Skip to content

Why, Oh Why Do They Have To…

May 29, 2009

…make kids wear stupid mob-caps when doing Victorian re-enactments…?!!!

Yes, I grew up thinking that Victorian girls all went about wearing this simple headgear.  Why?  Because adults said so, that’s why!  Adults dressed up in Victorian-‘style’ costume and sported a mob-cap to top it off. 

Victorians did NOT wear mob-caps!!!  Mob-caps were an 18th century indoor item…OK!

In the late 17th century, women and girls wore a cap called1695 a fontange.   It was basically a mob-cap with a tower of lace frills at the front.  During the mid 18th century, the frills disappeared, and became more like a mob-cap, and ladies could wear a bonnet over the top when the went out.1742 

As the shapes of the caps changed, with the fashions of the time, so too did the names .  I cannot tell you where the name ‘mob-cap’ originated, or when.

The point is that children are being mis-informed! As far as I’m concerned they might as well teach children that the Battle of Waterloo was fought in Japan on 23 September 1963…or that Kennedy was shot with a banana…or…or…you get the idea!!

Anyway, I have trawled through pictures of Victorian children, and not one of them sports a stupid mob-cap!!!

File0013        File0016

See…!!!!

OK…rant over…I’ll put the soapbox away, now…LOL!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:58 pm

    Here is a link… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mob_cap which tells us about variations.There were many variations on this cap, such as the cornette, or biggin, but these had vanished by the Victorian era.

  2. commander permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:17 pm

    your losing it are\’nt you …..!

  3. Sandi permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:31 pm

    Er…you\’ve only just noticed, dear?! Hehehe…!

  4. Mike permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:19 pm

    Ermm…..that was it?????????????Ok Sandi…..yes its an absolute disgrace! 😉 xxx

  5. Curiosity permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:30 pm

    I used to make little mob caps for my girls when they were babies. That being the case would it not be historically correct in the future to say that they were used in the 1970\’s. Anyone who came across a photo of mine in 150 years or more would think so! oooooh! I can see you frowning!! and is that a finger you are wagging at me?!

  6. Sandi permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:49 pm

    Sorry Mike…that\’s it. I told you that it wouldn\’t concern you, didn\’t I…unless you wear a stupid mob-cap…? In the shower, pehaps…?!! Hehehe…!Anne, you weren\’t dressing your girls as Victorians, were you? Not re-enacting school-rooms or such like. It was a fashion (still is, I guess) to pop a little mob-cap on baby\’s head to keep the sun off…usually with a matching dress. (Why do I keep seeing a 70s green with white spots, edged with white…? Did sis wear one, I wonder…?!!)

  7. Sandi permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:23 am

    Well, I\’m sitting here with a cup of tea…I keep looking at the time. I can\’t wait for 13.30, as I will be off to the hairdressers to get me barnet chopped. What a mistake, last time, to decide on something different…like a bob. My hair is too fly-away, and has been nothing but a pain, since….the very reason I like to keep it short!! Doh!

  8. commander permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:30 am

    God you lead an exciting life .

  9. commander permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:38 am

    BTW, i am gonna come and meet you one day so be prepared .You will know mw ,the ugly old git with a stick and a grin .

  10. Sandi permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:54 am

    Don\’t be sarcastic!! I know I lead a very boring life…so a trip to the hairdressers is the highlight of my day!! Only the highlight of me day \’cos I\’m going to get rid of all this bloody hair…it\’s driving me to distraction!!!!Of course I\’d love to meet you one day…and you ain\’t an ugly old git…OK! Not ugly! Not old! Dunno \’bout the git bit…hehehe…! LOL!! Have a lovely weekend…XXXX

  11. Sandi permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:13 am

    Have just remembered something…a few months ago, on t\’ bus into town, a couple got on…and I did a double-take. He looked just like you…dressed like you, too, but didn\’t have a stick. Have you got a twin?

  12. commander permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:37 am

    not any more i murdered the good one .

  13. Sandi permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:44 am

    LOL!! Yer horns are showing, m\’ dear…!! And there is a picture to prove it…hehehe…now where is it…?!!

Leave a Reply

