Skip to content

September In Bath

September 25, 2009

August 2006…I was browsing through Shop.com to see what new stores had been added, when I came across a magazine supplier. Out of curiosity (see, Anne, you’re not the only one!) I decided to have a look through the hundreds of magazines on offer when I came upon Jane Austen’s Regency World. Without thinking twice, I subscribed!

Shortly afterwards, my first magazine popped through the letterbox.File0141 Excitedly, I tore off the wrapper and sat down to read. I read it from cover-to-cover and decided I wanted more, so online I went and ordered a bunch of back-numbers from the Jane Austen Centre’s own website, and these arrived in a matter of days

It was from this first magazine that I discovered that there was an annual Jane Austen Festival, held every September in Bath. Really?! I’d always wanted to visit Bath, now I had a good reason to! It turned out that there was a Grand Regency Promenade on the first Saturday of the festival…and people travelled from far and wide to attend in costume…I was fairly bouncing off the walls at this discovery. I needed a costume!!

September 2007…Robert and I went to Trowbridge for the weekend, stopping with his mum, Vi. The three of us caught the train to Bath, and followed the promenaders as they wended their merry way around this truly beautiful city. We had a lovely time. The atmosphere was great, and I became even more determined to be there in costume, myself. Robert commented that I could also ‘knock him up a costume’!

We didn’t go last year, for some reason…not because I hadn’t made any costumes (I was actually in the early stages of reducing calico to a bagful of scraps in my quest for a Regency frock!) As for Robert’s costume, I spent hours online researching men’s Regency fashions, looked for any books that might help (there isn’t much available!) and generally scratched my head a lot!

September 2009…Bath here we come!! Actually, I only just managed to get my costume finished, but only got as far as almost completing the shirt for Robert. Sorry.

The previous blog covers the Grand Regency Promenade and our meeting up with three lovely, lovely ladies…Eileen, Natalia, and Rachel (who was also in costume.)

September 2010…Bath here we come!!! I am well and truly hooked! Nothing will keep me away! Robert WILL be in costume next year…and I am hoping that more friends will join us…hopefully in costume, too…!

This blog was going to be about costume, with handy hints and tips, etc., but that will now have to be…the next instalment…(Cue dramatic music…!)

2009 Promenade & Return Journey 025

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    September 25, 2009 7:53 pm

    But those of us left hanging in cyberspace waiting for news and photos of the parade were with you every bit as much and for every step of the way from many months ago to the actual day itself.

  2. ROCKET permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:14 pm

    Excellent dramatic ploy; always leave them wanting more. All of the photos I\’ve seen are great, even the one on Rachel\’s space with your tongue hanging out, and it\’s obvious you had a good time.

  3. Samuel J permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:14 pm

    Love the costumes….I am so jealous!! I wish I was this creative.

  4. Sandi permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:28 pm

    We had a brilliant time…I wonder if we could even get Vi into costume…?!The people in this photo seem to have dresses ranging from the 1790s (lady in the centre), about 1800 (young lady next to her), early Regency (young lady on the right), and late Regency (young lady on the left, whose spencer is beautiful!)Right, the next blog will (hopefully) show you how to achieve the look…

  5. Bran permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:42 am

    Perhaps a web space just for the regency stuff, rather than a blog and then people could find it all much easier Sandy if it was all together with a link to Spaces. Don\’t know if you can still do it with Windows but my "spaces" is a spin off from a free windows web site that I used to run — it might be worth a try!

  6. Bran permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:45 am

    Found it above — start a group in the section that says more!

  7. Sandi permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:03 pm

    Just got back from Greenford…gotta get ready for work very soon…!Back to depressing reality!!!

  8. Eileen permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:36 pm

    Eh? Has Rachel blogged about it? Hmm.. will have to pop over and see…It was a fantastic time and I look forward to seeing you all next year.xxx

  9. Sandi permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:41 pm

    Hello, Eileen…hope you had a good weekend…?Erm…has Rachel blogged about what…? I dunno…have only just got home…yep…popping over to Rachels…Oi…get yer pasties out, girl!! We\’re coming over…!!

  10. Eileen permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:44 pm

    Hello Sandi,Not a bad weekend ta.. was full of cold and felt pretty rough, so not much done.. you?I don\’t know if she\’s blogged.. but RM mentioned something about photo\’s?

  11. Sandi permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:57 pm

    Hope you feel better soon, Eileen…not like last time, eh?! Yes, I saw the photo of me with me tongue hanging out, but wasn\’t sure where I saw it…Rachel\’s photos or Facebook…but RM doesn\’t do Facebook, so it must be the Maid\’s photos…!

  12. Eileen permalink
    September 28, 2009 3:14 pm

    Thanks Sandi,Oh it\’s just a stinking cold so I\’ll be fine soon.. just annoying more than anything!Hope your first day back at (sorry for swearing) w….o….r….k goes ok xxx

  13. Sandi permalink
    September 28, 2009 3:47 pm

    So do I! I don\’t want to hear that everything has gone wrong, or been changed, though I will probably have to spend half-an-hour re-organising my stuff, which will probably be in total chaos!!! Roll-on 7.45pm…!!!! (I hate this job with a vengeance, now!! Talk about instant depression!!!!!!) 😦

  14. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:12 am

    Not handling the time shift up there very well but I\’ll put that down to being old and knackered (had to keep checking the date of the blog).What really gets me in that picture Sandi, is that the young chap is wearing a wedding ring. He don\’t look old enough to be out of school let alone married!!!!! You\’re going to tell me he\’s a doctor next. They were a lovely looking bunch though, weren\’t they?No I didn\’t blog as you had done such a wonderful job of it and those that would be interested can see yours anyway (and cos I was too lazy) The only thing I could have added was about the train journey up there with the woman that was snotty (not nasally) and the one back with the drunken yoofs that fell asleep. Oh! Done it now. I did post photos over there so yes, the tongue one is all over the internet. Moohahahahahahaaaaa!!!Get me pasties out!?!?!! Really Eileen, I\’m shocked at you!!!!! Oh those pasties. I thought I\’d got away with that! Natalia ate the pasty so you can blame her (it\’s not her fault but you can still blame her for not sharing) xx

  15. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2009 11:17 am

    Oh, no!!! That mad woman gets everywhere!!Oh…hehehe…Eileen get\’s the blame for my comment about your pasties…ooops!! Did I say that out loud…?!!!I think I am addicted to the Regency thing now…more than before. I am cutting out circles of fabric and net, etc., for having a go at the bonnet pattern. I\’m using Brim 3 at the moment, because that is the only one to fit on the card that I have cut the brim out of (for the first attempt). Now you have done your \’first attempt\’, you can make a better one and trim it with contrasting ribbons and bows, feathers and things…then it won\’t look so Holly Hobby or Little House On The Prairie. I have some pics from an old costume book, so will select one or two to add to my album (I\’m thinking of doing seperate albums now that they are growing!)

  16. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 12:18 pm

    Oh yes, sorry Eileen. Bad mad woman!!!I used to have a Holly Hobbie. I forgot all about them! Here I go on a journey down nostalgia lane………..

  17. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2009 12:34 pm

    I never liked Holly Hobbie/Hobby…or those Cabbage Patch things…!Am still trying to work out why the pics that I scanned from the book aren\’t there when Ithem to the album…strange…wish I was a bit more technically-minded, sometimes…!

  18. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 12:43 pm

    I went searching for Holly Hobbies (it is \’ie\’). I had Heather and Amy too. I couldn\’t remember what they were called so went searching. I had a cabbage patch kid too. It had no hair, wore yellow dungarees and was called Darryl. It got passed onto my two when they arrived which probably explains why they\’re the way they are.Can\’t work out your photos for you Sandi (can\’t work out your typing either for that matter). Eeeekkkk, quick run! 😉

  19. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:02 pm

    What\’s wrong with my typing?!!! Ah! Keyboard probs again!! Hrrumph!! Correction: …scanned from the book aren\’t there…when I try to add them…to the album!The Cabbage Patch thingy sounds like a horror film/book storyline type wotsit to me…!! Scarey!!!

  20. Eileen permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:12 pm

    Cabbage Patch Babies.. ugly things weren\’t they! Never had one.. no idea what holly hobbie was.. did have a fleeting memory of the horse type thing.. who you calling bad and mad?! Hrrumph!

  21. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:31 pm

    Sandi is the bad mad woman Eileen, not you. Holly Hobbie was a range of rag dolls that wore patchwork type dresses and bonnets. Some of those cabbage patch kids were awful but mine was really cute. My mother brought three home at the time and told me to choose one so I went for the cute one naturally.

  22. Eileen permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:40 pm

    Ah! I think I made one when I was at infant school… I managed to stitch it to my skirt and had to unpick the damned thing and start again!A cute cabbage patch doll?? nah I don\’t believe you! They were all ugly! (feeling slightly guilty now as I used to say Ben was my cabbage patch babie) oops!!!

  23. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2009 2:54 pm

    While looking for millinery supplies…wire, etc….I found this website that also does historical dress patterns…CORSETS and corset supplies…and the millinery wire is suitable for fairy wings, among other things: http://www.venacavadesign.co.ukDon\’t know if you\’ve already browsed this one or not, but it\’s worth a wee look…

  24. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:01 pm

    That poor boy! Perhaps he looked like one of the cute ones.This is the one I always take a peek at http://www.corsetmaking.co.uk/store and one of these days I\’m going to order some front fastenings thingys and make one. I have heard of venacava, can\’t think why they\’re not in my favs list though. Must go and take another look. Thanks Sandi.

  25. Cornish permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:04 pm

    I\’ve died and gone to corset heaven (that\’s not a kinky comment, is it? Ho hum!)

  26. Eileen permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:11 pm

    Oh! There are some really nice ones there!

  27. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:49 pm

    Glad to be of service.There is a pattern for a man\’s frock coat of 1790s – 1810s…have no idea if it\’s any good or not, as there are no photos, but if I get my tax rebate, I will get it anyway…at least then I will have somethig to work on! The breeches pattern can be adapted to become pantaloons or trowsers, too.

  28. Bob permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:18 am

    Don\’t know about the lad being a doctor – I thought they looked a nice group so asked if they\’d mind me taking a picture of them. As I was in civvies and loaded up with bags they probably thought I was just another tourist (which in a way I was) with no idea what was going on. Little do they know…

  29. Deb's permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:28 am

    Morning Sandi it does look like you all had a great time… I like that picture too hugsdebsxXx

  30. Sandi permalink
    September 30, 2009 10:56 am

    Thanks, Debs…we had a great time…I\’m still in Promenade mode, and am still itching to make more costume or bonnets…!!Doctor?! How about pimp? Seriously, they are probably a family group…the lady in the middle and the young girl next to her really do look as though they have stepped out of a portrait of the time, as they just have \’that look\’ about them.

  31. Cornish permalink
    September 30, 2009 2:19 pm

    I also keep wondering if he\’s going to pull a rabbit out of his hat. He does have the magic wand!

  32. Sandi permalink
    September 30, 2009 3:04 pm

    So, what \’magic tricks\’ has he been up to to entertain the ladies, I wonder…?!!

  33. Princess permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:06 pm

    Yo Sandi! Aaaw Beautiful Pic. It really does take u 2 that time…Froggie sighs…Wudna it be great just 2b transported back 2 that time, just 4 a day 2c wot it woz really like! Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  34. Sandi permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:52 pm

    It would indeed, PF…you should have been in the Royal Crescent…what a sight to behold!! Amazing!! Hopefully, more videos will be appearing on YouTube in the coming weeks, then there are the Jane Austen Centre photos to look forward to…I\’m getting impatient!!!

Leave a Reply

