Skip to content

Updates: Tank & Costume

June 19, 2009

If I watched Military History Channel more often, I might not have missed Tuesday’s episode of The Trench Detectives: Codename Tank  about the excavations, in northern France, of a male MKIV tank  http://www.thisislincolnshire.co.uk/news/Remains-Lincoln-tank-northern-France/article-1091134-detail/article.html  Oh, well…

I have now finished stitching both bodice and lining, and have just realised that I made some slight alterations to the pattern when I drew it out, so there will be differences that will need to be rectified when I join them together.  Oh, well, live and learn and all that jazz…! 

This whole costume thing is a learning experience, as I have discovered hundreds of ways that don’t work before hitting on the ones that do…typical!!

Back to me stitching…!!

06prom12  

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    June 19, 2009 12:40 pm

    Is there any way you could watch it online Sandi? If not then maybe they\’ll repeat it like all of the other channels do.I watched a programme about shipwrecks last night that almost had me reaching for the computer to do more research. I have maps of Cornish wrecks and it would be nice to find out more about them.I\’ve learnt that you always manage to find the missing needle with your foot, this morning! I\’m here ironing that huge piece of patched paper and fabric ……………… aaaaand …………………… slowly removing the paper. Bricking it quietly in case it all falls apart! Those dresses in the picture are lovely. Mine look like a rag compared to those. Have fun stitching. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:11 pm

    Don\’t be draft, Rachel! Your dress looks really nice. I have just found, when pinning bodice and lining, that the alterations I made have resulted in a rounder neckline on the bodice (how I want it), compared to a squarer neckline on the lining. If I can find the bag with the plain white cotton in, I will make a new lining. I love archaeology programmes, whether it\’s Time Team, Trench Detectives or any marine archaeology programmes…it\’s all fascinating stuff. I used to get a regular newsletter from a marine archaeology site, but can\’t remember what it was, now, to re-subscribe…never mind.Good luck with the quilt…I\’ve never attempted a large patchwork/quilting project before. Did small items for college, like trapunto, corded and traditional quilting, as well as log cabin and other patchwork samples, and appliques. You never know…one day…!

  3. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:33 pm

    Just been checking the website…that particular programme was broadcaste two or three times on Tuesday, and is not repeated again this week. There is no facility for watching any of the programmes online…which is a bit daft, as a lot of the other channel have this feature…! Humph!!

  4. Cornish permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:48 pm

    Bummer! Mayhaps they\’ll be really nice and put it on again for you next week. If not – shoot them! :-)I have also found that falling scissors don\’t fall handle side down and nearly always fall a little too close to my feet for comfort (twice now). Anybody got any steel toe capped boots I could borrow? xx

  5. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:52 pm

    Don\’t you mean steel-toecapped slippers…?! I find that when scissors do fall handles-down, they always land on my toe or other boney bit of my foot!! Sod\’s Law!!

  6. Cornish permalink
    June 19, 2009 2:14 pm

    The only other thing I\’m using is the iron. Just wondering if I should call it a day for my foots sake!! 😉

  7. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 2:33 pm

    You don\’t want to go and drop that now, would you…or you\’d be able to do a Tiny Tim act…!!

  8. Eileen permalink
    June 19, 2009 3:40 pm

    Are my eyes deceiving me or is that in Bath? Lovely outfits!Good luck to the pair of you with your projects.. my project is to finish work get home and open a bottle tonight.. long day today with the partners down for an end of year meeting.. my eyes are all squiffy from doing accounts all day 😦

  9. Natalia permalink
    June 19, 2009 4:46 pm

    Just dropping in to say good evening Sandi and Yes the above picture does look like the Pump rooms at Bath. :o) September seems such a long way away and yet here we are in the middle of June. I just hope that the weather keeps fine for the day. I wonder wether the guy wearing the tall stove Pipe had will be there also? Time to put the fish in the oven, I just hope I don\’t set it alight as you did. xx

  10. Curiosity permalink
    June 19, 2009 6:39 pm

    Thanks Natalia, have been ages peeking at spaces and forgot I have a Rhubarb Crumble in the oven…..must dash!!!!

  11. Curiosity permalink
    June 19, 2009 6:47 pm

    Charcoal is good for you isn\’t it?!

  12. Curiosity permalink
    June 19, 2009 6:52 pm

    Sandi, your hat is going to knock spots off the ones in the pic. Why oh why did denim jeans become so popular and why don\’t we still wear those multitude of sin hiding long skirts???

  13. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:04 pm

    LOL! There are pretty dresses available today that cover a multitude of sins, Anne…and \’yes\’ that is Bath. Well done, Natalia…WAKE UP, Eileen…oh. sorry for shouting, you\’ve been glued to your accounts all day…sorry. Slap me for being so rude…naughty me!!!Yes, that is the Grand Regency Promenade…2006, I think. Everyone gathers outside the Pump Room/Roman Baths about 11.30am…I think…will have to check.I grilled my pie, that\’s why the cardboard container combusted…oops! Silly bugger!Hope you\’re on your way to being well chilled by now, Eileen…enjoy your fish, Natalia, enjoy your crumble Anne…I love a nice crumble with custard…! Curry time, methinks…see ya\’s all later…have a lovely \’chilled\’ evening…XXX

  14. Princess permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:10 pm

    Yo Sandi, Good Luck with ur stitching, bet it looks fab! Luv PF XXX

  15. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:16 pm

    I do hope so, PF, I do hope so…! Have cut out the new lining pieces, now, and when I\’ve had my curry, will get busy again…anything interesting on TV tonight…? NCIS at 9pm…is that all…?!!!

  16. Princess permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:25 pm

    Erm………………….dare I mention that BB is on?!?!?! Rofl!!!! Ooooh it\’s Great!!!! Have also taped "The Guardian" naturally I shall be super glued 2 the screen at this point……soooooooooooooooo gorgeous!!!!! Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  17. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:29 pm

    Wha\’s |The Guardian? Will have to go and look, now…!

  18. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:30 pm

    Isn\’t that another Simon Baker series…? Ooooooh…!

  19. Princess permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:46 pm

    YEAH!!!! It is sooooooooooooooooooo Fab!!! Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than " The Mentalist"!!!!!

  20. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:15 pm

    And I noticed that it was on at 6pm on Five USA…which keeps breaking up, these days…boo hoo…!!

  21. Princess permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:32 pm

    Yup tis on at 6pm, tis why I said "taped"!!! I am just finishing work at that time! Oooh it\’s breaking up 4 u! Noooooooooooo….tis FAB, really addictive!!! u GOTTA get that sorted!!!

  22. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:55 pm

    So u did say \’taped\’. We used to watch Five US all the time, but since the winter it\’s done nothing but break up…it really spoils a good programme when all you\’re watching is colourful squares jigging about the screen…bloomin\’ nuisance!!!

  23. Sandi permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:56 pm

    Oh, look…I put \’u\’ instead of \’you\’…wa\’sgoin\’ on…?!!!

  24. Sandi permalink
    June 20, 2009 12:25 pm

    Lining MKII almost done…fingers crossed that it all works correctly…!!

  25. Sandi permalink
    June 20, 2009 7:56 pm

    Bodice and lining pinned together…so far so good…!! It\’s OK, you lot, don\’t mind me…I always chatter away to myself when I\’m busy…! Now where was I…?

  26. Curiosity permalink
    June 20, 2009 10:30 pm

    my first attempt at doing this via my mobile phone and i use it to say "Keep up the good work Sandi, your costume will be great I\’m sure."

  27. Sandi permalink
    June 20, 2009 10:59 pm

    Thanks Anne…I\’ve stitched the two together, turned \’em right sides out and am now stitching along the edge. It\’s looking good so far…I\’m just wondering what I\’ve done wrong…!

  28. Sandi permalink
    June 21, 2009 1:23 pm

    Pictures in album of work so far…I made sure I kept the pattern pieces to the exact size of the toile, so if the bodice ends up being too big or too small I\’ll wnat to know why!!! I really am sure I\’ve done something wrong, y\’know………!!!!

Leave a Reply

