Skip to content

Talking about Memories of the Old Neighbourhood

April 2, 2010

 Today, I have been on my travels, re-visiting the neighbourhood where I grew up and went to school…and spent the whole afternoon wandering my old stomping ground.  How things have changed in the old town…for the better!!

 

Anyway, here is the blog I wrote last year…an updated blog is in progress with some more photos… 

Quote

Memories of the Old Neighbourhood

There is a little town, on the south bank of the Thames, called Erith (pronounced Ear-ith), where I grew up. Erith, when I was a child, was a busy town of attractive Victorian shops, and we lived in a sizeable three bedroom maisonette above one of them, on the High Street.

Erith

After my brother was born, we moved up the hill to Home Northumberland Heath, Erith, where we were joined by a sister and brother. My brother Bill and I used to wander far and wide, getting up to mischief, especially after Saturday morning cinema, and I remember the group of us getting kicked out because of stink bombs…it transpired that my little bro put one in his pocket…and it broke!

When I was about ten or eleven,Tom's House a new boy, Tom, moved into the neighbourhood, and I remember the evenings when he would sit in the tree at the bottom of his garden chatting to me and Bill, and throwing washers about…apparently, there were boxes and boxes of them in the shed.

In the winter, when we had real snow, I remember a snowball fight with me and Tom, in his garden, against Bill and John out in the road. I have no idea who won, but it was fun!

Meeting Place Anyway, by my teens the bottom of mine and Gary’s gardens had become a regular meeting place, with the boys one side and the girls the other, and as the evening progressed and everyone else went home…I used to disappear down the alley with Tom (where Dad used to have to go looking for me to fetch me home…!) Happy memories.

At the top on my road lived a family. When the family moved out, an op-art poster (something like this) was clearly visible in the back bedroom, and TomOp-art said he liked it. Thinking about it now, I am really surprised at my audacity. A new family moved in, so I went and knocked on the door, telling them that I’d just moved out and left my favourite poster behind…and can I have it back, please. Up in the bedroom, I went to the poster only to find it had been pasted to the door…shock!! Horror!! Relax…it came off easily. I don’t think Tom was expecting me to actually go and pilfer it for him…LOL!

Another memory was of me and Jan being home alone. We were in the back room when we noticed a small child standing in the doorway of the garage. “Who’s that?!” we asked as we both raced out of the back door and down to the garage…to find absolutely no one at all! We searched in the garage, the garden, our neighbour’s gardens, but there was nowhere for a small child to go in the couple of seconds it took us to get out of the door! Very strange! That was not the only strange/eerie/weird thing that happened at that house, either.

Aye…I remember when I were a lass…October 1974

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:35 pm

    Tee Hee Hee….oh I remember hanging out in that garden tee hee hee!

  2. simon permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:51 pm

    This brings back a memory of two- Rebbeca Knocker and Elaine Silvester in Rebbecas apple tree – sigh- I miss Elaine (aged 6 at the time). Looking forward to the update 🙂

  3. Sandi permalink
    April 3, 2010 12:00 am

    Anne…I went to your house today…in Swanton Road. I had forgotten how nice it must be to live in Sussex Road, facing the park (\’rec\’ as we all used to call it). The park-keeper\’s house and garden have gone, it looks as though it is now a bowls club…and Sussex Road does not stop at the footpath, but curves round into what used to be our school playing field, which is a new housing estate. How dare they!!Simon, go see if your apple tree is still there…!

  4. Maria permalink
    April 3, 2010 1:38 am

    I remember the original post you wrote and the many comments too, but thanks for the reminder. What a lovely way to spend the day, re-visiting old stomping grounds. I must admit I haven\’t done it for a while, the last time I did things had changed so much it was rather upseting..but then I\’m an old sentimental who doesn\’t always see progress as a positive thing xxx

  5. Sandi permalink
    April 3, 2010 9:34 am

    Any progress in Erith, after that concrete abomination is good progress. Anyone can see for themselves if the go to Google Maps and type in Erith, Kent and view the aerial photograph…or Satellite, rather. If you go to Street View, you can see how open and landscaped the place is now compared to the top picture. That concrete fortress became a no-go area, and Erith was a died a death at the hands of those \’town planners\’!! Vandals, hooligans, gangs and junkies took over, basically…it resembled a film set from some post-apocalyptic movie…but now it is re-born…like a phoenix out of the ashes of \’progress\’!

  6. Princess permalink
    April 3, 2010 10:46 am

    Wow! I really enjoyed that! I love peops reliving childhood mems, that was great! Fab 2 have the photos 2!!!! I shall look 4ward 2 the update!- Hurry Up then!!!Hope u & Bob have a FANTASTIC Easter, Luv PF XXX

  7. Sandi permalink
    April 3, 2010 11:08 am

    On it, boss!

  8. Europa's permalink
    April 4, 2010 12:08 am

    Had to have a little look…being a curious Wolfie! That was really interesting…and I did enjoy your photos. Reminded me of some places in Manchester I used to see when visiting my grandparents as a child. They lived in more central M/cr than we did and there were some very similar scenes. Good memories. You sound to have been a very cheeky young girl!…some things…as you said…never change!lol!!! ;))

Leave a Reply

