Skip to content

Experimental Photographs

August 8, 2009

Not a lot to report, this week. In fact bugger-all to report! How boring is that…?!!!

Actually, many of you have been playing with your cameras, recently, and there have been some stunning photographs appearing in your albums and on your blogs. Now I feel as though I am the total beginner…time to play catch-up!!

Blonde Moment & Sunset 007

So, here are a handful of practice shots…the sunset was taken the other evening, and the close-ups I’ve just done. I’m still using the manual, because I haven’t a clue what I’m playing at….but it will sink in eventually…if I practice enough times!!

Blonde moment & stuff 001 Blonde moment & stuff 002

The plan was to go and buy another film for the SLR, so I could take some photos using the lenses and filters that I used to love playing with…but I forgot. Me all over, I guess!!

The Dark Crystal   Plastic Pendant   Fire & Ice

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:01 pm

    Problem with reading the manual is that there is too much to remember. I was confused today because the close ups were blurred, til I realised I did not have the macro set to on. Lovely colour sunset and what a difference in each of the glass drops. The plants look as if they could be printed as material for a summer dress.

  2. ROCKET permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:02 pm

    Here\’s a tip from personal experience, Sandi. Carrying the manual in your pocket doesn\’t help much unless you actually take it out and at least look at the pictures. Sleeping with it under your pillow doesn\’t cause the information to sink into your head either. Been there, done that, have the funny looking impression on my cheek each morning when I wake up. Now I\’m going to try having Sam read it to me after we have it translated into Labrador Retriever (he doesn\’t read English, French, Spanish or Chinese).

  3. Poppy permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:05 pm

    Greatb photos Sandi, and I haven\’t figured out all the things my camera does yet either!!! Looking forward to seeing more of your pics xxx

  4. ROCKET permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:05 pm

    Now that I look at it, CA is right; that wuld be a lovely pattern on a summer dress. Would you happen to know how I can figure what my size is? My measurements are 7 7/8, 38, 58, 78, 11 1/2 EE (That\’s hat to shoe; fractional not metric….I\’m \’merican, remember?)

  5. Curiosity permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:17 pm

    On the other hand Sandi, maybe it would make a good tent material pattern! ;o)

  6. Sandi permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:20 pm

    The pendant is actually plastic, and all I did was move round a bit for each shot….against the bright sky for The Dark Crystal…I pulled the curtain across and got a bit of the plant in for Plastic Pendant…then changed the angle for Fire & Ice so I caught the sunlight through it.The houseplant pic was taken looking up through the foliage towards the sunlight…but you guys know this already!When I first got the SLR, back in the 80s, I experimented with glass and reflections…will have to see if I can find them pics….

  7. Princess permalink
    August 8, 2009 6:29 pm

    Ooooh loving the phots Sandi! I shall lokk 4ward 2 seeing loads more! Love crystals, u need a "proper" onr tho, not a plastic one! Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  8. Sandi permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:07 pm

    I don\’t actually have a cut crystal pendent yet, but if I did you would see the difference straight away…a BIG difference!!Am off to pub soon, as it\’s Dean and Tina\’s 1st wedding anniversary Do…anything to get the punters in, eh…?!!

  9. Princess permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:17 pm

    Hope u & Bob have a lovely evening at the Pub! Deffo need phot evid of that!!! Luv PF XXX

  10. Sandi permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:27 pm

    He\’s out delivering PIZZA tonight…but hopes to get away by nine. I don\’t want to be there too long…I\’ll get bored! (That\’s why I\’m not going so early!) Hope you are having a lovely evening…and well done for staying the course…you\’ll definitely be enjoying a brilliant holiday next year at this rate!!!

  11. Princess permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:41 pm

    Aaaw thanks! Will be 3 weeks on Monday! The craving is lessening, which makes it a bit easier! Had a curry last night, haven\’t had one 4 ages, woz GORGEOUS!!!

  12. Sandi permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:45 pm

    They\’ve changed the recipes at Moe\’s so the biriyani is no longer the dish I loved…boo hoo!! Robert bought something else home last night…it was nice, but a trifle spicey for my poor tongue!!

  13. Bob permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:02 am

    Marvellous! You tell the entire universe that you don\’t like the stuff but you still ate half of it! Don\’t know why I bother sometimes… may as well just get something that I like and be done with it. At least that way I\’d have a proper meal before going to work at night after doing a full evening shift.

  14. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:14 am

    I did like it! I just said it were a bit more spicey t\’is all…I don\’t like the biriyani now…that\’s horrible…another case of keeping the name and changing the product (see previous blog)

  15. Bob permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:14 am

    Whatever.

  16. Bob permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:15 am

    I\’m out of here, g\’night all…

  17. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2009 10:50 am

    Mornin\’!!

  18. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2009 8:29 pm

    Evening…? Anyone…?The bloody trolls are in again and all shouting and cackling like a coven of old hags…!! They are getting louder and louder as they are all \’talk\’ at once!!! Shame they don\’t come with a volume control!!

  19. Princess permalink
    August 9, 2009 8:34 pm

    Yo Sandi! Good Evening! laughing at ur convo with Bob last night! Oooh I like Biriyani! I think it is pretty fair 2 say, if it\’s Indian- I will like it! Hehehehhe! Been BOILING here 2day Sandi,gorgeous! Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  20. Curiosity permalink
    August 9, 2009 8:52 pm

    That is so annoying. If you do say something to them it is likely they will be worse. Justin would hammer at their door and go all guns blazing, they wouldn\’t dare argue back, I am the opposite.. Maybe you should be scarier than them!

  21. ROCKET permalink
    August 9, 2009 9:54 pm

    There are several military types flying terrain avoidance missions in the area today. Sadly they fly so low and fast that by the time I hear them and grab the camera they have already popped over a ridge and disappeared on the other side. I do have some friends still on active duty in the Air Force and Navy. They\’d probably jump at the chance to do a real live surgical strike. Pack up all your breakables, send me your GPS co-ordinates and we\’ll see about laying a few smart bombs on those obviously Taliban Trolls.

  22. Curiosity permalink
    August 9, 2009 10:01 pm

    I\’d make them wing walk on one of your jetplanes! They would be too busy picking flies from their teeth to chat.

  23. ROCKET permalink
    August 9, 2009 10:11 pm

    MWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

  24. Natalia permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:07 pm

    Odd how the topic turned from experimental photo\’s to experimental tastes in cuisine Sandi. Still like Froggy it made me smile. Whilst we are on the subject of noise pollution, I\’m convinced the young lad now living above me has no idea that it\’s like listening to a Soap opera with his Antics. His Girlfriend is moving in soon and already the sparks are flying. Young Love eh?? Sorry I\’ve not been round much. As per usual life has me occupied elsewhere. xx

  25. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:57 pm

    Anne…how am I supposed to be scarier than those trolls? I couldn\’t manage that in a million years!! Maybe we should hold a party and invite all our biker friends round…have a stompin\’ good time…!!!PF…dunno what they\’ve done to their biriyani, but it now tastes like stew with rice!! We had Chinese this evening and watched a couple of episodes of NCIS. Been a bit warm, here. too…phew!! (Maybe that\’s just me drooling over Mark Harmon… ;-P )Mr Rocket…you are wicked….but I like you….mwahahahaha!!!!

  26. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:02 am

    Natalia…oh, the joys of living in a flat, eh? Hopefully your upstairs neighbour\’s love live will not be of a very long duration.

  27. ROCKET permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:09 am

    Okay, Sandi. You should find just the thing for any given situation with the Trolls here: http://www.fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/land/grenade.htm

  28. ROCKET permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:12 am

    Of course I\’m wicked……I\’m a techno redneck……and back in the early 70s I was a Missile Facilities Technicician on a Titan II ICBM comabt crew pulling alerts in missile control centers buried in central Arkansas………..me with a nuclear weapon……………how scary is that?

  29. Natalia permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:15 am

    Sandi he\’s been here well over a year now and when he first moved in the Lamp pendant would literally shake from a certain type of vibration. At this precise moment in time the volume has increased on his sound system to what I call a dull roar!!! Speaking of dull roar I wonder what old whiskers is up to tonight?? Right cheese and biscuits and bed. The mention of stew with rice made me hungry. Night Sandi. xx

  30. Natalia permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:17 am

    And now I\’ve just realised someone is lobbing grenades around in here…… all the more reason to exit FAST!!!————> :oD

  31. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:40 am

    Grenades? Rocket Man isn\’t called Rocket Man because he lobs mere grenades…!!! Nuclear missiles…yeah, definitely scary!!!!!!!

  32. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:42 am

    1.40am…definitely time for bed…! Yawn…TTFN…I\’ll leave you to your techno…er…stuff…!! Nighty night….ZZZ

  33. ROCKET permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:33 am

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  34. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:06 am

    I don\’t know….last year I was having to step over sleeping tigers, now it\’s rockets and gizmos and sleeping Rocket Men…!! (Tries stirring him with me foot) "Yo! Rocket dude!!"

  35. Curiosity permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:25 am

    Is that snoring or is he a fly on the wall buzzing around?yeah, I know they do not buzz when actually on the wall, but you know what I mean!

  36. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:33 am

    You seem to be obsessed with flies at the moment, Anne…why is that?

  37. Curiosity permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:40 am

    ????????????dunno, don\’t even like the things!

  38. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:58 am

    LOL!! I know, they\’re a nuisance aren\’t they!!

  39. Curiosity permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:06 am

    Kath not answering phone again and she should be at home……….better go up there and check up. Was planning on chatting here all day..oh well!

  40. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:16 am

    Hope she\’s OK…take care. I\’d better get some work done….and get back into costume-mode, or I won\’t be taking part in the Promenade!!!

  41. Curiosity permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:24 pm

    Nope..she is back in hospital, yet again absolutely nothing wrong with her. You wait til I get my hands round the throats of the ~*#*##* carer who keeps calling the ambulance out to her every other day, all Kath says to her is general chit chat like "I did not sleep to well, I feel a bit stuffy" just ordinary stuff we all say without expecting someone to go OTT about. She is stuffy because her heating comes on during the night every night and the house is like an oven! who wouldn\’t be stuffy and unable to sleep, especially if you slept every afternoon for 2 hours! aaaarrrrrgghhhhhhh!!!

  42. Sandi permalink
    August 10, 2009 8:38 pm

    So it\’s the carer that over-reacts to Kath\’s comments…not Kath playing up. The heating can be altered to a more reasonable time or temperature, then she won\’t end up being stuffy…poor dear!

Leave a Reply

