Skip to content

Jane Austen Festival 2009

February 6, 2010
For the last few weeks I have felt the urge to write more blogs, and to get back into writing on a regular basis once more, but I am afraid that I have scratched my head so many times that I am in danger of getting splinters!!
 
Anyway, rather than not do anything, I have decided to post this video, that I recently found, when checking to see if any more Jane Austen Festival items had been added.  There were not as many as I had expected, but I think you will agreethat this one makes up for that…enjoy…
 
  
 
29 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 12:56 pm

    Sorry, Rachel, Eileen and Natalia…we are nowhere to be seen…the lady in green was near the front, so the people bringing up the rear did not get a look in. Oh, well.One wonders why there are so few photos and videos of the 2009 event considering that there were more than twice the participants…!!

  2. Natalia permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:44 pm

    It\’s a lovely Video Sandi. It brings tears of joy to my eyes remembering that wonderful day. Did you note "Mrs Greens" Deportment, slumped into that chair like a sac of potaotes. ;o)

  3. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 1:50 pm

    Yes, I did…very unladylike, and quite spoils the effect, don\’t you think? Maybe we should re-name her…Mrs Potato Green…or Mrs Green Potato…or Mrs Spud…?

  4. Natalia permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    Mrs Spud you like?

  5. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:21 pm

    LOL! OK, the lady didn\’t exactly glide down the stairs gracefully either, did she…more like a plod. I wonder what her thoughts were when she saw the finished video? If someone was filming me coming down the stair in costume, I would have practiced first…and the sitting down, rather thanjust, flopping! Apart from these minor points, I enjoyed this video…and the length of it prolnged my enjoyment. I have often wondered why people post vids of only a few seconds…what a waste of time!!

  6. Curiosity permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:36 pm

    All those people in dress, brings home just what a great day it was when it is seen on video and in motion. Shame you all do not appear on it, make sure you do next time!

  7. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:41 pm

    Will have to get someone to video us this year, so that we do appear. It\’s just not right, is it, that we were ignored by the filmers and snappers (but then again…I\’m not the most photogenic of people,am I…?!!) Maybe I scared them off…?!!

  8. Curiosity permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:47 pm

    Considering the look of Ms Green I don\’t think photogenicality challenged comes into it! -is that a mis spelt word or have I just made it up-.

  9. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:10 pm

    LOL! It looks mis-spelled to me…do you mean photogenically…now even that does not look right, either…! What the heck…we kow what you mean.

  10. commander permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:17 pm

    who photo\’d yer geni …genat….forget i spoke .

  11. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:35 pm

    LMAO!! Who told you…?!!!

  12. Europa's permalink
    February 6, 2010 4:33 pm

    GRRRrrr…20min battle to get online at home…3 disconnections and another 10mins to access your blog page…lol…and now I can\’t watch the vid cos connection too slow while on GPRS….ARGGJHHHH!!! Back later when 3G kicks in…. HooOOOOOWWWWLLLLLL….GrrrrrRR!

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 5:50 pm

    You sound just like me…I feel like throwing the damned computer out of the window sometimes, when it is so slow and starts playing up. Thank heaven for the laptop…but all my photos and Live Writer, etc., are on the PC…bloody technology!!!

  14. Ayrgael - permalink
    February 6, 2010 6:15 pm

    Looks like lots of fun Sandi when and where does it happen?

  15. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2010 6:30 pm

    It was a brilliant day, Sarah…the atmosphere was fantastic, especially when those of us in costume entered the Assembly Rooms for the Guiness World Record attempt at largest gathering of people in Regency costume. Then afterwards in the Royal Crescent…brilliant!!It\’s every September in Bath…check dis out… http://www.janeausten.co.uk/festival/index.ihtml

  16. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:24 pm

    Well, it\’s definitely time to start thinking about this years costumes…I have a pattern for Robert\’s tail-coat, which I will make up in calico first. This should really be done with any pattern, and ensures agood fit, as any alterations can be made on the calico, which can then be used as the pattern…so preserving the paper pattern.

  17. Curiosity permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:29 pm

    I am bored knitting tea cosies, I could knit a tailcoat!! of course it would have to involve a pom pom somewhere.

  18. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:47 pm

    LOL!! What about the Simon-cosy?! Or a car-cosy? Dog cosy…?! Stop! Stop! This is getting very silly…!!!Er…don\’t forget the tassels…!!! 😉

  19. Curiosity permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    May as well knit myself a pc virus check updater as well for all the good the one I have has when it comes to renewing this coming years subscription!

  20. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:40 pm

    The Knitting Nanny…have needles will knit! No item too big or small! Your needs…oh, you get the idea!!

  21. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:38 pm

    Have just watched the video again, and noticed that a couple of ladies seem to have…er…how should I put this without being indelicate? They seem to have…um…forgotten their…er…\’under-pinnings\’. Ahem!!It is a common fallacy (is that how it\’s spelled?!) that ladies of the Regency period wore nothing under their gowns. This is not true. They probably wore flesh-coloured underthings to give the impression of wearing nothing under their white muslin gowns.

  22. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 8:04 pm

    I have decided that for this years promenade I am going to re-model my dress and make it late Regency, adding decoration to the hem (after re-working the skirt so that it hangs better!), and making a new spencer and bonnet, more in keeping with the fabric…and Robert\’s tail-coat and pantaloons, which are also late Regency.

  23. Europa's permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:00 pm

    And we will of course be given the pleasure of some viewings of this re-modelled dress will we not?…and you will of course not be forgetting your "under-pinnings!" 😉 You make all these things yourself btw? How very skilled! I am most wolfishly impressed!

  24. Curiosity permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:07 pm

    Cast your mind back……there seemed all the time in the world to prepare for last years but it caught up oh so quickly didn\’t it, mind the same thing does not happen this time round! Our preview should be ready to see at least a month before the event. Get cracking girl! ; )

  25. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:10 pm

    Of course I will be blogging my progress. Last September Rachel and I joined the Promenade in costume…it was a brilliant day, it really was!Hang on while I check out last year\’s costume and Jane Austen Festival blogs…BRB…

  26. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:12 pm

    Anne…this year will be spent mostly working on Robert\’s costume, as mine only needs some updating and tweaking.

  27. Curiosity permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:20 pm

    It will be great to see you both done up and dusted. Am getting just as excited watching the progress as last time. Have to pinch myself sometimes cos it seems I was there with you all. It was a great journey to be part off even if only cyberspacelybloggypics!

  28. Sandi permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:13 pm

    LOL! Cyberwhattypics…?!!! Anne\’s new word for today!Last year\’s blogs to do with the festival and my costume…one in January, one in April…then A Hundred And One Ways Not To Do It (20/4/09), Girly Stuff – Boredom Alert! (24/6/09), More Girly Stuff (4/7/09), More On Costumes (19/8/09)…several in September…then I Was There! (1/10/09) and Putting On The (Regency) Style (2/10/09)…! And I think that this lot is enough to bore the pants off anybody!!!

  29. Sandi permalink
    February 8, 2010 12:11 am

    Oh, of course…I still have my short stays to make…not to mention a petticoat…where\’s my needles and pins and thread and stuff…!!!

Leave a Reply

