Skip to content

I Was There!

October 1, 2009
Yes, I was there…and so was Rachel…
But not on this vid, as the guy was standing next to us!
 
40 Comments leave one →
  1. Eileen permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:41 am

    Yes whilst we were standing outside wondering what had happened to you.. (didn\’t know if they\’d ever let you out again!);-p

  2. Sandi permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:46 am

    I know! I didn\’t realise that we had to stay put until everyone was inside, but the record attempt states \’in one place\’, so we were stuck there…and it was getting a bit warm. (Imagine what it must have been like during a ball…with all those chandeliers blazing away! Phew!!

  3. Eileen permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:54 am

    All the doors would have been opened or it would have been rather whiffy!

  4. Sandi permalink
    October 1, 2009 12:13 pm

    Eeew! No deodorant…and an over use of perfumes and pomades…!! I\’m so glad we live in an age where we can \’re-create\’ another time or era, and indulge our fantasies…I was going to say without getting funny looks, but thought better of it…!! 😉

  5. Eileen permalink
    October 1, 2009 12:16 pm

    Oh er!!

  6. Natalia permalink
    October 1, 2009 3:25 pm

    Ah Yes, standing outside and nose in Roberts bag pilfering the sandwiches. I may be small but I am a hungry horse. ;o)

  7. Eileen permalink
    October 1, 2009 4:04 pm

    Standing outside.. nose in Roberts bag.. getting chatted up by that rather nice man.. I remember Natalia!He was rather smitten with you and I\’m sure if he wasn\’t already married he\’d have whisked you off to London with him!Bless, I swear he nearly cried when he told us about his poor son :o(xxx

  8. Natalia permalink
    October 1, 2009 4:11 pm

    Yes Eileen, I remember, It just doesn\’t seem right that a Parent has to the ultimate Knife wound, that\’s why I gave him a hug. I think he was rather taken with you also Eileen.

  9. Eileen permalink
    October 1, 2009 4:15 pm

    I think he was just grateful that we kept him company

  10. Cornish permalink
    October 1, 2009 6:17 pm

    Wish I\’d been there to see all of that! The bit outside I mean. But we had the pretty dancers and the four piece band to entertain us inside. And the little boy having a sulk in the corner, oooooh and the money on the floor, mustn\’t forget about that! Stood there ages wondering if anybody would pick it up didn\’t we?

  11. Sandi permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:26 pm

    You guys were chatting Robert up? You were planning to run off with him…?!! Oh, my word…it\’s all coming out now…! And snogging…!! I\’m going to have words with him when he gets home…! ;-IAh, the Little Boy Blue…Cry Baby Bunting…looking back over the pictures of past promenades, there he is, always looking sulky. And when he cried, I think he wanted the whole of Bath to know!! It can\’t be much fun for the poor kid if he\’s forced into it each year, especially if the rest of the family are involved…!

  12. Mike permalink
    October 1, 2009 9:27 pm

    Nice video…..though think the soundman needs shooting (metaphorically!) xxx

  13. Sandi permalink
    October 1, 2009 10:08 pm

    No soundman, Mike…just the one guy. I remember commenting to Rachel about the size of his…er…equipment! 😉

  14. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 9:04 am

    Not Robert! It was some Greek (?) Architect that had come down with his wife.

  15. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 10:01 am

    Ooh, er…and he gave you his life story and chatted you up…?! Sounds about right…hot-blooded Mediterranean types. Robert is one for chatting up the ladies, too…he can get very cheeky, you know…!! (Will have to take some lessons from Frankie, methinks!! What are the best frying pans for head-bone bashing, I wonder…?!)

  16. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 10:15 am

    A nice big le cruest!! But only if you\’ve been weight training in advance so you can actually swing the thing!I was cooking some thing with mine at Brians and he thought I was being weak until he actually went to wash it up and realised exactly how heavy it was!

  17. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 10:48 am

    Mum bought some cast iron skillets…they were too heavy to use, so they ended up leaving the kitchen in a round-about kind of way (pushed to the back of the cupboad, then later banished to the shed…etc.)

  18. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 10:53 am

    They are excellent for cooking with, just a shame they\’re so bloomin heavy! I also have the pans to go wth them (and casserole dishes) but never use them for pasta or spuds because I need two hands to pick them up if they\’re full!

  19. Cornish permalink
    October 2, 2009 11:31 am

    Rolling pins are good and you can always put one in an umbrella cover to disguise it and make it more mobile. Get one of those good marble ones though!I have no idea what you\’re talking about here. Violence, what violence? Were talking about cooking gov!

  20. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 11:53 am

    Damned good idea Rachel! I\’ll remember that<< note to self buy a bigger handbag so I can fit brolly and rolling pin in along with the rest of the cr*p I shove in there >>

  21. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:13 pm

    LMAO!! No, no violence here…look, I\’m making a bonnet…nothing violent about that (apart from the 6\’ hatpin!!!)

  22. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:27 pm

    Ouch! Is that legal to carry around? Lol..

  23. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:41 pm

    OK, so 6\’ is a bit of an exaggeration, but a lot of damage has been done with hatpins in the past!!Phew! This bonnet brim is a bit fiddly…have used extra heavy white sew-in interfacing, of which I have cut two and stitcd them together for extra rigidity. Not being able to get hold of millinery wire in Lincoln, I looked around for alternatives…floristry wire is OK, but it only comes in short ready-cut lengths. Then I saw some green-coated garden wire in Wilkinsons…nice and cheap…and it has worked well for edging the brim. Now I am sewing on white bias binding to cover the wired edges. The brim looks bigger, made up, than it does as a paper pattern, for some reason…!

  24. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:55 pm

    Of course, you know my keyboard is playing games again, as that is meant to be \’stitched\’, and not \’stitcd\’!!

  25. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:42 pm

    I\’m using green garden wire to make my wings .. it was the best thing I could find for the job!

  26. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:58 pm

    Hope it\’s not proving too soft and bendy…? I\’m thinking of sending for some millinery wire, in both guages, so that I can compare them all. The Victorian bonnet that I began to make, some years ago, is made from a wire coathanger (I think), but as I have bound it all with cotton tape, I have no idea what I used. The cotton tape acts as a base for the net and fabrics to be stitched to. Time to take some photos, I think!

  27. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:06 pm

    Oh no, I bought a really heavy duty wire.. and once I\’ve put the veins in it will be sturdy enough (I hope).

  28. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:19 pm

    Oh, right…silly me…the stuff I bought is just right for edging the brims, but wouldn\’t stand up to being made into wings…unless they were just baby-sized! Doh! I look forward to seeing your finished costume…and Rachel\’s…maybe next year I will make myself one and join you all in that, also.

  29. Eileen permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:51 pm

    Oh yes that would be great! I really must do some more on mine.. Can\’t see it happening this weekend though.. I\’m cooking beef wellington for a dinner party so I\’m going to be busy in the kitchen!

  30. Curiosity permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:49 pm

    What a difference it makes that there are no modern dressed bystanders in the video, surreal!Here is me thinking I shall catch up on the soaps and have spent ages catching up on the goss here.

  31. Sandi permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:40 pm

    Eileen, I think you should re-name your space…Back in the kitchen, again!Anne, it did look good, as I commented to Rachel how it looked as though we\’d been transported back in time, or something like that, as everyone really looked he part. It was fab…and I\’m still hyped up, which is why I\’m making a Regency Bonnet at the moment!

  32. Sandi permalink
    October 3, 2009 12:52 am

    That\’s the brim sewn together, wired, and edges bound with bias tape…now I have got to pluck up the courage to actually cut out the brim fabric and get down to maikng the bonnet. But that can wait until tomorrow, now…I\’m off to bed! I\’ve had enough of treating my hands like pincushions…ouch…!!!!

  33. Sandi permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:31 am

    PUBLIC APOLOGY: I do apologise for boring you all shitless with this Regency stuff, but the truth is…I\’m still well and truly hyped up from the whole Bath/promenade experience…SO TOUGH TITTIES!!!!:-P

  34. Curiosity permalink
    October 3, 2009 12:44 pm

    You have every right to still be excited about your outing, it took long enough to prepare for so it is only fair to prolong it as well.I just joined your FR costuming cos emails kept bugging me to and was no sooner on it than I got chatted up no end by a bloke from South Wales of all places! Soz Sandi but I think I shall avoid the chat on that site, some of the rooms are not my cup of tea as they are a bit smutty.

  35. Mike permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:08 pm

    Apology accepted!!!!

  36. Sandi permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:09 pm

    Chat? I\’ve never touched the chat side of FR. The costume thing has a wotsit for chat or forums or whatever you like to call it, but I ignore it…there are only the two of us as members of my costume thing at the mo…the other girl is into belly-dance and has made some of her own costumes. I did join a couple of other groups, but think that I\’ll \’un-join\’ as I don\’t bother with them.

  37. Mike permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:11 pm

    Only kidding! 🙂 Its nice to someone with a passion for something and just because i can\’t summon up the same doesn\’t mean i\’m not going to drop in and read (even if i don\’t leave a comment) Have a great weekend Sandi xxx

  38. Mike permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:13 pm

    Oops…that should read "to see someone"

  39. Sandi permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:40 pm

    Thanks Mike…you too. …Er…when was the last time you blogged about something…?!! Have I missed something, there? (I always miss the good stuff, you know….go away…come back…and everyone has been partying…! It\’s a bit like that game Peep Behind The Curtain!!)I often go round reading other people\’s blogs, and all the comments, and have every intention of commenting myself…then forget. As RM says…it\’s because of my CRS…!!

  40. Sandi permalink
    October 3, 2009 2:56 pm

    Anne, have checked out my Costume Lovers group…and there is that guy you mentioned. Is he \’chatting you up\’ by sending private messages to your inbox? If he is, just click on Block this person…simples. I had a look at his list of groups…eeeewww! He seems to have joined almost everything going…or is aiming to….including Cross Stitch, Paranormal…and Group Sex, and Bored Housewives…!!! Hmmm…is he just a lonely widower, or is he being creepy? Yes, if you don\’t want any messages from him, just block him!

Leave a Reply

