Skip to content

AT LAST!!

June 1, 2009

My long search is over! I have found that which has eluded me for years! Hooray!!

“What is the woman on about now?!!” I hear you cry.

Why, Russian braid, of course!!

What?!

Russian braid…it’s a very thin braid that is used for creating Pantaloons intricate designs on garments, etc., like on these Regency pantaloons…

Many years ago, it was easy to find in haberdasher’s stores, of which there were several in Lincoln. Now, it’s become almost impossible to find, and Lincoln no longer has any fabric stores with well stocked haberdashery departments. The market and Boyes…lots of choice, quality fabrics and trimmings…not!!

When we went to Trowbridge, I looked to no avail, and the same result in Maidstone. I thought all was lost, as I’d even searched online suppliers, finding all kinds of braid except that which I required!

On Saturday, though, I struck gold…a website that supplies everything for the dolls-house enthusiast…and Russian braids in different colours for only 22p per metre…so I’m going to order some while I’ve got some money…Russian braid

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    June 1, 2009 2:36 pm

    Guildhall market in Bath.. it\’s a crafters delight with all sorts of things not normally found.

  2. Sandi permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:09 pm

    Including Russian braid? Thing is, I want braid now, and we won\’t be in Bath until September…and I want it for costumes. I shall have to remember when we do visit, and go and have a look….will have to save me pennies…!!

  3. Eileen permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:57 pm

    I\’ll have a look when I go in next, but they do have all sorts in there.

  4. Eileen permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:58 pm

    Thinking about it, with all the theatre etc and period costumes I\’d have thought they definitely would have it there.

  5. Princess permalink
    June 1, 2009 7:01 pm

    Yo Sandi, aaw Well Done! It\’s Great when u finally come across something u have been searching 4! Hope u have a Great Evening! Luv PF XXX

  6. Curiosity permalink
    June 1, 2009 7:42 pm

    Doesn\’t Hobbycraft do it? How is the bonnet coming along?

  7. Sandi permalink
    June 1, 2009 8:19 pm

    Sorry, Anne…Hobbycraft don\’t do it. I don\’t think I\’ve heard of Hobbycraft before…what a good idea. Though I guess the stock is very generalised, as opposed to independent shops which stock the things that customers ask for. Ah, the bonnet…will add some more pics soon. Robert\’s shirt will also be added…and Rachel\’s bonnet.Thanks PF…you too.Thanks Eileen…though I want to have a look at this market when we visit, anyway…if it\’s any good Did you say there\’s all kinds of craft stuff?

  8. Sandi permalink
    June 1, 2009 11:05 pm

    Have been doing bonnet, again, this evening, but I\’m not satisfied with the ribbon I\’ve sewn around the brim, so in the immortal words of our needlework teacher…I\’m goingto undo it and do it again (when I\’ve bought some more ribbon, tomorrow!) I still haven\’t found anything to cover the middle row of gathering stitches, but I might see if they have a thin ribbon in the same colour…might look OK. Just have to wait and see. Still need something to cover the \’hole\’ in the top…

  9. Eileen permalink
    June 2, 2009 8:54 am

    Morning Sandi, it\’s a proper haberdashery so sells all sorts of things. Good luck wih the bonnet

  10. Sandi permalink
    June 2, 2009 11:27 am

    Thanks, Eileen…I\’ll just pop over this afternoon…(I wish!)I tend to use Boyes more for craft stuff, because they have a good selection of needlepoint wools (Anchor), embroidery threads, sewing threads, buttons, felt, ribbons, (cheap) lace and trimmings(!), and sometimes have decent fabrics amongst the polyesters and nasty fleeces and fur fabrics (by \’nasty\’ I mean really naff colours and prints). Lincoln has an excellent Needlecraft Centre, which caters for cross-stitch and needlepoint lovers mainly, (where I buy hanks of fine crewel wools.) The stall in the market has a good selection of fabrics, but nothing top end, and the other stall in the market sells trimmings like ribbon and lace…but no Russian braid! I don\’t care now! Ner ner de ner ner…! LOL!

  11. Sandi permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:59 pm

    Bonnet brim is in the process of being re-edged in new ribbon…as I watch CSI. Oh, what fun…I can so easily go crooked…what a pain!!

  12. Touch permalink
    June 2, 2009 10:24 pm

    Multi tasking with sharp implements, eh. Not me, I was taught not to run with scissors. Watching Marg Helgenberger with a needle in my hand would insure crooked braid and sore figers.

Leave a Reply

