Skip to content

Talking about A Grand Day Out

February 10, 2010

 The last blog was a brief account of how my obsession began, and my attempts to make a costume (I wonder how many metres of calico were reduced to scraps in the process?!!) 

There are other blogs in between, so if you are interested, you can check them out…Girly Stuff – Boredom Alert! (24/6/09)…More Girly Stuff (4/7/09)…More On Costumes (19/8/09)…plus one or two more. 

The photograph albums…Regency Costume & Jane Austen Festival…I Made This – Costume, Crafty Stuff & WIP…are also added to as and when I make progress.

So, for this years efforts…wach this space (as they say…) 

Quote

A Grand Day Out

The weekend was fast approaching, and I was sewing for dear life trying to get my costume finished! Cuffs of spencer to hem, lining to finish off, trim for bonnet to hide the shaft and wires of the feathers…and a reticule to make! Will I ever get finished in time?

Friday morning was a packing frenzy, trying not to forget anything…costume, sewing stuff, camera and charger among the usual stuff. Off we set, calling in at Asda, then Pennells Garden Centre to pick up Robert’s mum.

One quick stop at services, and just over four hours later we were in Trowbridge. That evening I managed to finish my bonnet, abandoned the lace around the neckline of the spencer idea that I’d decided on, and began running up a reticule….which was also abandoned due to lack of time to finish it.

Saturday morning, ran iron over costume and got ready. We walked down to Karen’s, as she had offered to take us to Bath, and I was getting funny looks from motorists and passers-by. In the car, on the way, I realised that I had left my fan on the table…oh, poo!! Never mind.

Park car in multi-storey…head for Abbey Churchyard. Again, funny looks from people. They obviously have no idea what is going on! I love it!!

We arrived to find people in costume already milling about,2009 Promenade 1 and an announcement from John White, the MC, told us that the Promenade would begin at eleven…I thought it was supposed to be eleven-thirty! Anyway, I went in search of Rachel, Eileen and Natalia, and found Eileen sitting on a bench near the Abbey, and then we found Rachel and Natalia. Lots of hugging ensued, as this was the first time we’d all met up together.

While we were standing around chatting, one little person caught our attention. (When I say ‘little’, I mean little…one year old Braden Sullenberger from Pennsylvania, USA, was dressed in costume, just like his parents, Lisa and Greg.) He looked so sweet, as he stood there while people came and took photos of him. www.thisisbath.co.uk/news/Regency-record-set-Bath/article-1353407-detail/article.html

The Promenade began, and it felt strange being stared at by so many people who were crowding either side of the exit from the Abbey Churchyard onto Stall Street. Maybe they should set up barriers around this area, as we were stopped, after parading around The Colonnades/Bath Street and back round to Stall Street via Beau Street. Robert told me later that the tail-enders hadn’t even left the Abbey Churchyard as we made our way back up…I bet they weren’t expecting that!

Heading up Milsom Street, we turned right onto George Street and headed for the crossing, where a nice red-coat was holding up the traffic for us. One impatient motorist began tooting his horn, so I said we should all slow down, but the nice soldier let the traffic go.

This year, instead of taking the High Pavement to Gay Street and thence to The Circus, we went straight up a little lane to Alfred Street and joined the queue for the official count for the Guinness World Record attempt at the largest gathering of people in Regency costume: www.janeausten.co.uk/news.ihtml

Rachel and I are not in that picture, as it shows the other side of the ballroom! How dare they!! We were near the fireplace on the right of the double doors, not the left…oh, well…!

Outside, Robert, Eileen and Natalia were waiting for us, expecting us to leave by the back door like everyone else…but we had gone back to the bookshop to look at all those lovely costume books, so left by the front door. We were going to sneak up on them, but Natalia caught sight of Rachel’s pink dress and called her the Pink Panther.

On to the Royal Crescent2009 Promenade - Rachel, Natalia, & Sandi via The Circus, where we found everyone lining the railings…all the way round. What a sight! It turned out that this was for a souvenir panoramic photograph, and the photographer and a cameraman were down on the grass. The other side of the ha-ha more photographers were clicking away, so some people stayed where they were, even after the official guys had left.2009 Promenade - Royal Crescent 4 2009 Promenade - Royal Crescent 2

From the Royal Crescent, we headed down the Gravel Walk, and welcome shade, and on to Queen Square where a catering tent, stalls and entertainment had been laid on. Here, I took my Promenade ticket and collected my ‘Jane Austen Goody Bag’…containing a key ring, bent bookmark and a bottle of water…! Oh, joy!!

2009 Promenade & Return Journey 017  2009 Promenade & Return Journey 027

By this time, my feet were killing me, but it had all been worth it! I’d had a brilliant time, the weather had been perfect and I’d finally met three wonderful friends…Eileen, Rachel and Natalia. Thank you for making it such a memorable day…XXX

2009 Promenade & Return Journey 010

 

66 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:04 pm

    Deja vu! Am I caught in a time warp, I don\’t mind, I enjoyed it first time round and will enjoy it again. Only one big difference and that is that there will be less seam stress from Seamstress Sandi this time because learning by experience shows that it all comes right in the end!

  2. ROCKET permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:07 pm

    Even though it\’s girly stuff I still feel the need to comment. I think you did a great job on your costume and it looks like all three of you had a great time! Okay, Sandi, I did it. Now where are those choccie biccie you promised if I didn\’t post anything crazy?Actually, I was being sincere, even without the offered bribe. Oh, hi Annie! Fancy meeting you here.

  3. Sandi permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:24 pm

    LOL! I\’m gonna do my best to bore the pants off everyone again, this year, too! Actually, for those of you who are going to join us in Bath, in September, and want to make your own costumes, the web addresses of all my fave sites…about costumes, where to buy patters and accessories, etc., are also included in some of the blogs.Anne…less seam stress for my costume, because I have the patterns made now. But…Robert\’s costume is going to be this years steep learning curve. Oh, joy!!RM…the biscuit barrel is next to the tea, sugar and coffee canisters…don\’t eat them all, will you…be good and share…

  4. ROCKET permalink
    February 10, 2010 10:42 pm

    I promise….besides, I\’m full of ice cream at the moment.

  5. Sandi permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:03 pm

    Ice cream?! Oooh…what flavour? I love ice cream…!

  6. ROCKET permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:05 pm

    Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough!

  7. Curiosity permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:27 pm

    Tutti Frutti or Rocky Road my fav ice cream. Not that I have had either for years.

  8. Sandi permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:46 pm

    I was going to ask is it chocolate ice cream, Chip? (groan!) Sorry. My fave is cookie dough, or vanilla, or chocolate, or mint…yummy…!

  9. ROCKET permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:54 pm

    Butter brickle, coffee, Reese\’s peanut butter cup, strawaberry, fudge royale……..hot fudge sundaes, banana splits, root beer floats…..I\’m giving myself an imaginary stomach ache………at least I\’m not gaining any imaginary weight 🙂

  10. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:02 am

    Actually, I\’m used to hearing chocolate Chip, Chip off the old block (Pop really was called Chip when he was a boy), tater chip……you name it; I\’ve heard it over the past 1/2 century+. Yes I\’m THAT old!

  11. Princess permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:00 am

    Aaaaw I remb these the first time around, but great 2 re read & the phots are just great! Hope u have a Fab day 2day, Luv PF XXX

  12. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:04 pm

    PF…sunshine…yay!!! So it\’s a fab day…! (((HUGS)))RM…you should have been a carpenter, then…chippy…or worked in a chippy (chip shop), but you don\’t have them, do you…? Anyway, you call \’em fries…and chips are crisps…oh, you know what I mean…!!

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:07 pm

    Did you say Reese\’s peanut butter cup…ice cream…? Oh…ice cream heaven!!!! I love Reese\’s peanut butter cups! Mouth watering now…!!!

  14. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:43 pm

    I was a carpenter for a couple of years. In fact when Frankie and I met she was my helper for a year or so, until I changed jobs. And yes, it\’s peanut butter ice cream with Reese\’s cups broken into pieces in it!

  15. Deb's permalink
    February 11, 2010 4:19 pm

    hiya Sandi,((hugs))have you started making another costume in readiness for this year and didn\’t Eileen say she was going to get dressed up for this years event too ;))love n hugsdebsxXx

  16. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:31 pm

    Debs, I\’m sure she did say something like that…and Natalia…which is why I have included web addresses for suppliers of patterns and accessories, etc., for them and anyone else who might be interested in making a Regency costume…and joining us in Bath in September…!RM…drool…peanut butter cups…yummy…I want some…NOW…!!! I also love Kit-Kat Chunky peanut butter, but they seem to have suddenly vanished from the shops…grrrrrrr!!!!!!! I love peanut butter!!!

  17. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:52 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmm, peanut butter! The Resses Cup ice cream seems to have mysteriously vanished over night…….or Laura and John polished it off. Guess I\’ll have to settle for Double Churn Chocolate……or Vanilla Bean……..or maybe that container of Cherry Garcia I stashed behind the frozen broccoli…….Gotta go; Charlie is starting to rumble.

  18. Samuel J permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:15 pm

    Cherry Garcia, Chunky Monkey, Coffee, Peppermint Stick, Baileys are my favorite Ice creams……ooooooooo ice cream …….yummy, yummy, yummyRootbeer Float ice cream, too…Root beer floats, Banana Splits…..Must have Chocolate cake for ice cream……

  19. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:24 pm

    chocco cakechocco cakeeat so muchget a belly ache

  20. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:02 pm

    Hey, you guys…I\’m putting on the pounds just reading these comments…! Ice cream…cocolate…peanut butter…drool…!!!

  21. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:19 pm

    I think I gave Charlie a headache.

  22. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:40 pm

    LOL!!

  23. simon permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:44 pm

    Chocolate should be a class B drug. Restrict it\’s outlet to pharmacy\’s and Doctors only. That should improve this country\’s health.

  24. ROCKET permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:57 pm

    I take it the GBD is currently chocolate deprived.

  25. Curiosity permalink
    February 12, 2010 9:06 am

    Should be a warning about buying one bag of choc coated peanuts and one bag of choc coated raisins. I did and ran out of choc nuts before the choc raisins. Guess which I prefer!

  26. simon permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:13 am

    GBD? – Girls by design, global burden of diesese, Gotcha by default, Geatbritian deficiet, I\’m boggling – someone stop me !

  27. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:51 am

    STOP right there, GBD!!! How\’s that? (Lincoln has its own GBD, btw…!)I agree that chocolate should come with a Government Health Warning…and I prefer chocolate nuts too…!!!

  28. Curiosity permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:14 am

    Go Browsing Daily. Thank goodness for choccy digestives to munch while the steam cleaner heats up again, thus giving me the opportunity for a sit down.

  29. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:31 am

    Ginger bus driver me thinks RM meant…..Right now STOP talking about all that chocolate! You know it\’s not fair on this little lass… I\’m getting hungry :o(Debs.. I\’d love to get dressed up but alas.. Sandi doesn\’t have time to make an outfit for me as well as all the other things she has to make.

  30. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:31 am

    Don\’t leave choccy digestives near me…you\’ll never see \’em again!!! Yummy scrummy, my fat tummy…!!!

  31. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:37 am

    LOL.. you know yesterday at work I was quite happily munching on a packet of crisps.. I put them down to answer the phone and my boss came in and scoffed the lot and then proceeded to help himself to my rocky road bites! I was more upset that he\’d eaten my crisps!

  32. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:38 am

    Er…Eileen…have you not been paying attention…?!! http://giftshop.janeausten.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_Costume.htmlhttp://www.dressing-history.co.uk/shop/haberdashers.html(I really could do with a dress-maker\’s form, you know…!!!)

  33. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:40 am

    LOL! Eileen, does your boss keep snacks in his office? How would he feel if you wandered in and helped yourself…?!! Naughty boss!! (Ever thought of tak a skillet to work with you…?) 😉

  34. Curiosity permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:48 am

    Sandi, last year I looked on ebay to see if there were any \’forms\’ but they were soo expensive. I asked my mum if she still had the one I bought her years ago that she never used. It may be in the attic but I think it only goes up to size 14.

  35. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:50 am

    Lol.. I\’ll let him off this time.Um yes I have been paying attention.. but have you seen those prices!!!!!!!

  36. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:54 am

    What on earth is a dressmakers form…..

  37. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:55 am

    Oh.. stupid me.. just googled it.. we have one.. it\’s all set up to my size and waiting impatiently for me to get my act together and make my dress for the Fae weekend…<< walks off quietly >>

  38. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:43 pm

    Dressmaker\’s form/dummy…if they are too small, then they can be padded out and covered in calico to give the correct size…a bit like sculpting or model-making.Prices at the Jane Austen Centre are about average, really…only one dress pattern available at Dressing History, but at £5 is a bargain! Vena Cava, on the other hand is well pricey, and only have the one pattern for the Regency period, too http://www.venacavadesign.co.uk/Products/1790\’s-1810\’s_Lady\’s_Riding_or_Travelling_Outfit.htmlThe actual costume items at the JA Centre are expensive, but they are not mass-produced.

  39. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:55 pm

    That\’s a nice pattern Sandi..

  40. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:58 pm

    Which one? Vena Cava\’s riding habit?

  41. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:03 pm

    Yes, I rather like the detail on the back :o)

  42. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:21 pm

    So do I…the original outfit is in Salsibury Museum, and is one that Janet Arnold featured in her book Patterns Of Fashion 1. I used it as the basis for my spencer.

  43. Cornish permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    Just think, that was nearly five months ago now. Still feels like yesterday sometimes. Got sunburnt in the queue waiting to go into the assembly rooms. What\’s it like to get burnt? I forgot!

  44. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:36 pm

    Lol Rachel.. I can\’t quite remember myself! Although the the stinging skin feeling I get when moisturising my face is reminicient ( sore nose from stinking cold that doesn\’t want to go away ).

  45. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:21 pm

    Nearly five months!! It does not feel that long ago…and what a beautiful day it was, too. Parasols were a must to prevent sunburn…a tan is most unbecoming in a lady…!

  46. commander permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:26 pm

    just passing but kept going ….boy do i feel left out when u r goin on about frocks \’n\’stuff.

  47. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:42 pm

    Hello, Robin. Why do you feel left out? Would you like me to make you one…?!! Ane with a bonnet to match…?!! We aren\’t always going on about frocks and stuff, y\’know…oh, did you miss the ice cream, chocolate, and choccy biccies a bit earlier, then…? (Scroll down…!)

  48. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 2:59 pm

    Aw sorry Robin shall we put the kettle on for you?I\’ll keep quiet about my little project going on tonight.. I\’m not sure but I really do think Brian enjoys stringing my corset up………..

  49. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:14 pm

    LOL! Enjoy yourselves, Eileen…

  50. Eileen permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:40 pm

    Oh we will Sandi.. we will ;o)Have a lovely weekendxXx

  51. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:33 pm

    OK, I now know what my next blog will be about…it will only be a short one, if I can get the words out right…!

  52. Cornish permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:41 pm

    Men would rather undo the corset Eileen! I think they would any way, I don\’t know for sure. Hope you are having a great evening. I\’m sure you are.I missed the ice cream but then I can\’t eat yours anyway. Have to have my own special sort.Intrigued with the new blog now Sandi, spit it out maid! xx

  53. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 8:19 pm

    Rachel, methinks Brian enjoys tightening the corset, because he will have the pleasure of loosening it later…oh, the anticipation…! ;-)Will get on with the new blog in a mo…hopefully, it will get peeps \’spilling the beans\’ if you like…!

  54. Cornish permalink
    February 12, 2010 9:28 pm

    Duh! Silly me. I didn\’t think of that. So used to struggling into and out of mine by myself that the thought never even entered my head. Kills your arms tightening those laces!

  55. Mike permalink
    February 12, 2010 9:55 pm

    Same here Rachel…..and the lace strings mark my delicate fingers too! Have a good weekend all…..looks like Eileens is off (not refering to corset!) to a flyer! 🙂 xxx

  56. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2010 10:29 pm

    Changed my mind about that blog…for the moment. Words won\’t come out right…typical!

  57. ROCKET permalink
    February 13, 2010 1:36 am

    Rachel is right. I can\’t wait to get the corset unstrung because of the way it digs in when I where it too long……….I didn\’t type that out loud did I? Never mind.

  58. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:29 am

    "Ere…wot\’s that creaking noise…?!" "Eh? Oh, that\’s only RM and his creaky corset." Dunno how you manage to sneak up n your wildlife making all hat noise..! LOL!! 😉

  59. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:31 am

    Darned computers…missing out letters! I thought it was my PC keyboard, but it happens on this laptop, too…so it must be WLS, because I don\’t think it happens when I do anything anywhere else…!

  60. ROCKET permalink
    February 13, 2010 11:28 am

    I wear rubber caps on my 6 inch heels when out in the field in my corset.

  61. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2010 11:34 am

    And I thought it was Una Stubbs who played Aunt Sally in Worzel Gummidge…when all along it was really you…?!!

  62. ROCKET permalink
    February 13, 2010 4:13 pm

    Ssssssssh! Simon will get jealeous. Let this be out little secret, okay? ARRRGH! Now my keyboard is acting up!

  63. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2010 5:10 pm

    I think it\’s WLS and not the keyboard, because I\’m using the laptop at the mo and this is doing the same…can\’t be bth keyboards can it!Can\’t have Simon getting jealous, oh no….my lips are sealed…!

  64. simon permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:12 pm

    How can i be jealeous (ain\’t that like jelly ?) of a mere 6 " . Pfft.

  65. ROCKET permalink
    February 13, 2010 8:12 pm

    @ Sandi – I think it\’s probably the same diagnosis we used any time we couldn\’t duplicate the problem a driver complained about……………………"Must be operator error."@ GBD – The same way you get to Carnegie Hall; practice, practice, practice. BTW, are you still using my orange, red and yellow feather boa? I need it to complete my outfit for the Valentine\’s Day Cotillion at Big Ethel\’s.

  66. Sandi permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:57 am

    Simon, \’jealeous\’ does sound like jelly don\’t it…LOL! (Sorry) 😉 So, are you bragging aout having 7"…or even 8"…heels (before anyone gets any wrong ideas…!!)…?!!RM…operator error, eh? So how come I can type the whole word out, and when I check what I have written, see that half the letters are missing…OK, maybe not half but at least some of them (and with very funny results sometimes!)

Leave a Reply

