Skip to content

Game Over, Man!

July 23, 2009
Well, what can I say?  HANGMAN!!!!!!
 
Yes, the nasty smell…that evil-minded little toe-rag is leaving!  My boss phoned me while I was visiting Mum up at the hospital this afternoon.Open-mouthed  Him and his girlfriend have handed in their notices, so the new relief becomes permanent and we get another new team member to fill the gap.
 
The stress that has had me in its grip these last few weeks is melting away, and I feel a calmness and happiness replacing it….but that could also have something to do with the Thyroxine slowly getting into my system and making me feel better again.  Then again, a small financial problem has just been resolved, AND…Mum is feeling a lot better and was able to enjoy her tea yesterday evening.
 
For the last two or three weeks, my mum has been feeling progressively worse, and had phoned me on Tuesday to let me know that she wasn’t going to meet me in town for lunch again, and that she was expecting the doc that afternoon.  She sounded weak and tired, and said that she hadn’t been able to eat anything for the last week, and that when she tried to eat, she just brought it up again.
 
My brother is in the medical profession, so he was there with her when the doc visited, to ask the right questions, and explain anything.  It was decided to take Mum to hospital where she was taken off of her medications for cholesterol and osteoporosis and put onto a drip.  She was going to stay in overnight for ovservation.
 
Next day, my neice, who is expecting her first baby in September passed out and needed to go to hospital, so my sis went with her in the ambulance.  She made sure my neice was OK, then was able to visit Mum.  She let me know that Mum was very surprised to see her, and that she (Mum) was feeling a lot better already.  When I visited this afternoon, the drip had been removed, and Mum was telling me about the lovely ham salad that she’d been able to enjoy at lunch time.  Hopefully, she will be discharged soon.  But it’s back to square one with the meds…I hope that whatever she’s given next will not cause such adverse effects!! Sick
 
 
57 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 8:48 pm

    You\’ve lost me here… ???

  2. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:14 pm

    Ok then I\’ll play……how many letters?(humour her Eileen!! say you\’ll play too)

  3. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:19 pm

    Hint…what\’s the title of this blog?!!

  4. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:20 pm

    Another hint…what had I been saying about the Miasma? Another hint…it involved rope…That enough for ya?!!!

  5. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:20 pm

    Eeerr! dunno. Is it an anagram?

  6. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:20 pm

    oh it\’s a game! lol.. forgive me.. brain\’s still cooked! Go on Sandi.. letters?, words etc please..

  7. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:22 pm

    Oh I get it. That was my first impression but dismissed it. dismissed ha ha d\’ya like it?

  8. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:23 pm

    Yey!!!!!!!put the flags out for Sandi. Peace at work.

  9. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:26 pm

    Oh right twat heads been sacked! Yay!!Bit slow here! lol

  10. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:27 pm

    sod the cup of tea.. crack open a bottle I say!!!

  11. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:27 pm

    Forget the tea and wine….get out the Champers

  12. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:28 pm

    I still have the bottle you bought down here Sandi, shall I open that now, biggest thing to celebrate thats worth popping it for.

  13. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:31 pm

    here here! that must be such a relief :o)

  14. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:34 pm

    Hope the replacement is better suited and more consciencous.

  15. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:36 pm

    My boss phoned me this afternoon and told me that him and his girlfriend had handed in their notices…I care not which way he goes as long as he just goes!! The the new relief comes in as a pemanent! Woo hoo…!!

  16. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:40 pm

    Do you think they were given the choice of dismissal and getting a bad reference or deciding to leave of their own accord. Feel a bit sorry for the girlfriend getting dragged down because of him. Bit Dolly Parton to Stand by your man in some cases.

  17. Eileen permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:45 pm

    Crossed fingers it means work becomes a nicer place for you!

  18. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:48 pm

    I do, too. She\’s a good worker and I had no problem with her, but by following him, she has opened herself up for all his shit! We feel that she is being held back by him…she has more talent and intelligence in her little finger than he\’ll ever have, but he has a hold over her somehow. She will never get anywhere while she stays with him, and it\’s my guess that he is a jealous control freak…as well as being an arrogant tosser!!

  19. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:49 pm

    I think they were given the choice on Monday when we had the meetings….they made the right decision!

  20. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:54 pm

    Poor girl, I know how she feels…but lets not go there ay!

  21. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:56 pm

    Anyway….my big news of the day is that now I have stopped nibbling my nails, they have grown enough to do a french manicure on tonight, yipee! and I done my toes the same for good measure!

  22. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:59 pm

    I can\’t do anything with my nails…they just keep splitting….will have to get some of the Sally Hanson stuff you mentioned!!Right…I\’m going to finish this blog now…got a couple of other bits to add to it…!

  23. Curiosity permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:01 pm

    Nail Growth formula, it works. I am off to land of nod now, night everyone.

  24. Mike permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:23 pm

    Congratulations Sandi….so very pleased for ya! xxxPs nothing wrong with my nails! 🙂

  25. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:26 pm

    Nighty night, Anne…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  26. Sandi permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:27 pm

    Nothing wrong with Robert\’s nails either…he grows his and they are hard!!

  27. Touch permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:50 pm

    WOO-HOO! Good news for you, good news for us,, all in the same day. LET\’E GO BUY SOME LOTTERY TICKETS!!! My mom had trouble keeping food down for a while and finally figured out the cholesterol medication she was on was the culprit. She ran out and didn\’t have transportation to pick up her refill. After 3 days off the medication she felt great so she decided to tell her doctor she would control her cholesterol with diet instead of the drug. Of course what she eats now is what I call bird seed and tree bark but she\’s satisfied with it and her cholesterol\’s under control. As for me, the coroner will have to pry the bacon double cheeseburger out of my left hand if he doesn\’t get killed prying the gun out of my right.

  28. Princess permalink
    July 24, 2009 8:18 am

    Yo Sandi! Wow! That\’s Great news, all around! Crikey, was going dizzy reading all of that! Hope u have a Great Day 2day, sun\’s out here,fingers crossed it stays out!! Luv PF XXX

  29. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 9:34 am

    Very glad that your Mum is on the mend Sandi. So you will be a Great Aunt in september! There is an apt pun there….Great Aunt Sandi-bag….GASBAG!Back to the drawing board for me…I had just decided to give in and accept the cholesterol medication from the docs instead of battling to lower it myself, but now I am thinking that it may not be a good thing to take after all.

  30. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 10:30 am

    GASBAG!!! Thanks, Anne! (Going to sulk now…huff!!) I tend to waffle more on here than I do actual talking at the moment…getting out of breath, still. But am feeling better by the day…!Great news all round is a great lifter of one\’s spirits, PF…and a little sunshine goes a long way! Here we have blue skies and grey clouds, and it\’s obviously been raining this morning, as it\’s still wet out there.Chip…glad to hear you mom is feeling a lot better without the cholesterol meds. It makes me wonder how many people are being made ill by the pills and potions that they are taking to make \’em better…?!!Am off into town early today to take my boots back to Timpsons…got them re-heeled on Monday, and the heel-tip came off yesterday (and the other one is loose) Not impressed!!Then I shall go and buy a lottery ticket…good luck with yours, Chip!!

  31. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:23 am

    Cheaper to buy new footwear now than get them re heeled/soled, could not believe how expensive it had become and it is dear to even get a key cut! I am off to take Kath out for lunch, neglected her a bit lately but at least she is behaving herself.

  32. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:56 am

    Depends. When you pay good money for a pair of boots, you want to get good mileage of them before they bite the dust! I do hate to see women wearing boots and shoes that are ruined by not being re-heeled…they obviously have more money to waste than I do! Besides, it just looks scruffy and lazy…just like dry, cracked heels …eeeeewwwwwwww!!

  33. Princess permalink
    July 24, 2009 12:38 pm

    ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!

  34. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 2:29 pm

    No excuse for dry cracked heels. Plenty of footcare products on the market to keep feet healthy.

  35. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 2:39 pm

    Pumice being cheapest…that\’s all I use…well, and a foot file and a dab of moisturiser.

  36. Touch permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:43 pm

    I find that lining my socks with sandpaper and accusing Frankie of putting on weight generally helps. By the time she gets tired of chasing me with the frying pan my heels are nice and smooth and I\’m usually an inch or two shorter. If I keep this up I\’ll vanish entirely by 2021.

  37. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:58 pm

    Only a man could come up with this rot!!!!…I just went to move my car to a parking place nearer the house and as I walked toward it, a hubcap came off a passing car and bounced of off my cars wing. No damage. I came in and told HIM and he straight away accused me of only saying that because I must have damaged it myself earlier and was making excuses!! Did not matter to him that the hubcap was still laying in the road outside. Am sitting here in disbelief at what he comes out with over and over.

  38. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:59 pm

    Rocket? If I put sandpaper and a cheese grater in his shoes would the time to vanish decrease to a week or two?

  39. Samuel J permalink
    July 24, 2009 5:08 pm

    Let me know if that workd, Curiosity! I was thinking about using metal files….I\’m aiming for years…not weeks!

  40. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 5:26 pm

    Outside here now is a huge thunderstorm, deafening thunderclaps and the most amazing lightning bolts streaking across the sky, beautiful. May send him out with the metal files in his shoes and just for good measure an old tin hat!

  41. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 7:44 pm

    LOL! Oh, Chip…you never cease to amaze and amuse me…sandpaper in your shoes…and Frankie\’s beloved frying pan…!!!I love thunderstorms!!

  42. Touch permalink
    July 24, 2009 7:51 pm

    Curiosity, you might want to think about belt sanders for rapid results.

  43. Deb's permalink
    July 24, 2009 8:23 pm

    hiya Sandi, ((hugs))excellent news, it seems all your stresses are coming to an end together, and hopefully they\’ll sort your mums meds out. hope your niece is ok. and will you be celebrating the fact the numpty is leaving work?hugsdebsxXx

  44. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 8:41 pm

    It is excellent news…and a big relief!! Nah, won\’t be celebrating…can\’t be bothered. We will all just heave a few sighs of relief…and get on with our work. Numpty has his own Life Lessons to learn…and so does his girlfriend. If she stays with him, she will be dragged down and never be allowed to get anywhere in life…he won\’t let her. I see a jealous young man who is a control freak, and either he has to change, or he will end up in the sewer…in his own shit! I feel sorry for the pair of them.

  45. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 10:47 pm

    Enough of Numpty Dump-ty!!Someone must have been smoking a spliff today, and I must have caught a whiff…! Walking up the High Street this afternoon, I passed a couple (must have been in their 60s)…his T-shirt read \’Sex & Drugs & Sausage Rolls\’. That was it…I just creased up! Tears streaming down my face! People looking at me gone out!! (Must be my turn!) I laughed all the way to work! Normally I would have laughed, and that would have been it…but for something like that to affect me in that way…? MUST have been something in the air…or water…mustn\’t there…?! Well, it was just a little bit funny…

  46. Curiosity permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:38 pm

    Could be something to do with finally realising you now feel relief that a hefty burden is lifted from your shoulders. You are just releasing all that tension that has been bogging you down. Now you can cope with more important things that really matter to YOU, like your mum and our poooor Bob! Keep that spring in your step mind!That t-shirt is on sale here and makes me chuckle.

  47. Sandi permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:51 pm

    Perhaps you\’re right. Ordinarily, I would have just chuckled to myself…so, it must have just been a release of all that tension and stress, as you say. I certainly felt a lot better for it!!!

  48. Poppy permalink
    July 25, 2009 9:19 am

    I am so pleased to read this Sandi :):) I can just imagine the sense of relief you must be feeling that this guy is finally going to be out of your life! I kinda feel sorry for his girlfriend too, but she has made the decision so that is up to her!Fantastic to read that your Mum is on the mend, I really hope she continues that way 🙂 Also its great that you are now starting to feel a lot better yourself – keep taking those tablets girl!! Haha Oh and where do I get one of those T-shirts??? lol xxxx

  49. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2009 11:00 am

    Hi, Val…Maidstone? Anne says they sell them there…where abouts in Maidstone?…..Anne! T-shirts…?! You there…?!!As I have three days off next week, I only have to put up with him for two of \’em…then no more! I think he was given the choice…hand in notice or be fired! We can\’t work with people like that, as we just can\’t trust them any more…and that\’s what causes an atmosphere. It looks like another day of sunshine and clouds…oh, well…I have plenty to occupy me this weekend.Hi, Val…

  50. Natalia permalink
    July 25, 2009 11:22 am

    Good Morning Sandi,Just paying a flying visit. Things to do today that I didn\’t accomplish yesterday. I read your words and felt a smug sense of satisfaction for you. Two Birds with one stone eh? You are absolutely correct in thinking the guy is a horrible little control freak and more relevant is that glaring statement about his girlfriend. I hope she wises up soon.Good to hear your Mum is recovering and I hope your thyroid tablets take effect soon. Enjoy your time off. I now have to hunt down an easel for my grandson who has been trying very hard to be good since he heard about the new baby. But first of all……….. Tea!! I am not a competant human without it. :o) :o) xx

  51. Curiosity permalink
    July 25, 2009 11:37 am

    In The Mall, formerly known as the Chequers Centre. \’Blue Inc.\’ I think the shop is, it is one of those Officer Club type shops.

  52. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2009 12:56 pm

    Sis just phoned…she\’s off to visit Mum, and is picking me up in half-an-hour…! Have a lovely day everyone…catch you\’s later…XXX

  53. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2009 5:29 pm

    Poor Mum is getting fed up…she does not have the strength or energy to go for a wander, just yet, and is bored to tears! But she is next to the window, and can watch the birds and the trees, and people coming and going, which is quite pleasant…and everyone who visits has taken her a magazine. But when you are stuck in one place for a few days, you end up going stir-crazy, and wonder how much longer they are going to keep you there for!!!

  54. Curiosity permalink
    July 25, 2009 6:20 pm

    At least if she is bored she must be feeling better. Pleased to see you I bet. Our shopping centre had a produce market today and the first thing I came across was a bakery from Lincoln displaying its wares.

  55. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2009 6:38 pm

    Curtis\’s? Lincolnshire pork sausage rolls?

  56. Curiosity permalink
    July 25, 2009 6:48 pm

    Cannot remember at all, Lyme Farm maybe?

  57. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2009 7:29 pm

    Haven\’t a clue…never heard of \’em. Could be from anywhere. Curtis\’s are our local butcher/bakerery family with shops all over the county.

Leave a Reply

