb. Quicker that messing about trying to find right things to press to get bluetooth up and then find pics, sync etc etc.

  19. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 8:48 am

    We have a card reader, Sandi uses it to drop the stuff from the camera onto her PC even though the camera has a dedicated USB dock and can be used as a webcam. I hadn\’t thought about taking the SIM out of the phone – good idea, that – which is why I\’m getting the other thing. It\’s only £8, so it\’s not going to break the bank.

  20. Eileen permalink
    May 24, 2009 8:50 am

    Curiosity has the right idea, card reader is much better

  21. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 9:31 am

    But I wanna new toy (pout…)

  22. Sandi permalink
    May 24, 2009 10:59 am

    Well get your new toy, then! And watch out for the pigeons…hehe!I didn\’t know that the camera could be used as a webcam…and why does it have the \’dock\’ or \’cradle\’ or whatever when you can just plug straight into it to charge…?! Confused…!!!

  23. Curiosity permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:20 pm

    Sandi, Bob, I am curious..when you are both in the same room, each sitting only feet from each other..do you still only communicate via each others blogs or do you actually speak to each other???If it is only a message board when one or other is out then why not just use post-it notes?

  24. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:25 pm

    Shall I take this one, dear?

  25. Sandi permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:25 pm

    OK darling.

  26. Curiosity permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:28 pm

    You two make me laugh.

  27. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:31 pm

    Well, funnily enough I actually thought the very same thing earlier this morning – do people think we only talk via the blogs? The answer is that we do actually talk to each other, discussing everything, same as un-netted people do. The fact that we now have our own computers again just means that we can write on our blogs/pages at the same time, giving the impression that we\’re chatting via the web.

  28. Bob permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:32 pm

    Right, Darling, I\’m off to watch the race. See ya!

  29. Sandi permalink
    May 24, 2009 12:59 pm

    See ya! Kettle going on…wanna cuppa…?!!

Leave a Reply

