Skip to content

ODDS & SODS

October 29, 2009

As I haven’t written a blog for a couple of weeks I thought that it was about time that I did so…so here I am. Basically, this is just a catch-up blog…you know, bits and bobs, osses and dosses…in other words Odds and Sods.

Nothing of real interest has happened to write about, so I will just do my usual and waffle for a bit…and add a few pics for you to gaze at if you get bored with me waffling. (Oh, dear, I fear Miss Bates may have influenced me in some way…”Three very dull things, indeed. That will just do for me, you know. I shall be sure to say three dull things as soon as ever I open my mouth, shan’t I?”)

Anyway, what have I got to waffle about…? Oh, yes…costume! I’m still so-o-o-o engrossed in this subject, especially since I have found patterns for different garments and bonnets, available from the Jane Austen Centre in Bath (www.janeausten.co.uk), and Vena Cava (www.venacavadesign.co.uk ). At the moment, I am still working on the ‘Julia’ bonnet from Timely Tresses, available from the Jane Austen Centre’s online gift shop. (Here is Timely Tresses own website www.timelytresses.com for lots of photos of their bonnets.)'Julia' Bonnet 002 I have still got to add the edging, lining and decoration…I’m thinking that green and black ribbons will look right, one thin ribbon laid over a wide ribbon, but will have to play with them before I decide which will look best.

Still on the subject of bonnets, I found two Victorian bonnets that I began, years ago, and now want to finish. The black spoon bonnet has had the lace bavolet removed, and the brake cable that I used to ‘stiffen’ the brim, and I am now wiring the brim properly, and hope to actually get it finished! (I will post a pic or two when it’s done.)

~~~~~~~~~~

The other day, Robert handed me the memory card from my old phone, and asked me to check if there was anything on it…I’d forgotten about these photos that I’d taken…

Suff & More Stuff 006   Suff & More Stuff 007  

I particularly like the one, taken about this time last year, of the Brayford, and the Cathedral has come out OK, too.  And here’s one I took the other day…

Autumn Chicken 005 

Yesterday, I did something that I haven’t done for a long time…a couple of years at least!…I spent money on a couple of CDs! I know, last of the big spenders, or what!! Last time I went in, I was looking for Metallica’s S&M, but there weren’t any…this time there was, so I grabbed one! I know that it’s a bit of an extravagance at £16, but so what!! Just then, The Who’s Baba O’Riley began to play, so I headed for the Rock & Pop section and picked up The Who’s Then and Now CD that also has Won’t Get Fooled Again, and Who Are You on it. (For the uninitiated, they are the theme songs for the CSI programmes.)

On Sunday, the new mini series of Emma came to an end. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and am looking forward to it coming out on DVD. To be honest, I though it far more superior and enjoyable than the versions with Gwyneth Paltrow, and Kate Bekinsale. Excellent!

Anyway, I shall bore you no longer, as I can think of no more trivia to waffle about. Besides, the bonnets need my attention…!

100 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:30 am

    Oh, and bicycle brake cable was crap for the brim, but I have no idea how it would work for fairy wings, Eileen.Anne…you have forgotten that fairies are usually depicted with wings like butterflies and dragonflies, etc., all shimmery and pretty…? Shame on you, and you with two small granddaughters, too! (Or don\’t they do fairies…?)

  2. Eileen permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:38 am

    Yeah… angels have feathers.. faery\’s are normally butterfly type wings, ( also it needs to be light enough not to be uncomfortable for wearing ).

  3. Bran permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:21 am

    Should think that Bicycle cable will be too floppy for the wings, unless you can find a way of stiffening it —- you could try chatting up a friendly electrician and using some copper wire from a cable to to make the wings —stiff but easily shaped for use — the trick is to make the shape then get some coloured tights/stockings and stretch over it then paint or decorate them —– think I have been around all the little faery girls to much just recently to be able to say how some of them make their wings!

  4. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:36 am

    Too floppy is not good!! It\’s gotta be stiff…so you can work with it. Erm…do you think I should re-phrase that…? *walks away looking angelic*

  5. Eileen permalink
    October 30, 2009 12:06 pm

    LOL Sandi!! I can picture your grin now!That\’s a good idea Bran – I think I have a roll of cable in my back room somewhere ( back from when I wired my cooker in properly ).This is no good.. my head is banging, my eyes are killing me and this VAT is becoming a right pain :o(Roll on 5pm when I am out of here and getting gladragged up for my night of watching Brian squirm ( he he he.. I wonder how he\’s going to cope with all those corseted up women ).

  6. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:18 pm

    Have you not prepared him for at is to come? Burlesque is the \’art of the strip-tease\’, so lots of skimy costumes or even tittie-tassels if they go that far. In a way, it is quaint, which is probably why it is accepted as an art form nowadays, instead of being the low entertainment it originally was (even though the most popular performers could earn mega-bucks in their day!)

  7. Eileen permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:52 pm

    Oh he\’s prepared alright… but it will be fun seeing how he reacts with a new girlfriend sat next to him… especially as he\’s never seen me in an evening dress. And yes it will be lots of tittie tassles etc along with lots of comedy.

  8. Curiosity permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:57 pm

    Pity the old wire coathangers are not so easy come by these days. They were ingenious for so many uses…..Blue Peter dusters, Blue Peter mobile danglers, Blue Peter xmas decorations, car aerials, spare car key in case of emergency, faery wing support etc etc.

  9. Curiosity permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:57 pm

    I think dry cleaners still use them.

  10. Eileen permalink
    October 30, 2009 2:13 pm

    Hmmmm… now that\’s a thought Anne! I may have to pop into my local dry cleaners :o)

  11. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 2:15 pm

    Bonnet frames…the other bonnet that I started to make years ago is more than likely made from a wire coathanger, too.Hmmm…having probs with my mouse, all of a sudden…cursor keeps vanishing and flashing about. Time for a good clean, methinks!!

  12. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 7:47 pm

    The tree in the bottom photo has very quickly lost all it\’s beautifully coloured leaves within a couple of days, and is now quite bare. Shame! But the carpet of leaves on the ground is very pretty.I took the film in to be developed, and bought three more while I was at it…can\’t even remember what I\’ve taken photos of this year, to be honest….maybe I will go out with the SLR if it\’s nice over the weekend…

  13. Maria permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:35 pm

    Hey Metallica and The Who…good choices…am always buying music..it\’s my weakness, though must admit I use amazon, and scour the second hand shops for a lot of the older stuff…Love the pics..The Cathedral looks a bit like Peterborough Cathedral, though I guess they all look similar lol…On the subject of wings..I think I\’m gonna cheat and buy some…sounds like a complicated business to me….Would love to go see a Burlesque show though…( and don\’t worry about re-phrasing your comments Sandi…they do at least raise a smile) xxx

  14. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:26 pm

    That was the idea, Maria…mock innocence is easier to act than write, I guess, though *walks away looking angelic* was a clue… ;-)Have been an AC/DC fan since the 70s, a Moody Blues and Who fan since the early 70s, and a Metallica fan since the 90s when I watched their S&M gig on TV…have since heard other stuff of theirs which I also like. As for listening to music in general…not very often. I like to be alone with my thoughts, to enjoy peace and quiet, and tranquility…but sometimes, you just need something to drown out the neighbour\’s noise!!!

  15. ROCKET permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:41 pm

    Our daughter is constantly amazed when she hijacks MP3s from my laptop. I listen to everything from Flatt & Scruggs to Green Day. In fact I usually have my MP3 player going while I\’m online. When the girls see the ear buds they say "Daddy\’s gone away again". Music soothes the savage beast and also keeps me from spouting obscenities at the talking heads on the news channels.

  16. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2009 10:58 pm

    Constant noise irrites the heck out of me, yet some people need it. I knew someone who would arrive home and turn on the TV and the radio, so there was noise…maybe she felt alone, and needed to hear human voices? Me, I just wish that traffic would go away!!!

  17. Curiosity permalink
    October 30, 2009 11:14 pm

    Peace and quiet any day for me.

  18. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 12:17 am

    My creativity does not flow when I\’m being irritated by noises…especially when they emanate from downstairs!I love this time of night because there is a lot less traffic about! But I am tired, so it matters not!

  19. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 10:35 am

    Well, the weatherman said that today would be beautiful, but it\’s wet and misty. Maybe we\’ll have a little twinkling of sun…before it sets, d\’ya think…?

  20. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 12:19 pm

    Have just been browsing the Timely Tresses website, looking at the pictures of the ready-made bonnets…oh, boy! I wouldn\’t dare display some of them…let alone charge that much!!!

  21. Curiosity permalink
    October 31, 2009 1:32 pm

    You need to start a little cottage industry of your own. I am sure if you strike while the iron is hot from the excitement of the Regency Parade you will attract some interest from people who, like you the time before, wish they had the chance to wear an outfit.A few simple elastic/velcro adjustable frocks/bonnets etc that you could sell or offer to the fancy dress shops on commission could be a nice little earner!You could recruit stay/stuck at home workers to assemble your outfits from your own patterns…..I best shut up now cos once I get an idea into my head my mind goes off on all sorts of possibilities.

  22. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 1:51 pm

    Have just discovered another website called Dressing History ( http://www.dressing-history.co.uk ) that has straw bonnets (un-adorned) from £22, a pattern for a day dress (c1800) for £5 (bargain!!) and things like silk stockings, trimmings and stuff. It looks like a new site, and she will be expanding her merchandise in time, so well worth keeping an eye on, methinks.Having looked at Timely Tresses bonnet forms, there is one that is supposed to be for a style that became popular around 1811, but as with a lot of their designs, the brim seems to start too high up, rather than curving down to the jaw-line…so I am going to have a go at making one of those (c1811-1814) next.Hmmm…I think, Anne, that I would prefer to make the things and sell them myself, rather than farm them out. You know what I\’m like…in the words of our needlework teacher…!!!

  23. Cornish permalink
    October 31, 2009 4:27 pm

    The bonnet is looking lovely Sandi, I really like the colour. Craft shops do different strengths of wire. Bought some copper myself the other day for a project and it comes in other colours too.Tis very grey down here and it\’s seeping through the walls into the house. I used to love these dark evenings but not any more. I want some sun. Enjoy your weekend. xx

  24. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 6:00 pm

    Thanks Rachel…it\’s becoming more rigid, as I have wired the brim, and interlined with a layer of net and calico! Now I must attempt the lining then the band…if I can decipher the instructions! I have a wide green satin ribbon which will have a narrow black ribbon laid over it for trimming, and some soft fluffy feather trims.It\’s also been very grey and damp, here,…and as I predicted, the sun shone for a short while before setting! Shame it\’s not a proper full moon tonight, innit!

  25. Princess permalink
    October 31, 2009 8:10 pm

    Yo Sandi, lovely phots! Happy halloween! Luv PF XXX

  26. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 8:58 pm

    HappyHallowe\’en, PF…and everyone else. I\’m watching the CSIs on Five…and it\’s time to put the kettle …cheers!!

  27. Sandi permalink
    October 31, 2009 10:13 pm

    OK…I\’m getting really peeved!! I cannot work out which way round to put the lining in the bonnet, or what on earth the instructions mean by fold it this way and stitch, then fold this \’ere and there and stitch to that…or whatever!! It might as well be in Mandarin for all the sense it makes!!! Grrrr!!!!!

  28. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2009 3:23 pm

    D\’ya know what…I\’m still peeved!!! That ruddy lining is doing my poor bonce in!!! It\’s got to be me, hasn\’t it! I don\’t seem to understand these stupid instructions, and I\’m getting very, very cross about it!! I might just bind the raw edges with bias, then get on with the business of decorating it…!! Or just put it aside until I can read it…and understand. Grrrr!

  29. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:27 pm

    Look at me, little Jumping Joan,Nobody\’s with me…I\’m all alone…!

  30. Curiosity permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:45 pm

    I am with you but not as well if you see what I mean cos I have been tempted over to fb and cannot get of the blinkin\’ games cos a particular fella who lives with you keeps beating me at every game I try and I have to play play play again until I snatch the title back gotta go now the urge is too strong watch out word drop here I come………

  31. Mike permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:47 pm

    Are you rabbiting to yourself again Sandi? :-)Just in from work and sorting lunch out….kinda overdid the alcohol last nightand only now do i feel like something to eat! Must have been hungry last nightbecause this morning my mouth felt like i\’d chewed on a brillo pad! 🙂 xxx

  32. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:53 pm

    Anne…Blasted Word Drop! It keeps giving me three and four letter words…five if I\’m lucky! I go cross-eyed looking for \’em!! I see no-one has beaten my Bricks Breaking score this week…not even myself!!Mike…are you sure you didn\’t try eating a Brillo pad last night…?! FYI…I\’m always rabbiting to myself!! (There\’s never anyone around here, anymore…it\’s so quiet that the echo is messing with my head!!)

  33. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2009 7:23 pm

    …my head…my head…my head…

  34. Curiosity permalink
    November 1, 2009 8:02 pm

    Antiques Roadshow on now, just shown Lincoln Cathedral. BBC1

  35. Mike permalink
    November 1, 2009 8:29 pm

    Sandi…those were my exact words when gazing glassy eyed into the bathroom cabinet two minutes after getting up this morning! 😉

  36. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:50 pm

    Watched Antiques Roadshow, Anne…and Mike…poor you…hope your head feels better now…?

  37. Sandi permalink
    November 2, 2009 10:30 am

    What a beautiful, sunny morning! I do hope we have more of this weather than the rain that is \’predicted\’…!!I wonder when my Jane Austen magazine is going to arrive…?!! I am looking forward to seeing the Festival photos…!!! Am getting very impatient!!!! (If you haven\’t already noticed, patience is NOT one of my strong points…!)

  38. Eileen permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:14 pm

    Cold but sunny-ish here too Sandi, sorry I\’m not really about during the weekends, but I do try and catch up when I\’m home.. can\’t really sit on the pc when I\’m at Brians.

  39. Sandi permalink
    November 2, 2009 3:51 pm

    Glad you had a good evening at the burlesque show…even if the weekends these days are speeded up somewhat!! Too, too quick! Too much week…not enough weekend…as someone else said…!!!

  40. Eileen permalink
    November 2, 2009 4:17 pm

    I suppose if the weeks were shorter and the weekends were longer we wouldn\’t look forward to them…

  41. Sandi permalink
    November 2, 2009 8:14 pm

    I would!! There would be more to look forward to, wouldn\’t there…that is why I normally book my holidays as Mondays and Fridays, so I can have long weekends. Whole weeks off is nice if you work full-time and have plenty of days, but working part time, I only have so many days to play with, so have to make the most of them. (Big sigh…!)

  42. Sandi permalink
    November 3, 2009 11:44 am

    At last! My Jane Austen magazine has arrived! Quickly, excitedly, I flicked through it looking for the Jane Austen Festival photos and write-up…oh. Is that all…?! Practically the same write-up as that posted in News on http://www.janeausten.co.uk and four whole photos…two of which are part of that article. Disappointed? You bet I am!!

  43. Eileen permalink
    November 3, 2009 12:35 pm

    Gutted! You\’ve been looking forward to this so much!

  44. Sandi permalink
    November 3, 2009 12:50 pm

    You bet I had…they used to do at least four pages of photos, not only of the promenade, but also of the other events during the nine days, and now to only get four pics, two of which are already on the website…I feel deeply disappointed!! I bet I\’m not the only one, either! Have just looked in the contents and it\’s under…Jane Austen Festival – Full Round-Up…!! Full round-up…?!! Who are they kidding?!!

  45. Curiosity permalink
    November 3, 2009 1:22 pm

    You would have thought that as it was such an event with the record to boot that they would have made the write up worthy of the hype beforehand.On a good note though……at least there are no close ups of you in your wonderful frock…..cos we know you….and you would only be nit picking at this and that about it….inspite of our reassurances that it was a really really good outfit.

  46. Sandi permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:50 pm

    Exactly…the article in the magazine is just an edited version of that on the website, so there must be many, many people who were expecting their events to be covered, like the ball at the Assembly rooms, the guided tours, the theatre productions and lectures, to name just a few. It\’s like they are saying that this year\’s event is over, time to look forward to forthcoming attractions…! They haven\’t even added the Review to the website, yet, either!! I\’m very cross now!! (Stamps foot crossly!!)

  47. Curiosity permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:06 pm

    I feel a \’Freelance Sandi….Reporter for the dissappointed\’ in the offing!

  48. Eileen permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:18 pm

    Oh! I think you should email them your dissapointment – they will only know if they\’re told

  49. Deb's permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:40 pm

    you\’ve got me thinking here… you know I can\’t remember the last time i bought myself a cd, this is the kinda poser that\’ll wake me at 3 in the morning as the title and year of the last one suddenly pops into my heed…. and I\’ll be back to share the news ;))xXx

  50. Sandi permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:40 pm

    I think I will do just that…letters@lansdownmedia.co.uk is where to e-mail for publication. Will also mention to them the fact that they reviewed a book called Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, and looking at the photo, taken inside the Assembly Rooms…those zombies were actually among us…!!!! Scarey!!

  51. Sandi permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:48 pm

    Debs…the last time I bought a CD was at least a couple of years ago, and was Aerosmith\’s Pump…and before that…dunno, can\’t remember.

  52. Deb's permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:54 pm

    ….still racking my brains…. can you hear the clunking?

  53. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:36 am

    LOL! Actually, I have bought a couple of CDs from the Native American chappies that play in the town centre every winter…except last year for some reason….that was a couple of years ago, too. I loved to stand and listen to them…it was magical as the dusk deepened, and the breeze stirred the remaining leaves…(goes off into a dreamworld…)

  54. Samuel J permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:47 am

    I love looking at the costumes and bonnets you have posted. I wish I was as creative. Love the period dress…It is disappointing when the reporting does not do the event justice. I say, go for the "reporter" in you and tell them what they missed out on…Hmmmm. Last CD….maybe "Black Eyed Peas"….or was it and "ACDC"????? Being around 2 adult sons has pretty much fried my musical brains…I hear alot of "Insane Clown Posse" and "The Lonely Island"…don\’t ask!!

  55. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:02 pm

    I nearly bought an AC/DC CD, too, but Robert had already bought For Those About To Rock for me, in September. I would love to find Let There Be Rock with Crabsody in Blue on instead of Problem Child, as that is the version I have in vinyl.I just love making costumy things, and at the moment I am trying to work out how to do the lining and band for the green and black bonnet, as well as designing another bonnet from scratch (without using a pattern)…steep learning curve again…!

  56. Eileen permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:41 pm

    Eh? I\’m getting lost.. how did we get onto CD\’s ( the last one I got was the new Muse album )

  57. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 1:06 pm

    We got into CDs, because Debs had only just read my blog, where I mentioned buying two new ones…something I haven\’t done for at least a couple of years. The Sharon commented about CDs and my costumy stuff…and as I am trying to design and make a new bonnet from scratch, I must find the pile of card in the loft so that I can work out the brim shape…ho hum…! It\’s all good fun, innit!

  58. Eileen permalink
    November 4, 2009 1:44 pm

    AH!!! That reminds me.. I forgot to watch Emma again… must do that tomorrow

  59. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 1:51 pm

    I really will want this version of Emma when it comes out on DVD…as I\’ve said before, it\’s far superior to either Kate Beckinsale or Gwyneth Paltrow\’s versions.

  60. Eileen permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:08 pm

    I agree whole heartedly!

  61. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:14 pm

    Jonny Lee Miller is a very tasty Mr Knightly, and Tamsin Grieg is brilliant as Miss Bates.

  62. Eileen permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:24 pm

    Mmmm… he is rather tasty isn\’t he?

  63. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:32 pm

    Oh, yes…and Michael Gambon is brilliant as Mr Woodhouse, don\’t you think?

  64. Eileen permalink
    November 4, 2009 3:15 pm

    Yes he is isn\’t he?

  65. Curiosity permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:26 pm

    Just looked at your Bonnet album. They are great for protection of the skin and hair against the sun etc. No wonder they will never make a comeback because of the money we waste on creams, hair products etc wouldn\’t have to be spent, so the big company\’s would be out of pocket big time.

  66. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 8:20 pm

    When I used to make and sell sunbonnets, I started off making a load of children\’s sizes, only to find that it was the adults who wanted them…for wearing in the garden, etc. I\’m sure if I did a summer craft thing, that I would end up getting plenty of orders again. Some of my bonnets went to America and Australia, you know…as well as on TV…!!

  67. Curiosity permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:20 pm

    Well they are a perfect design for keeping the sun out of eyes, hair from being windswept, neck protection from the uv ray. Have you ever seen the state of sunburn on people standing in the middle of an open field getting burned red while they try to sell from a bootfair stall, these bonnets are perfect for them! I think you should start a trend.

  68. ROCKET permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:24 pm

    They are also perfect for keeping people from saying "That is one ugly woman!" when Simon and I dress in drag for the Promenade!

  69. Curiosity permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:24 pm

    ewww! just noticed blood on the keyboard, my finger appears to be cut right in the knuckle fold of my right hand middle finger! How\’d that happen!? Ooops! better go check the beef sandwiches I just made for his pack lunch tomorrow, any red is not going to be ketchup! Ouch, it stings now……….gonna go get a plaster then bed rest. night night.

  70. Curiosity permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:26 pm

    Thanks for that vision RM, I am just off to bed and I just know I am going to have some strange dreams now!

  71. ROCKET permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:28 pm

    Don\’t mention it. No ,I\’m serious…..don\’t mention it….to anyone!

  72. Curiosity permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:38 pm

    Don\’t mention what? The forthcoming Ladymen of Spaces dress parade or the fact I may have bled on the sandwiches, do I let him take them or do I feed them to the dog?? I would chuck them out but that was the last of a blimmin\’ nice bit of beef.

  73. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:30 pm

    Ah…it won\’t kill him…just be thankful he ain\’t a vampire…or is he \’mainstreaming\’…? Silly me…vampires don\’t eat, he\’d have a bottle of True Blood in his pack-up if he was…!! Doh!LOL! Ladymen of Spaces…love it!! Of course, they are lay-dees…!!Anyway, does anyone have any idea how much I should charge for a completely hand-sewn sunbonnet…if I was to start selling \’em again…?

  74. ROCKET permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:30 pm

    A little blood never hurt anyone. I won\’t be able to make the parade unless Sandi finishes my bonnet, especially since Samuel J. Frog is hogging the wig Simon and I used to take turns wearing. You are, of course aware of the way Simon raised the money to move back to Bristol, aren\’t you? Sandi and Eileen gave me the idea when they were talking about men in skirts (kilts actually) and I mentioned to Simon that I have a small trampoline. We made a killing charging admission for that show!

  75. ROCKET permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:33 pm

    An arm and a leg?

  76. Sandi permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:38 pm

    Ah, but whose arm and leg…?

  77. ROCKET permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:40 pm

    Not mine, I need them for the parade!

  78. Samuel J permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:13 am

    If you want the blimey wig just say so! It has been packed up and ready for travel if someone would just give me an address to send it to! Besides. I never look good as a blond and it seems you and Simon don\’t mind looking like Axel Rose on a bad day…..

  79. ROCKET permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:08 am

    No, no I\’m used to not having it now and Sandi is already hard at work on a bonnet. Maybe you should give it to a certain retired squid. He would look good pedaling down the street with his golden locks streaming in the breeze .

  80. Sandi permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:59 pm

    There are a good selection of bonnets for sale at Timely Tresses, and some of them are quite big brimmed…especially the slat bonnets, as they cover everything…almost!!

  81. Samuel J permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:21 pm

    Sorry Rm, no can do….ai respect the wig more than that…I\’d rather flush it down the john than let the squid wear it!!Saving it for some other poor unsuspecting customer….

  82. Sandi permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:57 pm

    Er…squid…? To whom are you referring…? Do pray tell.

  83. Eileen permalink
    November 5, 2009 2:25 pm

    A squid with golden tresses, riding a bike… it must be Simon

  84. ROCKET permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:23 pm

    In the spirit of interservice rivalry squid is what we call US Navy sailors. Army soldiers are dogfaces, Marines are jarheads and airmen are called zoomies or wing wipers. However, during my enlistment in the regular USAF I was on a missile crew and the other zoomies called us groundhogs because we worked in silos. When I was in the USAF reserves I was a pararescue jumper, usually called doc because humility prevented us from allowing others to call us GOD.

  85. Sandi permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:30 pm

    Ah…of course…I remember dead squids being mentioned on NCIS a few times.

  86. Eileen permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:33 pm

    Ah

  87. Sandi permalink
    November 5, 2009 8:50 pm

    There you go, Eileen…not Simon at all…(Unless he has run away to sea…and taken his electric bike with him…!!)

  88. Samuel J permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:13 pm

    unfortunately my squid is not dead….yet! although I have thought about smothering him with a pillow more than once…..

  89. Samuel J permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:13 pm

    Oooops! Who wrote that????

  90. Sandi permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:03 pm

    I have no idea…LOL!!

  91. Eileen permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:03 pm

    << walks in slowly pondering the practicalities of smothering a squid without getting caught in tentacles or getting inked >>

  92. Sandi permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:51 pm

    Psst, Eileen…I think Sharon is referring to her hubby (though I use the word \’hubby\’, I\’m sure the family have a lot of less complimentary names for him.)

  93. Sandi permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:57 pm

    Am racking my brains trying to think of something else to bore…I mean…blog about. At the moment, I am making little paper bonnets, as I work out brim shapes, so that I can scale them up without wasting money and materials. Have designed a simple one from about 1800, and another which was a popular style from about 1810 to 1820 when wide-brimmed hats became fashionable.Sorry…boring…!!

  94. Eileen permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:25 pm

    Am trying hard to be awake at such an hour… is it too early to go to bed? Argh… how come I spend the day cleaning and it doesn\’t look like I\’ve done a thing?

  95. Sandi permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:40 pm

    I know what you mean…I\’m trying to tidy the living room, where all my sewing stuff has taken over, but the more I shift and seem to put away, the messier the place is getting…!! Am I at the breaking eggs stage of the omelette, I wonder…?!!! Aaaargh!!!!!!!!!!!!

  96. Maria permalink
    November 8, 2009 4:23 pm

    Afternoon Sandi…Am with you on the tidying up and increasing scale of devastation it can cause..Managed to get the lofts empty yesterday but due to lack of light and other household duties, now have a mass of boxes and binliners scattered in various rooms and needed to be sorted through..Why oh why do we start these things? Suppose I shall simply start again tomorrow..

  97. Sandi permalink
    November 8, 2009 4:51 pm

    Why do we start these things? Because they need doing…?! But the more you persevere, the bigger the task seems to become, as all of the household \’stuff\’ seems tbe drawn into the game of \’musical junk\’…! Stuff for sorting over there, hbby stuff over there, this stuff goes here…OMG! running out of space to put stuff…oh, STUFF it!!!Well, that\’s how it is with me…I despair of ever getting the CRAP MONSTER out of the flat completely!!! HELP!!!

  98. Sandi permalink
    November 8, 2009 4:53 pm

    \’Hbby\’ stuff…? Erm…that\’s not hubby\’s stuff, BTW, but I meant \’hobby\’ stuff…as in costume, hats and bonnets, needlework, etc.

  99. Curiosity permalink
    November 8, 2009 9:05 pm

    Antiques Roadshow was at Lincoln Cathedral again this week. I have just watched it and felt quite chuffed to already know (via your blogs on the matters) about the Big Willie tank and manufacture of it, also of the Lincoln Imp. Do you think the programme researchers used your Sandi Armchair Tours for their info?!

  100. Sandi permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:25 pm

    LOL! In this day and age, Anne, the info is easily available to all online…just Google it and ping (or in this case…grind, chunter, groan, rumble, rumble, grind…!) it\’s there…!

Leave a Reply

