Skip to content

RAF Waddington International Airshow

June 28, 2009

One week to go!!

RAF Waddington International Airshow is next weekend, so check dis out… www.waddingtonairshow.co.uk

I was rather taken aback by the ticket prices, but then again, everyone knows I’m still living in the past…been here in Lincoln too long!!

This coming week is going to be busy with aircraft arriving from all over the world for the static and flying displays…and the Vulcan is going to be there!Vulcan XH 558

The camera is on charge just in case either of us get the opportunity to get any pictures, but our view from here is somewhat obscured by the monster hedge and ash tree that have grown so much since I first moved here in 1991.

File0019 Now here’s a thing from way back in the mists of time…Saturday 7 June 1980 to be precise…RAF Waddington Open Day. Ticket price…20p. Yes, that is correct…a whopping twenty pence!!! RAF Waddington was not the big international station it is today, and in those days was a local event…for local people. Those were the days! Just look at those vast crowds everywhere!!

 

File0064   File0063   File0061

47 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    June 28, 2009 6:38 pm

    My Mum has first class views when the little airport of Lydd has airshows. The flight path is right over her garden. Seen some fantastic displays.My Aunt lives in view of the airspace over Rochester Airport. When I was visiting the year before last there was a brand new prototype RAF helicopter being put through its paces. Absolutely took your breath away at the stunts it was performing, really had heart in mouth moments. Beats stoopid theme park rides any day just watching them for the adrenalin rush.Hope you get a good view.

  2. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 6:46 pm

    We used to have fantastic views when we lived at the bottom of Waddington Hill…bro used to climb out of his bedroom window and sit on the roof to watch and take photos.We used to be able to go to Waddington and watch from the grass verges surrounding the camp, but they\’ve put a stop to that, and built a viewing area…which they charge for!!

  3. Princess permalink
    June 28, 2009 7:10 pm

    Yo Sandi! Hope u enjoy the show, great pics! U have urself a great evening! Luv PF XXX

  4. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 7:22 pm

    Ah, fond memories of airshows past, PF…Rochester and Biggin Hill as a child, then Scampton and Waddington after moving here…and the sunburn down one side of my face…!!!We probably won\’t be able to see much from here, with the hedge grown so big, so I\’ll be taking the camera to work with me…you never know…!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 7:24 pm

    Apart from the Vulcan, the bottom pics are…a Dakota, a Phantom, and an F16 (I think).

  6. Touch permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:39 pm

    Sandi, hard to tell for this angle but I\’m pretty certain the bottom aircraft is an F-111. The windscreen is wrong for an F-16.

  7. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:49 pm

    I believe you are correct…F-111s were the thing in those days…F16s are more modern planes, aren\’t they!We had Phantoms, Lightenings, Jaguars, Bucaneers, Vulcans…and you had the F-111…sounds really techy and glamourous!

  8. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:50 pm

    Robert is at pub watching football (soccer)…America are beating Brazil 2-1 at the mo!

  9. Sandi permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:24 pm

    Aaaaw…they lost to Brazil…! Ne\’mind. Better luck next time.

  10. simon permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:53 pm

    The Vulan I recognise (and still wince at the sound) having lived near a base in UK. I say near, anything within Miles knew it was passing- UK Falklands war saw it back into frequent use then. Now Concorde – there was a blast for the ears. Sadly gone now. WE have a annual free event in Bournemouth, on the sea front. August I think this year? Come on down – it\’s worth it.

  11. Touch permalink
    June 28, 2009 11:21 pm

    Apparently our talking heads have it wrong. They just reported the US beat Brazil 3-1 for the gold.

  12. Sandi permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:30 am

    They did? Robert has blogged about it, so nip over to his to see what he had to say on the match…he was hooked, said it was a brilliant game…I\’ll take his word for it!!

  13. Sandi permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:38 am

    Ah, Simon…the Vulcan…I\’ll be listening out for it this week…I\’d know that noise anywhere!! The same as knowing the Dakota, and the BBMF when I hear them. When I\’ve been in town with Mum, and we\’ve heard a plane, I\’ll say that sounds like the Dakota, or that sounds like the Lanc, etc…and I\’m usually correct. I love piston engines, be they Rolls Royce Merlins or Pratt & Whitney, or whatever…it\’s a sound to give me goose-bumps.

  14. Bob permalink
    June 29, 2009 12:53 pm

    The last pic is indeed a General Dynamics F-111 \’Aardvark\’, with the rear end of a Fairchild A-10 Thunderbolt (or Warthog as it is affectionately known) just in view to the right. Wish I still had all my pics from the old days – I had hundreds of shots of stuff from all the airshows I used to go to – Farnborough, Biggin Hill, various RAF/USAF bases – those were the days…

  15. Sandi permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:56 am

    Biggin Hill and Rochester as a kid, with the family, then after we moved here Waddington and Scampton….yeah, those were the days!We had the Nimrod flying around here, yesterday…working or doing it airshow bit, I don\’t know.

  16. Bran permalink
    June 30, 2009 12:49 pm

    Nearest we get to an air show is Culrose (Helston, Cornwall)open day, we avoid it like the plague unless we want to spend hours in the traffic and anyway we have the rescue choppers and local helicopter services to the Scilly Isles flying past more frequently than the buses in this area. However if we need an aviation buzz "The Red Arrow\’s" come to Penzance and Mounts Bay area every couple of years and their most spectacular flight path is to suddenly appear over the hills and dive down to sea level — Guess where the hill is, that\’s right just by our cottage, sit on top of it when the display is on and you can feel the heat from their afterburners and see the pilots in their cockpits what a blast, front row seats at eye level with the pilots cant be beaten!

  17. Sandi permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:45 pm

    Sounds brilliant…better than at an air show, Bran…and without the hassle of crowds and traffic. They used to begin their display by arriving from behind the spectators…but H&S Gestapo put a stop to that. As they train over Scampton, just north of Lincoln, we often get to see them. Yeah, we\’ve got the Red Arrows and the BBMF…and the Vulcan, but I\’m not sure if that is actually based in Leicestershire still or if it has \’come home\’ to Waddington yet. There was talk of it.

  18. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 9:45 am

    Today\’s the day! Bad news…the Vulcan did not get it\’s certificate in time, that would allow it to display…so it\’s static for the weekend. For shame!The weather is beautiful…I thought it was going to be wet and grey, like yesterday, but the sun is shining, and the Red Arrows will be able to do the full display…which means I will, hopefully get some pictures if they come over this way.Other years, I have been able to listen to the radio…airshow FM 103.6….in the kitchen, so I knew what to expect and when. I have no idea where the radio is, as we usually use the one in the bedroom now…and Robert has gone to bed. Oh, well….lots of listening and wondering what\’s going on, I guess!Cameras and binoculars are at the ready in case I can get a glimpse of anything…flying begins at 10.30 and ends at 5.30….wish I\’d said \’yes\’ now, when Robert asked if I wanted to go….oh, well….

  19. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 10:20 am

    I can hear a Chinook pounding away quite close…but where is it?!!!

  20. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 3:25 pm

    Well, well, well, this airshow is proving to be a bit sedate, so far. Apart from the Red Arrows putting on an exciting display, as usual, I have hardly heard a sound, and what I can hear seems to be trainer aircraft and other small-fry…and the BBMF. Where are all the noisy big boys?!! That is what people go to these airshows for, isn\’t it…to be thrilled by what the latest technology has to offer…like the Eurofighter Typhoon, and favourites like the noisy Tornados!!

  21. Curiosity permalink
    July 4, 2009 5:42 pm

    I think they are all at my house in the form of Owen and Ava. Karen just dumped them off on me because Clare has not got home in time to have them for the night. They have eaten OUR dinner already. She just rang to say she\’ll be another hour yet!!!!!!!!! Ava\’s squeals of laughter will drown out any heavy aircraft.

  22. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 6:17 pm

    I predict a riot, I predict a riot…! What\’s that coming over the hill, is it a monster?!!You love it really!!

  23. Curiosity permalink
    July 4, 2009 7:20 pm

    I do love having them, even more so when it is unexpected. They are good as gold and no trouble really. But I have no idea how I managed or where the energy came from when my two were little. Am glad I only have them in small doses.

  24. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 7:30 pm

    Aaaaah, bless. They are sweet…I enjoyed your tales of Ava…hehe.

  25. Curiosity permalink
    July 4, 2009 7:35 pm

    I mistakenly erased the emails about her in the swimming pool and in B&Q\’s before I got them printed off. Would have blogged them otherwise. Shame.

  26. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 7:39 pm

    So-o-o-o funny….I still chuckle at the thought.

  27. Curiosity permalink
    July 4, 2009 8:59 pm

    Just popped to kitchen to wash dishes and thought the cutlery felt odd……….little beggars had tightly wrapped each individual knife, fork and spoon in sellotape.

  28. Sandi permalink
    July 4, 2009 9:02 pm

    ROFL!!!! Nice one!!

  29. Sandi permalink
    July 5, 2009 3:40 pm

    Having the radio on has made it easier to get some pics…with the SLR (if they turn out OK!), because I know when certain planes are going to be flying in, or taking off to move out to their holding areas.The Blades flew straight overhead…while I was faffing about with the camera…DOH!!My opinion of this airshow is that it has been put together with the geriatrics in mind…sedate! What I mean is…BORING!!! Apart from the BBMF and Red Arrows, the Typhoon is the only other thing of interest…and it\’s been left to the end….wake me up then…yawn!

  30. Touch permalink
    July 5, 2009 5:35 pm

    I tell you what I\’m gonna do….Frankie\’s doctors have forbidden her from driving, much less flying her broom so she won\’t be able to help out but I do have a sister who is famous in Ohio for performing intricate aerobatics on her broom while smoking a cigar, thus spelling out all sorts of colorful phrases (mostly blue). Sam J Frog, Britain needs you!

  31. Bob permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:09 pm

    Rumour has it that as the Vulcan couldn\’t fly today because of the paperwork, when it\’s cleared for display it\’ll do a special over Lincoln on Tuesday. Hope so…

  32. Sandi permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:13 pm

    So do I….and I hope I see it this time!

  33. Sandi permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:14 pm

    Er..so is Samuel J male or female…I\’m confused, Chip…I\’m confused!!!!

  34. Samuel J permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:23 pm

    female….sometimes…..sometimes sex is undetermined….gave up smoking the cigar while flying….caught the broom on fire…..crashed landed and had to buy one of them funky brooms with the plastic bristles. now only fly in circles….have to wait to find an old fashion straw broom….they stopped selling them door-to-door…..Deck brroms don\’t turn easily

  35. Samuel J permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:26 pm

    oooooooooooops! no sex…causes diseases….like kids! Don\’t need no more of those….

  36. Sandi permalink
    July 5, 2009 7:49 pm

    LOL! Crazy…just like the rest of us!! What\’s that line from one of David Bowie\’s songs…\’I\’d rather stay here with all the madmen, \’cos I\’m quite convinced they\’re all as sane as me…!!!\’

  37. simon permalink
    July 5, 2009 8:00 pm

    Quick add comment/link for Samuel J Frog. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Harry-Potter-Nimbus-2000-Broom/dp/B00005LBXSHint- it works best with the batteries in it- sadly this broom is in very short supply…

  38. Touch permalink
    July 5, 2009 8:21 pm

    BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

  39. Bob permalink
    July 5, 2009 8:58 pm

    I thought it was "than perish with all the sad men roaming free…" but who knows.Day after day, they take my friends awayTo mansions far awayTo the fa-a-a-a-r side of townWhere the thin men roam the streetsWhile the sane stay undergroundThe Man Who Sold The World – Fabulous album

  40. Sandi permalink
    July 5, 2009 10:17 pm

    That line as well…one of my favourite albums by DB.Hey…I\’m getting used to these British/American translations y\’know. When Chip goes "Bwahahahahahaha" it\’s the same as our "Mwahahahahahahaha"….easy-peasy….!! "If they ask for crisps give \’em chips, and if they ask for chips give \’em fries" is what Chip will say if he has any British friends visiting…see, I know the lingo…mwahahahaha….!!!

  41. Touch permalink
    July 5, 2009 10:32 pm

    and our cookies are your biscuits…….I\’m learning to speak Brit as well Mwahahahahahahahahaha!!!

  42. Samuel J permalink
    July 5, 2009 11:46 pm

    dang batteries won\’t fit! must need one of them converter thingees!

  43. Touch permalink
    July 6, 2009 12:15 am

    Sam, you know they talk funny over there. Do you really think a culture that would call cookies biscuits is gonna mean "D cells" when they say batteries? FYI – when a Brit says batteries they mean canisters of headlight fluid.

  44. Samuel J permalink
    July 6, 2009 2:05 am

    Ugh! ::choke:: Just swallowed the magnets….

  45. Bob permalink
    July 6, 2009 11:28 am

    Headlight fluid? Wassat?

  46. Sandi permalink
    July 6, 2009 11:49 am

    Sounds like someone\’s headlight is broken and filled up with water, when it rained…?!!!

  47. Sandi permalink
    July 6, 2009 11:55 am

    When we say batteries we mean those little things you put in stuff to make \’em go…like watches have little round batteries…and torches take AA batteries…no, wait a minute, clocks take AAs don\’t they…! Torches take the bigger batteries.But I am intrigued…what is headlight fluid…? Do you mean to say that you guys still have oil lamps…?!!!

Leave a Reply

