Skip to content

Christmas Songs

December 12, 2009
As we are fast approaching the season of frivolous festivities, I thought that I would try and get in the spirit of things by adding a few of my favourite vids. 
 
The first one is a chap that RM introduced us to last week,
Larry, the cable guy…

 
 
…poor Grandma…
 
It’s all done in the best possible (bad) taste
with South Park…
 

 
 
The Twelve Days of Christmas,
Jasper Carrott…
 

 

…and to get things rockin’ here’s
Twisted Sister…
 
 

 
 
 
 
90 Comments leave one →
  1. ROCKET permalink
    December 12, 2009 9:45 pm

    Jasper Carrott! Never heard of him but the guy is a riot. Dee Snyder is too!

  2. Natalia permalink
    December 12, 2009 9:51 pm

    Can\’t beat a bit of Carrot with your christmas Lunch Sand. ;o) Night. xx

  3. Sandi permalink
    December 12, 2009 10:00 pm

    Jasper Carrott has been around since the 70s, and hails from Birmingham…his brand of observational humour, usually delivered (fairly) straight-faced has me absolutely creased up! Funky Moped was the single he brought out, but everyone knows that Magic Roundabout was the intended A side, but it was banned. The Mole was another of my favourites.

  4. Sandi permalink
    December 12, 2009 10:01 pm

    Too right, Natalia…nighty night…XXX

  5. Maria permalink
    December 12, 2009 11:17 pm

    LOL…Some excellant choices Sandi…..Strange to think that this may be the first time someone has ever heard of Jasper Carrot, though I suppose a household name here, may not necessarily stretch that far….sweet dreams everyone, shall be a while before I join you..not literally of course xx

  6. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 12:01 am

    Hey…and who is this Larry the cable guy anyway…?! Never heard of him before RM posted him on his blog…he\’s brilliant!

  7. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 12:24 am

    WHO IS LARRY THE CABLE GUY?????? Why, everybody knows who he is! Next you\’re gonna try and tell me you never heard of the Blue Collar Comedy Tour!!

  8. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 12:30 am

    http://www.bluecollarcomedy.net/ Surf and learn!

  9. Samuel J permalink
    December 13, 2009 1:08 am

    So much for them to learn, only 1 Rocketman to teach them….

  10. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:32 am

    LOL! And he\’s doin\’ a darn fine job…! I like this Larry guy…he\’s brilliant! And when did his film come out…Witless Protection…?

  11. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 3:34 pm

    OK…who else can I add to this? There have been so many different versions of old favourites, as well as new songs over the years that I really don\’t know where to begin…let\’s go and have a rummage in the archives…

  12. Cornish permalink
    December 13, 2009 3:47 pm

    It\’s still not working Sandi. I\’m beginning to think I\’m dead or something. Or am I a new version of Chandler when he can\’t cry? Feel like doing that right now! Oh well, Aled Jones is on again and I like that song. Really want to build that snowman now!!

  13. Samuel J permalink
    December 13, 2009 4:46 pm

    <object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/foybsDsn5hk&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/foybsDsn5hk&hl=en_US&fs=1&&quot; type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>Walking Round in women\’s Underwear….Bob Rivers Twisted Christmas

  14. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 6:22 pm

    @ Frog – I don\’t understand……are you trying to insinuate that sort of behavior isn\’t……….never mind!@ Rachel – I think I can help. Our stores always have displays of cute little stuffed toys with a tag on them that reads "I sing and dance. Squeeze here to try me." Every time I\’m in the store I like to squeeze the little tags……all of them. Did I mention that once they start you can\’t turn them off? They just have to finish their songs on their own. Nothing says Christmas to me like several dozen stuffed toys all trying to out sing and dance each other!

  15. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 6:46 pm

    Ditto, RM..I have done that, too. Whoever I\’m with walks off and leaves me, saying emphatically as they go "I\’m not with her!!"

  16. Maria permalink
    December 13, 2009 6:47 pm

    Oh I\’m terrible when it comes to those toys..I do excatly the same as you much to the disgust of my kids..They\’re just no fun…

  17. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:46 pm

    LOL! Kids…they\’re as bad as the old farts when you want to have some fun!!I\’m feeling like Rachel at the moment…not very Christmassy, and I blame the commercial wotsit being rammed down our throats all the time…earlier and earlier every year!!

  18. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:49 pm

    Rachel…just had a thought…maybe you should think about making some Christmassy things…do a craft thing withe girls…making gingerbread shapes for the tree…decorated cones for sweeties…make your own decorative boxes for presents…get back to a more hands-on Christmas. Collect greenery, wreath for the front door and table decorations…that kind of thing…?!

  19. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:52 pm

    Make a snowman…yes! You need cardboard, wadding or white fur fabric, orange felt for his nose, black felt for his hat, and black buttons for his eyes. You could make it so that the head comes off so that you can put biscuits or sweets inside…!

  20. Maria permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:56 pm

    I think we\’re all feeling a bit like that…I always get excited, but not usually until a couple of days before,,I think that\’s mainly down to the kids and the mad things we do at this time of year. Mind you I\’m not as stressed this year as usual, so maybe that has something to do with it. What was nice is we went to Tesco\’s today and there were a group of carol singers dressed in Victorian costumes, everyone was rushing around and complaining, and we just stood and enjoyed the carols…must admit I got rather emotional, strange that but then I\’m a sentimental thing sometimes.

  21. Maria permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:58 pm

    I like the sound of your snowman..something else to add to the \’make and do\’ list

  22. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:59 pm

    I had a thought once. The headache lasted nearly a week so I swore off thinking from then on. Now I use all that extra brain power to help make the world a happier place. Now you know why you spend so much time laughing at the silly stuff I do!

  23. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:13 pm

    If it wasn\’t for you, RM, I\’d be a real miserable git!! I\’d own seven pairs of grumpy knickers, instead of one!!!Maria, years ago I made a goody box in the shape of a house, with a roof that lifted off I would put all kinds of things inside like Viscount biscuits, penguins, etc. The bricks and roof tiles were all cut out of cardboard (that from A4 file pads is best) and glued on individually, then I used filler to smear into the gaps, and this also gave a bit of texture to the bricks before I painted them. It lasted several years before it got too battered to use any more. I suppose I should make another one, shouldn\’t I…?!

  24. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:17 pm

    Think nothing of it, ma\’am; that\’s why I\’m here. Rocket Man, Class Clown.

  25. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:24 pm

    While I\’m busy clowning around, {insert shameless self promotion here} I have posted another insightful piece which may just produce a chuckle or two. View it at your leisure. There’s no hurry. Once I post something I leave it up for posterity ……..unless of course I receive a court order demanding I remove it. Then I post it on Simon’s space and let him deal with the legal ramifications. Uh, oh….there I go using multi syllable words again. Damned college education leaking through my redneck veneer!

  26. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:43 pm

    LOL! You try so hard…but the truth will out eventually…!

  27. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 8:49 pm

    Ah, ain\’t nothin but a thang!

  28. Maria permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:44 pm

    College education? What\’s that??Now a house made for storing biscuits and sweeties sounds right up mu street, will have to sort through your suggestions and have a go at making some this week, inbetween everything else..May even be brave enough to take some pictures and share the results….Can\’t guarantee there\’ll be any goodies left though x

  29. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:51 pm

    Ah, you know….spend 17 or 18 years hanging around a school house and they give you a degree if you\’ll promise to go away and stop scaring the rest of the students.

  30. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:02 pm

    Nah! RM…you can\’t fool us…how rare is an edjimacated redneck, eh…? I mean…you don\’t put \’there\’ when you mean their\’…and you don\’t put \’your\’ when you mean you\’re…like everyone else! (Or do you? Hmmm…will have to go and check, now…or later…well…will have to check…sometime…!)

  31. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:03 pm

    Maria…how about we all start making stuff and posting our efforts…? Mabe I should start another blog…a crafty blog…hmmm…!

  32. Maria permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:16 pm

    17 or 18 years..no one told me I had to do that! Sounds like a cunning plan Sandi, though don\’t expect anything too extravagant from me..everything is done from the perspective of a seven year old in this house lol..but yeah I\’m up for that..pretty much what we\’d planned to do this week anyway…. ;o)

  33. ROCKET permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:20 pm

    Well yeah, that\’s if you plan on going all the way through the 8th grade.

  34. Bal permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:13 am

    Hey Sandi … what a great idea! Lets all blog a christmas craft thing we use to make for Christmas???? I use to make Christmas Tree biscuit decorations and cut a hole in the centre where you placed a boiled sweet prior to baking to get a shiny coloured window when it cooled and set (dont forget to put cornflour on the baking tray!). Ha, ha ha just bought a thought to my head … one year my eldest son who was three years old realised the tree chocolates had caramel filling and he bit off the bottoms of them all!!!! leaving caramel blobs all over the carpet he he he.

  35. Bal permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:14 am

    Or maybe blog a funny memory?

  36. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:37 am

    Little horror! LOL! I can just picture it! My dad played a mean trick on my nephew when he was a kid…he got an Action Man-sized box and stencilled AWOL on it…the poor kid didn\’t get the joke when he unwrapped and empty box…!

  37. simon permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:44 pm

    Brilliant Idea Sandi – right son gets an AWOL action man, Daughter gets an empty Sindy doll box- run off with action man…(they are 13 & 10 I think they\’ll get it )

  38. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:18 pm

    LOL! Poor nephew was a bit younger, and got upset about it…but it\’s still funny…hehehe. Just make sure you have their actual presents to give them AFTER the joke…!

  39. Samuel J permalink
    December 14, 2009 4:39 pm

    What??? There was supposed to be presents in those empty boxes??? I unwrapped everyone and just ended up with a trash bag full of boxes, wrapping paper and ribbons!!!

  40. ROCKET permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:48 pm

    Empty boxes, ribbons and paper was all the guards would let us give you, Frog. They knew that anything else would just confuse you.

  41. simon permalink
    December 14, 2009 6:43 pm

    OK – my fond memory of Christmas (I was Very young) was picking up the trail of shiny golden footprints all around the house where Santa had been. I repeated this for my kids (they were very young) by making talcum powder stencil prints all around the house – they loved it too 🙂

  42. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 7:43 pm

    That\’s a lovely idea, Simon…thanks for sharing that with us. Maybe Anne could do that for her grand-daughters.Sharon…the Action Man thing…he was Absent Without Leave…or whatever it actually stands for. Isn\’t it actually Absent Without Obtaining Leave or something…?! Anyway…he wasn\’t there…!

  43. Samuel J permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:01 pm

    Yeah I got the AWOL and all….I justthought the boxes were supposed to be empty because all mine usually are….

  44. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:08 pm

    Aaaaaw…I hope they are all pretty boxes, though…?

  45. ROCKET permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:02 pm

    They WERE supposed to be empty when you got them, Frog. We aways double checked that evertythinh had been removed before wrapping the boxes.

  46. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:45 pm

    Oh…that\’s not nice…!! For shame…!!

  47. ROCKET permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:56 pm

    But the guards at the institution would only allow her to have imaginary gifts after the unfortunate incident with the Barbie Dream Car and Legos set.

  48. Sandi permalink
    December 14, 2009 10:59 pm

    LOL! Go on…do tell…!

  49. ROCKET permalink
    December 14, 2009 11:17 pm

    Well, it all started when she found out the folks brought her home instead of the pony I asked for. Things were going great although Dad had to take on a second job to pay for the oats, carrots and sugar cubes. Eventually the neighbors started to complain about her scaring their dogs and we had to have her committed. That Christmas Santa brought her a Lego set and a Barbie Dream Car. Imagine the looks on the guards face when she built a ramp and jumped the wall in that little car! She was eventually recaptured but all efforts at treatment failed, even electro shock therapy and she had to be deported…..to Ohio("Is that all ya got? Crank it all the way up and give me another shot!"). It was a shame, too because our younger siblings used to screw a light bulb in her ear and send hour upon hour making shadow puppets on the wall. Of course I wouldn\’t be telling you any of this if I was within skillet range of her. Naturally she\’ll deny it all; that\’s one of the symptoms of her illness. And all this time y\’all thought I was the only mental patient in the family! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

  50. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:15 am

    Hmmm…interesting story. Did she think she was a pony in those early days? If not, who was the oats, carrots and sugar cubes for…?

  51. Eileen permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:15 am

    I\’m confused.. not enough hours in the day at the mo.. work deadline getting closer and no way near time to reach it :o(Will try and come back to read fully.. ( nana has hours / minutes / days left.. everything has been withdrawn, no food or water just a small drip for pain relief.. her kidneys have stopped working.. )Sandi.. I will try and remember to have a break ( as for frazzeling myself.. hmm think I already did! I kept falling asleep everywhere over the weekend! Gave Brian a bit of a shock when I started to shake from being too tired ).Love n hugs to all xXx

  52. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 3:08 pm

    She thought she was a pony until a few years ago. Now she thinks she\’s a frog.

  53. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 3:25 pm

    Take care, Eilleen…thinking of you and sending BIG, BIG (((HUGS)))RM! That\’s no way to talk about Eileen…now apologise!!!

  54. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 3:26 pm

    Hey! What\’s happened to three of the vids?! Will have to re-add them, I s\’pose…!!

  55. Eileen permalink
    December 15, 2009 3:41 pm

    Who\’s calling me a frog?

  56. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 3:57 pm

    Mr Rocket Man…see his comment straight after yours…he reckons you thought you were a pony…! Strange man…!!

  57. Eileen permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:00 pm

    Me? A Pony? I\’m not even going to comment on that one!! ( Can\’t find a clean response ).. Give him a slap!!

  58. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:29 pm

    You too, Eileen? I thought my sister was the only one who thought she was a pony!

  59. Maria permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:57 pm

    LOL..I wander in once again to find I\’ve totally lost track of what\’s occuring, though I see the innuendo\’s are flowing thick and fast…Giddy up girls…>>>>>Think I\’ll just leave quietly (gallops off in true pony fashion ;o))

  60. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:02 pm

    LMAO!! And I get home from work and find these last three comments…and if anyone give RM a slap, what\’s the betting he\’d enjoy it…?!

  61. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:16 pm

    Sticks and stones may break my bones but whips and chains…..OOOH! SPANK ME MOSTRESS!! I\’M A BAD BOY!!

  62. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:40 pm

    Just let me get into my leather catsuit…thigh-high stiletto boots…whip…riding crop… NOW…who\’s been a naughty boy…?!!!

  63. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:41 pm

    ME! ME! ME!

  64. Princess permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:44 pm

    Sandi! Did I just hear the word "Whip"?!?!

  65. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:47 pm

    You did…want to join in? This naughty boy needs a spanking…get those kinky boots on, girl…!!

  66. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:50 pm

    WOO-HOO! Where\’s my chicken suit? Simon turn the monkeys loose!

  67. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:11 pm

    Monkeys…?!! What the f…….what do you want monkeys for…?!!!!!

  68. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:52 pm

    To help carry the buckets of lard and the plastic sheets!

  69. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:18 pm

    I have been instructed by the little woman standing behind my chair and brandishing the cast iron fry pan to say that yes, I do act this way at home and for all of you to be happy you don\’t have to put up with me full time.

  70. Sandi permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:32 pm

    I wish you and Frankie were my next-door neighbours…!! LOL!!

  71. ROCKET permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:34 pm

    What, so you and she could take turns whacking me on the head?

  72. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:19 am

    Heavens, NO!! I ain\’t whacking anyone…I \’d just watch…!!! LOL!

  73. ROCKET permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:38 am

    More likely get it on video and post it on your space.

  74. ROCKET permalink
    December 16, 2009 1:02 am

    Hear that old skillet ring Bang, clang, bang, clang, clangShe\’s whackin\’ on his head Bang, clang, bang, clang, clangDon\’t think he\’ll ever learnBang, clang, bang clang, clangClang, bang, bang, bangClang, bang, bang, bangOoooh, he\’s unconscious. Someone get a bucket of water and bring him to for the next chorus.

  75. Eileen permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:49 am

    LOL… you guys make me laugh…

  76. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:36 am

    Laughing is good for you…it releases happy chemicals in the brain…(how technical is that…?!!) and gives you a feel-good feeling. I like laughing…I need it like I need sunshine…or I get very sad indeed…then I go hide under a rock…or in a corner somewhere…

  77. Eileen permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:29 am

    Well I for one can say I wish I was hiding in my bed, wrapped up in my quilt with my hotwater bottle!!!!Tis \’orrid out there and I\’m tired ( and my eyes hurt from staring at lots of small print )… soon be holiday time.. hey ho and all that

  78. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:01 pm

    I\’ve only got three days holiday left, and I\’m saving them for Jan/Feb when the really shitty weather tends to bite…at least by then the nights will be drawing out, though…Well, good luck with all that horrid small print and stuff…will soon be the weekend…hang in there…XXX

  79. Eileen permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:38 pm

    I have 2 weeks left to use up before the office shuts for Christmas ( which is on Tuesday next week )…. LOL!!!

  80. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 3:14 pm

    I wish I could take the two weeks off over Christmas and New Year..! I certainly wouldn\’t be venturing out much…just hibernating!

  81. Curiosity permalink
    December 16, 2009 5:18 pm

    I have just done my last days work until the schools go back. Standing on the corner of the street outside the office for 6 hours in the freezing cold, fingers and toes still numb. Was glad when the snowy stuff started to fall because it seemed a tad warmer then in the afternoon.

  82. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:00 pm

    Have been absolutely perished today, but since I have been out and come home I feel that it is now a lot warmer. No snow here, thank goodness!Hope you\’ve thawed out now, Anne…!

  83. Curiosity permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:18 pm

    I had a nice hot shower when I got in. Have got dressed but am wearing my thick dressing gown over my clothes and a rug over my legs. Am a bit skinflint when it comes to heating the whole house if he is in bed and I am only in the lounge.

  84. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:28 pm

    I tend to do that, too/ Have got Robert\’s quilted work-shirt on at the moment…it\’s lovely and warm! The shawl or throw goes over my legs if the draught from the window is a bit too chilly!

  85. simon permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:42 pm

    Hmmm:)

  86. Curiosity permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:42 pm

    Oh dear Sandi, when did we become little old ladies all wrapped up with blankets over our laps!

  87. ROCKET permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:47 pm

    Careful there ladies. I think the Bus Driver may be coming down with a Hmmm:) Bug. Seasonal ailment, don\’t you know? Sorry……couldn\’t resist.

  88. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:00 pm

    LMAO…Hmmm:) Bug…hohoho…good one…!

  89. Sandi permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:02 pm

    Anne…I might be little, but I ain\’t old!! I blame my thyroid…what\’s your excuse…?!! There\’s a cold draught coming off the window, and it\’s why I end up with cold feet, probably…even though I\’ve got my shoes on…!

  90. Curiosity permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:47 pm

    Brrrrr! cold and sky looks full of more snow. There have been little flurries all day but melting as it touches the ground.

Leave a Reply

