Skip to content

It Started With A Sunbonnet

June 8, 2009

Last year, I had a sudden, inexplicable urge to make a Lincolnshire sunbonnet.

A suitable fabric was found from my stock, white cotton with small red apples on it, and I set to work. I cannot tell you where the urge came from, as it had been many years since I had made any sunbonnets, or even gave them a thought. Bonnets 003

Anyway, this is the result of that urge, and I’m not too happy with it, as I have over-done the brim a little. The second bonnet that I made was a child’s bonnet, in the same design as the blue one.

Following on from the sunbonnets, I added a couple of albums of days gone by, namely Church Farm Museum, and, of course, Sunbonnets. 

Then, earlier this year, came the news that the council, in a bid ‘to save money’ were going to close the Tourist Information Centres. The result of this was the re-awakening of my ‘inner tourist’, and I became aware of the city around me, which I had become blind to over the years.

This summer, I am going to be out and about visiting some of Lincoln’s tourist attractions and blogging about them. The other week, we visited the Museum of Lincolnshire Life, where I worked many moons ago. In those days I was called a ‘museum piece’…nowadays I think I’d be classed as a ‘relic’…!

          Green Dragon   Lincoln Now 019   Castle 006

So what is going on? I appear to be having some kind of renaissance…a re-awakening of forgotten interests and pass-times and a desire to relearn old skills. Why? I guess you could reply “Why not!”

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    June 8, 2009 1:17 pm

    Yeah, why not me dear? You go for it. There\’s nothing like learning about the place that surrounds you and you never know Sandi, you could start up your own museum there one day. xx

  2. Eileen permalink
    June 8, 2009 1:41 pm

    Yeah! Why not? I wish I had something like that I did – save me spending my spare time cleaning!Anyway when you like some where interesting it\’s good to know about your surroundings!

  3. Sandi permalink
    June 8, 2009 1:41 pm

    It was an idea that did cross my mind, years ago…a costume museum. My items of costume are stashed in the loft, and need to be rescued and stored properly. If I had money, I would collect more items of costume and accessories. I already have glove stretchers and button hooks, a pair of long white kid evening gloves, Victorian skirts, and a few more items…but such things cost a fortune to collect these days! Oh, well…one day, maybe…(sigh) But…you never know….

  4. Natalia permalink
    June 8, 2009 6:37 pm

    Sandi, What a beautiful blog. I was throughly impressed. Your words are both eloquent and concise. Not one sign of waffle there. The Bonnets are pretty. Re: Why not…….. In response to your comment left in todays blog, perhaps these re-awakenings will lead on to something else?? Will we in so many years time, be witness to Ms Madwoman recieve an honours degree inside Lincoln Catherdral? Before you Poo, Poo it… Think… Why Not?? My Mother did this when she was 65. In any Event. Enjoy the summers foray, I think I\’ll be doing the same with my bus pass. :o) xx

  5. Sandi permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:26 pm

    Bishop Grossteste College advertised a course on the radio, this afternoon. Robert just said "You should go for that!" It sounded interesting, but I\’ve forgotten what it was about, now…history? Tourism? Something like that…will have to look it up, now….!

  6. Sandi permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:32 pm

    Methinks it\’s the BA (Hons) Heritage Studies course…and I missed out an \’e\’ as it\’s Bishop Grosseteste…or Bishop Grot for short (although I believe it\’s shortened further, these days to Bish Grot!)

  7. Sandi permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:06 am

    I guess I could have added to the title of this blog thus: It Started With A Sunbonnet or Re-awakenings.It could be something to do with stimulating friends and their interests and hobbies, reaching down to long-forgotten hobbies and interests and stirring them into action again.

  8. Princess permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:22 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! I think it\’s Great u have such an interest! My fave bonnet has 2b ur merangue one, every time I see it, I wanna eat it! Hope u have a Great Day 2day, we did have sun, but now it looks like it\’s gonna chuck it down- Typical! Luv PF XXX

  9. Eileen permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:23 am

    Sounds like an interesting course to do! You should look into it 🙂

  10. Sandi permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:13 am

    Meringue, indeed!! (LOL!!) Have still got to try and make a ribbon rosette to cover shaft of feather and stitching…but it\’s not as easy as you\’d think (or am I being cack-handed…?!!)The BA (Hons) is a three year course..and bloody expensive (even if I got grants or bursaries or whatever) as there are still books and materials, etc., to pay for. It would be great if there were individual, one year, courses in such subjects, that you could do any time. It\’s been such a long time since I have been in full-time education, that something like that would be a shock to my system!! Will have to find something to ease me back in to hedgimacation, won\’t I…!!

  11. Eileen permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:58 am

    Oh I know what you mean Sandi, when I did my accountancy a couple of years ago it cost me a fortune! But I the 1st year as an evening course and the 2nd & 3rd year as day release so it wasn\’t too bad (bar having to put up with hundreds of teenagers screaming around the place). Well worth it though!

  12. Sandi permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:13 pm

    My fiend, Jo, has been doing OU courses for the last few years…seems like forever!! I don\’t know how she finds the time for other things…like a social life, but she does.Three years is like standing at the base of a mountain with little training or experience of mountaineering! I guess it\’s one of those things to keep in mind as I look at other options.

  13. Eileen permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:35 pm

    LOL!!! I\’m sure she\’d love you calling her your fiend! Keyboard playing up again? (for me the course was my way of getting better, baby steps to get over the CFS)

  14. Princess permalink
    June 9, 2009 1:41 pm

    Ur fiend Jo!!! ROFL!!!!!!!

  15. Sandi permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:14 pm

    Oops!! You know I meant \’friend\’!! LOL!! Darned keyboard!! Sometimes half a sentence is missing, and I have to go back and type it all in again!! Mostly it is the odd letter or so…it\’s a pain in the neck!!

  16. Princess permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:54 pm

    Hehehehehe, well the prob 4 me is that half my letters on my keys have worn away, so u can\’t actu see some of the letters anymore! Good Job my fingers are used 2 tapping away!!!! Hope u have a Great Evening!Luv PF XXX

  17. Eileen permalink
    June 10, 2009 8:47 am

    Maybe we need to start a fund raiser? New keyboards for Sandi and Princess Frogget.. all donations welcome 🙂

  18. Cornish permalink
    June 10, 2009 9:08 am

    And a rabbit for the maid too! xx

  19. Eileen permalink
    June 10, 2009 9:11 am

    LOL!!!

  20. Sandi permalink
    June 10, 2009 10:39 am

    Rabbit? Um…would that be the…er…rampant variety, by any chance…? Ahem! Mind you don\’ a pair of fluffy bunny slippers instead!!Talking of donations and fund-raising….that will lead into my next blog….

  21. Curiosity permalink
    June 10, 2009 11:31 am

    and you wonder how your space blogs degrade into smutty inuendo!!!!!!!! tut tut tut Sandi dunno what is on your mind half the time! Keep it up though!

  22. Curiosity permalink
    June 10, 2009 11:34 am

    oops! maybe phrased that last bit wrong. See what mindstate you reduce us to. Dear oh deary me.

  23. Eileen permalink
    June 10, 2009 11:36 am

    I think that was a perfectly phrased comment! Especially for Sandi 😉

  24. Poppy permalink
    June 10, 2009 12:31 pm

    Its a great blog Sandi, and I know just what you are talking about! I also have a collection of gloves, lace caps, shawls etc upstairs which all came about from my interest in Lace making, and I am have a re-awakening too, but mine is in the form of photography just now! I would love to go on a course to find out how to use my lovely camera properly, but any course is just soo expensive these days 😦 I am sure you will put your fantastic skills to good use though, I love seeing what you have made xx

  25. Sandi permalink
    June 10, 2009 12:56 pm

    The keyboard messed up again! That was meant to be \’mind you don\’t get a pair…\’ But I guess you know that already.Anne, as if you haven\’t already noticed it\’s Rachel who is getting all hot under the collar, and is now going on about rabbits…which led me to only one conclusion…! \’Nuff said! ;-)I have a pair of women\’s late Victorian cotton combinations, that were also dug out of the loft a few months ago. They were washed and ironed, and are hanging up waiting for me to draw and measure them so that I can make a replica. They were given to me because they have rust damage and holes on the legs…shame. (About the damage, not because I aquired them!)

  26. Andrew permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:54 pm

    These damn Rabbits are poping up everywhere……..ooohh eeeerrr Thought spring had passed but you lot seem to be stuck, and going silly for somthing?????

  27. Curiosity permalink
    June 10, 2009 5:33 pm

    Andrew, look on Sandi\’s next blog it is more man stuff with a bit of something for the ladies.

  28. Sandi permalink
    June 10, 2009 9:14 pm

    Andrew…I am not going silly for nowt…it\’s them others! It is catching, though…a little bit.And if you think that the \’little bit for the ladies\’ is the mention of Big Willie, then I\’m gonna slap you, missus!! You\’re as bad as Rachel, really!!Ha! They\’re all at it!!! 😉

  29. Eileen permalink
    June 11, 2009 8:22 am

    LOL!!

  30. Kayley and Phil permalink
    June 13, 2009 9:52 am

    its a bit serious this bonnet making!!!

  31. Sandi permalink
    June 13, 2009 9:56 am

    Serious, Kayley and Phil? How so? Well, I don\’t see any serious comments down here…only very silly ones!! ROFL!

Leave a Reply

