Skip to content

Go Ahead, Punk…Make My Day…!

June 27, 2009

Much as I hate Mondays, I seemed to be able to get a lot done on my costume this week, and the time has sailed by almost un-noticed. 

 

By mid-week I seemed to have come to a dead-end with no idea what to do next…not just as far as costume goes, but at work also.  The result was me arriving home, yesterday evening, stressed and not ready to enjoy the weekend!  In fact, I’m still feeling uptight and restless! Baring teeth

 

The reason for this is one of my team who will not co-operate, and makes himself obnoxious at every opportunity, which is causing a bad atmosphere at work.  It’s not as if he’s good at his job, because he isn’t…so I have to constantly remind him to do this or to do that, to which he automatically replies with a pathetic excuse. 

 

I’m sick to death of his excuses!  Why can’t he just do the work he is paid to do?!!  If he does not like being asked to do his job all the time, the answer is simple…just do it!

 

A couple of weeks ago, I had to show him what needed doing, which he resented, and he went off on one, shouting me down in the foyer with people passing by.  I wanted to shout him down and tell him that he’s an arrogant w**ker, but I can’t do that.  I had to keep my voice even and do the stuck record bit, reminding him that I have my job to do and he has his job to do.  He carried on shouting and ranting, so I walked away.

 

I reported his behaviour to my boss, who would have liked to have just binned him, as she does not like him, either.  Anyway, having checked his work, I thanked him for doing what was asked, but reminded him that the client expected a better standard and asked him to do it again.  He did not like this, and began raising his voice at me again. When I tried to explain the situation to him he just shouted louder, swore at me and wagged his finger in my face accusing me of ‘treating him like a master treats a slave’! Eye-rolling

 

He demanded to speak to my boss, I agreed, as I knew she would tell him the same thing, and just let him have his rant at her.  He is still not doing a very good job, and has only partially done the jobs I’ve asked him to do, deliberately, I feel.  If he ever goes off on one like that again, he will be suspended on full pay, pending a disciplinary, as that is classed as Gross Misconduct in the staff handbook, and I am well within my rights!

 

Just try it you jumped up little dirt-bag!!!  Make my day!!! Surprised

 

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    June 27, 2009 2:55 pm

    I had barmaids like that when I used to have the pub, neither use nor ornament! Usually they either handed in their notice or just did not turn up for the next shift when I put rota on the till which included any jobs that may break a nail!

  2. Sandi permalink
    June 27, 2009 3:04 pm

    I think the problem with the \’waste of space\’ at work is one of inadequacy. He has to prove that he\’s louder than me. He has to pick fights in front of people. He complained about his floor being the \’hardest\’, which is total nonsense, and is happy that he now has the \’easiest\’ floor! He is one male surrounded by women…BUT, he CHOOSES to wear a tabbard!! Can anyone explain that to me, please…?!!!

  3. Touch permalink
    June 27, 2009 3:10 pm

    We had a method for dealing with no loads like him in the service. We would write a glowing performance evaluation and transfer him out. When his new unit called complaining about having the dead wood dumped in their laps we would just say "He was a good troop when we had him. It must be a leadership problem on your end." Might not be an option for you but it\’s a thought. On the other hand, so is pushing him in front of a speeding bus.

  4. Sandi permalink
    June 27, 2009 4:56 pm

    Ooooh, Chip…I wish!!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    June 27, 2009 7:55 pm

    Should I have added a RANT ALERT perhaps…?!!!!!

  6. Touch permalink
    June 27, 2009 8:00 pm

    Well, there\’s always the old barmaid trick of Visine in his coffee. Maybe he\’ll get fired for spending too much time in the john.

  7. Princess permalink
    June 27, 2009 8:18 pm

    Yo Sandi, maybe just easier 2 give him a tick list with his jobs on them, that he has 2 tick when he has completed & u have 2 tick to say the work is satisfactory, Just a thought!

  8. Natalia permalink
    June 27, 2009 9:48 pm

    His day in the dock will undoubtably come Sandi. You may not be the facilitator but it will happen. Either that or he will move on as these types do and become someone elses problem. I hope that day is soon for all of you. xx

  9. commander permalink
    June 27, 2009 9:53 pm

    is he british or foreign ?get the office to check his paper work .

  10. Sandi permalink
    June 27, 2009 10:00 pm

    He\’s Chinese…a student. His paperwork is in order or he wouldn\’t be allowed to work…we\’re very strict on such things.That is what I keep telling myself…if I give him enough rope, he\’ll hang himself!!

  11. Curiosity permalink
    June 27, 2009 10:22 pm

    And who do you think Horatio Caine would point the finger at should the rope be in fact….. Russian Braid!

  12. commander permalink
    June 27, 2009 10:56 pm

    he\’s just exhibiting the cultural character of the chinese .Arrogant racist ,cruel and ignorant .The chinese if you can believe it belief they are a different species to the rest of the human race and not descende down the same path as homo sapiens .This has been disproved but theyrefuse to accept it and is the root of their racist and cultural arrogance .

  13. Sandi permalink
    June 27, 2009 11:22 pm

    I can well believe that, Robin…he\’s just as you describe him!! (OK then..he\’s an alien!! That explains everything!!!)Chip, we don\’t have coffee at work…we arrive, do our work…shame, \’cos I like that idea, too!PF, more work for me…as if I haven\’t got enough to do already!! But if he wants to behave like a spoiled child…!!!Natalia, I believe in Karma…wait until he\’s out in the \’real world\’ and gives excuses for lack of performance, then tries to be arrogant about it…bye, bye…you\’re history, boy!!Anne, "He\’s gone! Horatio Caine is dead!" says Wolf to Callieigh…so how\’s he gonna point at anything…?!Yes, I believe he will get his come-uppance…and I want to be there when he does!!!Mwahahahahahaha….!!!

  14. Curiosity permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:58 am

    I do not think it would matter what race or creed the bloke is. He is probably just another jumped up ingnoramus with an attitude problem and lack of people skills. Maybe he is a nobody at home so acts the Big I Am and puts a front on at work.I wonder what his persona is if he is on Spaces.

  15. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 11:16 am

    Probably some all-powerful god-being from the —teenth dynasty, or some such…who knows.He is not popular at work, so my guess is that he is not popular at the uni, either…shall have to ask one of my other girls, who is also at uni, if she knows what he\’s like there…!

  16. commander permalink
    June 28, 2009 12:06 pm

    ….calm down dear….."

  17. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 12:43 pm

    Thanks, Robin…I am calm, now. Just needed to get that crap out of my system, I guess. Back to me sewing…ho hum…!

  18. Bob permalink
    June 28, 2009 1:54 pm

    I\’ve been telling Sandi to bin him for weeks but she won\’t listen to me… Just keep a close eye on his work and mark down as appropriate. When he throws a paddy just tell the twat to go home, and that he\’ll be contacted to arrange a disciplinary meeting. Then phone the TM, tell her what you\’ve done and let her get on with it.

  19. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 2:02 pm

    My boss wanted to do just that, but her superiors told her that it must be dealt with as per the staff handbook…so, the next paddy he throws…out he jolly-well goes, pending a disciplinary!

  20. Eileen permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:04 am

    The law changed back in April for grievance – and you should be taking it higher. No one has the right to shout and swear at you. I hope you are keeping records of everytime he fails to complete his tasks and every time you have to explain things, when he has his temper tantrums and also what he actually says to you?Chinese men are brought up with the belief that they are superior, and if he shouted at me like that I\’d tell him quietly to calm down or go out side until he can speak to me like a civilized human being and I would walk away.Good luck

  21. Sandi permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:18 am

    It\’s going in my diary, Eileen, don\’t worry. I\’ve had just about as much as I can take of his childish peevishness, and I think that he is deliberately beeing awkward and obnoxious, now. Twat!!

  22. Eileen permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:21 am

    Good.. you need to be really careful with this sort of thing – so he can\’t counter claim and say it\’s racist.

  23. Sandi permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:35 am

    I know…just need him to have another tantrum in front of witnesses.

  24. Eileen permalink
    June 29, 2009 11:50 am

    Get some security cameras set up!

  25. Sandi permalink
    June 29, 2009 12:00 pm

    Not my department. The building has security cameras outside…and one in reception.

  26. Sandi permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:49 am

    Anyway, he\’s still being an arse, so everything he says or does is being duly noted…and if his girlfriend wants to go down with him…so be it!!

  27. Mike permalink
    June 30, 2009 12:37 pm

    I deal with quite alot of Chinese customers and would say there\’s no particular cultural difference in their attitudes than alot of Asians and British people! Some, whatever their national origin just have a chip on their shoulder and need being brought down a peg or two……hopefully he\’ll settle down (though i doubt it judgeing by what your saying Sandi) but eventually he\’ll be forced to move on and sooner rather than later would be best, no one needs the extra hassle at work!

  28. Bal permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:25 pm

    MMmmmm the heat is definately on! LOL!!! Make him go self-employed where he can disappoint himself and get caught talking to an invisible supervisor!!!! ha ha ha 😉

  29. Sandi permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:54 pm

    LOL! He can\’t see that he is making himself look small! He is behaving like an arrogant, spoilt brat, anmy boss, and the client (EA) are not happy with his work (or lack of it) so they will get him on that…unless he shows himself up in the meantime!! Like I said…I\’m feeding him the rope….

Leave a Reply

