Skip to content

Burghley House Battle Prom

July 25, 2010
Two weeks ago, I had a wonderful day out to Stamford, then a short walk to Burghley House for the Battle Prom later in the afternoon.
 
It would have been impossible for me to go, as the tickets were £30, which I couldn’t afford…but a couple of FB friends are re-enactors, and were taking part, so they had free tickets which they offered to me.  All I had to do was arrange my own transport.  Getting there was no problem, but trying to find transport for the retun journey was nigh on impossible, as all buses and trains seemed to finish about ten o’clock!
 
I nearly declined the offer, but Robert said that he would drive down to pick me up after he’d finished work at the restraunt…which he did (bless him! Red heart)
 
Costume was optional, so I took mine to change into when I got there.  Gavin said I could use their tent, and that he would stand guard.  (He didn’t need to, as there was no-one around…I think he just wanted to be chivalrous…!  Wink )  Sarah, her mother and stepfather were riding in the cavalry demonstrations later on…Gavin couldn’t, as he’d broken his arm earlier in the week…so he did the commentary instead.
 
 
 
At 7pm on the dot, Carolyn Grace http://www.ml407.co.uk/pages/index.html flew in and did a display while the orchestra played the Spitfire Prelude…stirring stuff!!  The evening included 1812 Overture with accompanying rifles, muskets and cannons…awesome!!  Later in the evening, as it got dark, the penultimate piece was Beethoven’s Battle Symphony…with rifles, muskets, even more cannons and fireworks!  It was absolutely brilliant!!  And in true prom-style, they finished with Land of Hope & Glory.
 
 
 
In all a fantastic day.
 
 
 
25 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:28 pm

    The first photo was taken by Cecile Dubois of myself, Jill Hars and Steven Hars (of the 44th East Essex). The second photo is of Sarah Hollidge on Marble, during the cavalry demonstration. The third photo is of a handful of the guns used during the evening.

  2. simon permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:47 pm

    This hobby of your\’s – you\’re not half hearted with it are you !

  3. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2010 9:53 pm

    What do you mean, Mr Gore…?!

  4. simon permalink
    July 25, 2010 10:24 pm

    It\’s a proper hobby- A hobby you are committed too. T\’was meant as an encouragement. As in \’go for it\’ . Unlike some of my hobbies that are come n go wishy washy when i feel like it kinda thing < feeling awkward now> Perhaps i should be clearer next time ?

    • October 10, 2010 1:29 pm

      Some of my hobbies are come n go, wishy washy, when I feel like it kinda thing, too…like patchwork, needlepoint, writing, etc.
      This costuming hobby seems to be taking hold good and proper, as I have loved costume and fashion since I was a child, but never had any outlet for making or wearing, apart from amateur dramatics.
      Now I have excuses for making and wearing my favourite costumes, and am discovering a whole new world of events, suppliers, patterns, etc. Brilliant! I feel like a child in a toyshop or sweet shop!!! 🙂

  5. Curiosity permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:11 pm

    Bet you were in your element Sandi! It looks a great day and even I would have enjoyed all the poop and ceremony of the music and cannons etc.

  6. Curiosity permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:12 pm

    omg do not believe I typed \’poop\’ I meant \’pomp\’. Darn it, I said the other day that my nails needed a trim.

  7. Bran permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:22 pm

    Small world Sandi—- the lovely Cecile is one of the most colourful characters at all the faery festivals —- lots of pictures of her on face-book.

  8. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:34 pm

    I like poop and ceremony, Anne…it was held in the deer park after all…lots of deer poop all over the place…oh, and the piles of horsey stuff, too! LOL!!Bran, I thought she looked familiar…!

  9. Sandi permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:35 pm

    Simon, have been into the Regency thing for many years, but since I discovered the Jane Austen Festival…WOO HOO…!!!

  10. Sandi permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:29 am

    Bran…had a look at your photos of last years Fest…yep…Cecile and Simon were both there.

  11. Eileen permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:43 am

    Sounds like an excellent day Sandi! Maybe when all this \’house\’ stuff is done and dusted we can think about joining in with some of the fun!

  12. Sandi permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:21 am

    How\’s it going, Eileen? Found anywhere yet?

  13. Eileen permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:57 am

    Not as such – we have to sell his house first and that\’s the hard bit – we spend pretty much all our spare time going through the house. But if we don\’t sell by January we\’re going to do his house up and stay there until the kids have all gone.

  14. Sandi permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:07 pm

    Looks like a nice house anyway…I\’d buy it if I could!

  15. Eileen permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:21 pm

    Oh yes his house is lovely.. but it is his and his ex\’s house so it would be preferable to get something together that we can make ours.

  16. Natalia permalink
    July 26, 2010 7:01 pm

    Yay! Sandi, did s blog, Sandi did a blog. You still solved the mystery of the damaged spencer though have you?I bet that battle symphony had something to do with. It would have had busting out all over. Have you got any Photos of it? x

  17. Sandi permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:54 pm

    Yes…I\’ve written a blog…!! Robert and Gavin both said my spencer was fine when I left Burghley, and Robert would have noticed if it was torn when I got home.I must have done it when I took it off!

  18. Europa's permalink
    July 26, 2010 11:37 pm

    Just indulged in my battle enactment fighting to find a way back to your space to see whether you\’d been inspired to produce a further blog! How rewarding to see you have 😉 I think I can feel a monsterous green streak coming on! Looks like a great day and lucky people they were riding in the calvery demos…and a good rendering of Land of Hope and Glory\’s guaranteed to lift the spirits!

  19. Sandi permalink
    July 27, 2010 10:12 am

    It sure does! Although the Spitfire Prelude had my hair standing on end, especially with Carolyn Grace hurtling overhead in her Spitfire!1812 Overture and Battle Symphony were very exciting with all the live accompaniment (is that how it\’s spelled/spelt…can\’t be bothered to go and get my dictionary!!)

  20. Natalia permalink
    July 27, 2010 5:04 pm

    I like it when you blog Sandi, it puts everything in greater perspective. I think though that when I comment next, I check before I press Add. I\’m with Wolfie on this on just a tiny green streak. I feel sure I would have enjoyed it as much as you did. xx

  21. Sandi permalink
    July 27, 2010 7:59 pm

    I bet you would have, Natalia, it was just brilliant!

  22. Sandi permalink
    September 26, 2010 10:29 pm

    How long since I blogged last???? Methinks I\’m going to have to play catch-up!!!

  23. Sandi permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:32 am

    Now that I have decided to write a catch-up blog…they have announced the closure of WLS…!!! Why???? I have tried other social networks, and didn\’t like them for one reason or another, so I really don\’t want to move to yet another one!OK, so I\’m still not happy with how WLS is, but it\’s HOME!!! 😦

Leave a Reply

