Skip to content

Pooey Facebook…Love It, Or Loathe It?

November 23, 2009

Facebook…you either love it or you hate it.  Actually, that’s not strictly true, though there are people who either love it…or hate it.  Me…I find it infuriatingly time-wasting, and Bran got it right when he referred to it as…‘The Dark Side’. Surprised

 

What I love about it is the banter that you can indulge in with friends…but you can also do that here, as we have often done in the past.  I also love some of the games, and have discovered that I do, after all, have a bit of a competitive streak, and that trying to beat each others high scores can take up a lot of time before you realise it!

 

Now the things I find annoying, I’m afraid, are some of the games like Farmville, Yoville, Mafia Wars and such like, and I have absolutely no time for them at all…I really can’t be bothered.  Other applications that are fun, but get very boring after a while, as you seem to go round and round in circles, are the things like Pillow Fights, Hearts, Hugs, and such like.  I can’t be bothered any more…

 

Last week I found a new thing, thanks to Pamela, and this is brilliant…it’s called YouTube Video Box, and I can add all my favourite vids to one place…we could do with something like that on here!

 

Right…Aunty Froggett does not like it.  What about the rest of you?  What do you like or dislike about Facebook…?

47 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:18 pm

    like games, dislike craving to get home to play games.

  2. Deb's permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:24 pm

    lol I was like the wee froggy for a long time, but I decided to try it out and to be honest i find it works best for the instant conversation type and I know you can do the same on here, but I find it differs as to what the person blogs about. I like the banter on facebook too.the biggest bonus is that on those days when everyone goes underground from live spaces you can catch up with them on facebook… like having a coffee morning… but then that is how i often describe the difference between the 2. facebook is the coffee morning … live spaces is where you go for the deep and meaningfull conversations. the other good thing most of my friends from live spaces are also on facebook so another plus is whenever spaces is acting up, you can still interact with everyone on there. as far as the apps go on facebook, i dont do them any more, i find them annoying or addictive or both… lolxXx

  3. Cornish permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:31 pm

    The only games I have added now are the mindjolt ones. I\’ve really reduced the applications I have down to just that one now. Sorry to say it but I really don\’t see the point in the pillow fight sort of games which is why I never add them. I much prefer something that gets my brain exercised.I\’ve met a few really great people over there (bit like here really) and for that I\’m grateful. Also if it wasn\’t for Facebook then I\’d have no idea what\’s going on in the family. How sad is that??? Another gripe: if my mother calls herself \’mummy\’ on it one more time I\’m going to block her. I do not have a mummy, I have a mother! Grrr. Sorry, bit stressed today. Right then, off to the docs for my lumpectomies. See you all laters once I\’ve been stitched up again. xx

  4. Sandi permalink
    November 23, 2009 2:45 pm

    Rachel!!!! You\’ve not been telling us something, after all!!! Because you knew we\’d all be worried about you? Too right!! Thinking about you…take care…BIG ((((HUGS)))) As I said about the pillow fight things…you just go round and round in circles that it becomes so totally pointless…! Crazy!! And I\’m saying nothing about your dear mummy… ;-)Debs…it\’s amazing how \’conversations\’ on here start off about the blog, and can chop and change in hilarious ways…that\’s what I find so fascinating about conversations…following the threads…Anne…are you done for the day, yet? Nearly games time…XXX

  5. Eileen permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:19 pm

    Oh Hope you\’re ok Rachel! ( What\’s a lumpectomy? )FB.. I like because it is instant catch up.. and I can be nosey and see what all my friends have been up to. But saying that because I have work colleagues on there I have to stay quiet and hide over there and I don\’t here.As for the applications? I have near on 200 requests waiting for me to eventually delete all.. I don\’t touch the applications they are far too unstable and play havock with the pc and are also normally full of spyware.

  6. Maria permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:31 pm

    I must admit I was on "The Darkside" before I moved in here and only joined to find out what my kids were fussing about..and the only game I play is Mafia Wars..but only because Jordan likes playing it and I\’m forever having to help her out…What I love is the kind of banter we were having over the weekend…totally cracks me up having you girls around..that and the fact that as Paddy\’s family live so far away, it\’s a fun way to keep in contact, without having to restrict yourself to huge phonebills….Did I mention I can spy on the kids too?..They seem to forget "Mummy\’s" on there too at times…What do I hate?…The way it\’s constantly freezing and messing about whenever I try and do anything..that and people from far too long ago who add me as a friend, send one message, then never interact in anyway at all…saying that you get that here too.

  7. Maria permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:37 pm

    By the way…what is a lumpectomy? Hope it all goes well Rachel…We will worry you know xx

  8. Eileen permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:41 pm

    Oh, just googled it… (((HUGS))) Crossing fingers it\’s ok Rachel and nothing nasty.

  9. Mike permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:45 pm

    Facebook is merely another place to keep in touch with good friends to me! An awful lot of Spaces friends have more or less entirely defected to Facebook and are very active there whereas here its relatively quiet! Its an old gripe, but the Windows Overlords completely ruined the unique essence of Spaces when they dumped the Updated Community page…..it was fun adding blogs and seeing your profile appear on that page with the prospect of getting complete strangers (and some nutters lol) to visit and add comments! When i\’m on Spaces now, i tend to visit friends who are exclusive to here! On Facebook i don\’t play any of the games, though i\’ll return gifts on such as Yoville if thats what a friend wants! Hmm though i could do without all the gory details…..let us know how you got on Rachel ok?!! xxx

  10. Sandi permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:56 pm

    A lumpectomy is when you have a lump removed, usually from the breast…and not necessarily cancerous, either. So it\’s usually a fairly minor op…but even so…I\’m still worrying about you, Rach…!Saturday was a good day, wasn\’t it…and we can share silly videos, too…and as with here, the only think that\’s annoying (did I say \’only\’ thing…?!!) is constantly having to hit Refresh to get the latest comments.

  11. Samuel J permalink
    November 23, 2009 4:08 pm

    Maybe I shouldn\’t comment but what the heck…..I have used facebook to keep in touch with Family and High School Friends who don\’t use this venue. I do play Farmville and then like as they remind me of the "Sims" games I used to play and to me they are just as stimulating as some of the games on Mind Jolt…However, I prefer the games on King.com…I like Tetris, but I can\’t play the 3 boards at the same time that Mind Jolt has…My favorite game is Marjongg…What I don\’t like on Facebook is all the silly apps….pillow fight,snowball fight, etc….I have one friend who used to send me a dozen apps a day…after a few "Ignore" she quit sending so many I check in here everyday but maybe because I have limited my space and made it private, it doesn\’t change much day to day…I read the blogs, occasionally write a new one myself and use this space to "Vent".To me, Both places have their ups and downs…And the ups are all the friends and support….

  12. Eileen permalink
    November 23, 2009 4:08 pm

    I missed out over the weekend :o(But I did watch lots of rugby – even if they need to go back to school to learn how to play again..

  13. Natalia permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:05 pm

    Hiya Sandi,I have to agree with the majority o what has already been said. The time wasting element is a pain, so my activities on FB are limited. Faceback is useful for keeping in contact with friends and family who don\’t use Windows. My primary concern is that the popularity of Facebook is now outstripping Windows, which in turn means the death of creativity to some extent. Yes, you can write notes on facebook, but amongst the melee other the toot they are lost. So what is the point of writing in the first instance? I still prefer Windows because it\’s topical, imformative and has a greater element of sharing. xx

  14. ROCKET permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:31 pm

    Okay, grumpy old fart chucking my two cents worth in. Last spring I decided to take up photography to keep from losing what is left of my mind. I was forced into early retirement and one can only watch so many episodes of the Three Stooges on the idiot box. I Googled amateur photography and somehow ended up on social networking sites. Don\’t ask me how that happened; you know I\’m not quite right. Anyhow, I was on FB for about 3 days before I found WLS. Dumped FB because I got fed up with tons of single syllable comments and no real content. I tried it again a few months back and that didn\’t last 36 hours. I just don\’t have the time and consider most of what goes on there to be a waste of bandwidth. The web would probably be a lot faster if it weren\’t for messages saying "You have just been poked by so and so. Poke this person back." I\’m no fan of Twitter either. I really don\’t care if so and so is sitting on the sofa, or washing his car. Okay, that\’s my rant. Off to research additional uses for my trampoline besides lending it to Simon for his pay per view acrobatics in a kilt show.Good luck with the lumpectomy, Rachel

  15. Cornish permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:48 pm

    On the boobs eh! Oh dear, my boobs have slipped. Mine was (note the was) on my back. There were two lumps that were up for eviction but we decided to keep one as it wasn\’t any problem and still a bit too small. The giant of a lump is now winging it\’s way to some lab somewhere for routine testing. I\’m ok, glad it\’s all over and a bit sore as expected. Stitches wouldn\’t stay in so I\’ve been cauterized instead. I\’ve been drawn and cautered hehe. It\’s nothing compared to what Lucy is currently going through so save all your worrying for her peeps (and others I don\’t know about). I\’m a naturally lumpy person, it\’s not the first and certainly won\’t be the last time I have this done.Sorry to hog your blog (hehe that rhymes) Sandi but it saves having to write my own ;-)As for the photography, I\’ve been setting up my own Deviant Art page. I\’ll give you more details sometime but most of the pictures are over here anyway so there\’s nothing new really. It\’s taking forever to go through all the photos though and I\’m still only up to \’p\’ in the folders. Gonna stop hoggin\’ the blog now before Sandi beats me with Bob\’s handbag. Thanks for the concern all, I really appreciate it and sorry to have worried you all for nothing. Hugs. xx

  16. Bal permalink
    November 23, 2009 6:29 pm

    Facebook … well, personally I don\’t get too involved on that site. If you do, you risk selling your soul to the devil! So many things are misinterpreted/misunderstood and cause all manner of problems from \’storms in teacups\’ to family tsunamis!!! Subscribers beware! MSN Spaces is much more friendly and secure. It is where my closest and most trustworthy web friends can be found, the ones that really matter and are true friends. (thanks for wishing me well Rachel, hope you are doing well too ((HUGS))xxx)

  17. commander permalink
    November 23, 2009 7:04 pm

    i went to f/book cus spaces is dead i got 2 replies to my last blog why bother it\’s a dead end that no one can browse and find interesting people any more useless !!!!!f/book is also closed and restricted but was like that before i joined so i don[\’t blame them but i blame m/soft for closing down a litte gem and replacing it with a weak copy of what people already had .vandalism and geek stupidity.

  18. Princess permalink
    November 23, 2009 7:10 pm

    Hmmmmm…well I have only looked at a friend\’s facebook page, but it seems………………………empty! I don\’t know any other way 2 describe it! On here I am free 2 play out my "bonkers" side without any side effects….on facebook untraceable? a simple google is all it takes. An accepted friends invite will usu offer u their (Full name, location, usu birthdate, names of nearest & dearest including children (where their children go 2 school!!!!!)how old they are etc. Identity fraudsters rub their hands in glee at the unlimited choice available! I know they can on here 2, but at least anonimity is poss if u so wish. I do miss the friends that I have lost 2 it. I wish they wud come back here, even if only occassionally! Pamela!!!! Please let her know on facebook she is missed! Luv PF XXX

  19. Curiosity permalink
    November 23, 2009 7:24 pm

    Hubby is always moping and reminiscing about the good old days with his mates where he grew up in Ireland. As he lost touch with them all bar one, I set him up on facebook because the one friend was on it. That has led to so many of his crowd getting in touch and has cheered him up no end to discover what they are all up to now. He cannot/will not get to grips with using the pc and even though I leave him alone to work it out, he always calls me to type replies etc. I was pleased that I had helped rekindle friendships for him. No pat on the back for me though, oh no………. after spending an hour or more on his page for him while he commanded actions on it while looking over my shoulder and not even getting my wet coat off from a days work in the rain……I am informed by him that I am prying into his life!?!!?!!

  20. Natalia permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:11 pm

    Anne, the workings of the grumpy old mans mind are unfathomable. :oD :oD Not nice for you I know. Short of wringing his ungrateful kneck what else can you do but laugh? xx

  21. Sandi permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:55 pm

    WOW! Aunty Froggett…look what you\’ve stirred up!!It\’s true that WLS was so much better before THEY mucked about with it, allowing us the freedom to roam and explore new territories…and make new friends. But, in a way I now feel safer, because can see who, among friend\’s friends have similar tastes, and get to know them that way, rather than having total strangers wander in…who could turn out to be nutters!! Rachel, I\’m glad your nip/tuck was just a straight forward little op…and Lucy, I send big (((HUGS))) and wishes for a speedy recovery. (Did they give you a \’doughnut\’ to sit on…?!!)Anne, tell him to work it out for himself…he\’s got a brain, hasn\’t he?!! (Looks like this might be a job for…The Cleaner…mwahahahahaha!!!)PF…we will definitely pass on your message to Pamela.Everyone else…I\’m worn out from reading through all these comments…phew!Maybe people have forgotten about your blogs, Robin, as they chat to you on The Dark Side all the time, as it\’s so much quicker and easier to catch up with everyone they, isn\’t it. Maybe we should all make a bit more effort to get creative again, and get blogging…I know you do Chip and Sharon, as you sometimes do more than one per day…phew!! Eileen writes more blogs than I do at the moment, too…oh, and when was the last time you blogged, Mikey-boy?!!!OK, my head is going round in circles now…confused! Confused…!! Whirrrrrr…boing…

  22. Sandi permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:55 pm

    Aaaaaargh…another blog…!!

  23. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:26 am

    Lol!! Glad you\’re ok Rachel :o)Hope Bel Maiden has a full and speedy recover too!Me writing more blogs? nah I\’ve hardly written any recently! Been too busy and nothing interesting to say :o(Must think of something to write about at some point..

  24. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:46 am

    Same here…I could write…er…\’went to work…oh, joy…! Or…\’it\’s raining…again..!\’ Or…well, you know what I mean!But I did find out, yesterday, that one of my team has posted her notice…to the main office…not told me or my boss!! I asked my boss if she\’d heard anything, and she said that she\’d only just been told. She was not happy about it.

  25. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 12:01 pm

    Yep.. pretty much the same for me too!I suppose I could blog about how Brian\’s gone to Iceland and left me for a week :o(Oh that\’s a bit underhand of your colleague! Talk about getting notice of planning staffing hours!

  26. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 12:57 pm

    I was told she had been looking for me, so I went down to see what she wanted, and she told me it was just that she thought her cupboard was locked, but that the ground floor girl was looking for me instead. OK. I then asked if there was anything else, giving her the opportunity to mention it…but nothing. When is she planning on telling me? It matters not, I suppose, as I\’m interviewing two girls today…both called Kelly! I wonder if she\’ll say anything then…?!

  27. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:03 pm

    Maybe she feels bad about letting you down and just wants to slip out un-noticed?Hope the interviews go ok xxx

  28. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:10 pm

    But when they don\’t say anything, it leaves us the brown pooey stuff…at least she actually posted her notice, which is more than the last girl did…she just didn\’t bother coming back after her holiday and left us well and truely in it, as I was off for Alv\’s funeral! The other girls had to cope on their own with locking up and setting the alarm!

  29. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:19 pm

    Oh tell me about it.. had a few members of staff like that back when I worked in retail.

  30. commander permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:21 pm

    you love it ,or u would do something else ….would\’nt you ?

  31. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:57 pm

    LOL! I must be totally mad! If I left, Robin, I wouldn\’t give the place a second thought, but at the moment I think it\’s a case of better the devil you know…! I really have no idea what else I can do, these days…Mid Life Crisis is beckoning again…!

  32. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 2:21 pm

    Erm.. I think you\’ve been told loads of times you should make your own costumes! That would encorporate your love for historic costume and making things!

  33. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 2:28 pm

    Confession…I\’m a scaredy cat…! 😦

  34. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:00 pm

    Why? You\’re an amazing seamstress!!

  35. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:12 pm

    I\’m also a perfectionist…and that\’s a handicap..! (\’¬\’)

  36. ROCKET permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:17 pm

    You know, I posted a comment on Eileen\’s blog that I understand y\’all work and don\’t have as much time to play around here as some of us do. At least you find the time to drop by and laugh at the stuff I put up each day so I know you\’re not ignoring me.

  37. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:19 pm

    Why is that a handicap? Tha means people will be getting top notch clothing :-p

  38. Poppy permalink
    November 24, 2009 3:35 pm

    I do have a facebook as well as my page here – I pop onto facebook mainly to see what my daughter is getting up to! lol! Apart from that I really don\’t enjoy facebook much at all, even though I do ocasionally do some of the apps, no Farmville or Yoville for me, I can\’t be bothered to be honest!! So if facebook went for good I really wouldn\’t miss it at all!

  39. Cornish permalink
    November 24, 2009 7:52 pm

    I bet Kelly gets the job. What do you think? My money\’s on Kelly for sure.

  40. Eileen permalink
    November 24, 2009 7:56 pm

    Who\’s Kelly? What job? Have I lost the plot completely?

  41. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 8:05 pm

    LOL! Sorry Rachel…no one has got the job…yet. The Kellys didn\’t turn up…usual case of having to apply for so many jobs…they have no intention of turning up for the interview! There are four tomorrow…my boss will be in tomorrow morning to interview and older chap, then I have three (if they turn up!) at five o\’clock!Eileen, the girls that were supposed to turn up for interview were both called Kelly.Val, Mindjolt games are what I like, not the others…and those pillow fights and such like are just so poinless, aren\’t they. Can\’t be bothered with them any more. I like the chat, and to find out what people have been up to…it\’s all good fun, innit!

  42. Cornish permalink
    November 24, 2009 8:30 pm

    I thought I was onto a winner there! Darn! You haven\’t lost the plot Eileen but I certainly have.

  43. Sandi permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:52 pm

    No you haven\’t, Rachel…I am just wondering how many, out of tomorrows four, are going to turn up. I\’m just hoping that the Daniel is not young Mr Jordan…nice kid, but a sarnie short of a picnic…!

  44. Sandi permalink
    November 25, 2009 8:02 pm

    Today I was supposed to have a Daniel, Gemma, and Nicole…none of whom turned up. Instead, a Latvian couple were waiting for me in reception…she was after the job, and her fiance was there to speak for her as her English was not very good. Typical!! I already have a Polish girl who speaks very little English, and it just gives me a headache trying to explain things to her, so I have to resort to showing her and trying to mime…grrr! (I\’m afraid I don\’t have the patience…!)My boss has told me that there are now four more (supposedly) coming tomorrow…I\’ll believe it when I see \’em!!BTW…she told me that she\’d had Daniel\’s mum on the phone asking where he was, as he hadn\’t got home when he should…oh, oh…sounds very familiar…! Say no more…!!!

  45. Sandi permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:19 pm

    OK..yeah…sorry. Work = boring…!

  46. Eileen permalink
    November 26, 2009 10:02 am

    Sorry Sandi.. I was so tired last night I had turned the pc off and gone to bed!Not really sleeping well atm :o(xXx

  47. Bran permalink
    November 27, 2009 12:35 am

    Well I still keep on blogging over here; FB is the fast food of blogging and WL is more like a three course meal —– so saying I\’m doing an awful lot of snacking when I\’m on line as that\’s where all the people from the festivals I am involved with hang out. But obviously if there is good conversation to be had (with fewer idiots jumping in) I will always escape from "The Dark Side"

Leave a Reply

