Skip to content

A Bit Of A Catch-Up

October 10, 2010
Now I’m here, I thought that it was about time I wrote a quick update blog…so here goes…
As you know, my last proper blog was about my day at Burghley House for the Battle Prom…and that was in July.  It is now October!  Since then I have been busy sewing, making Robert a costume for the Jane Austen Festival in Bath, last month.  The shirt I’d already made.  This was followed by a waistcoat, which I ended up making just a tad too short, due to somehow cutting a chunk out of a corner!  Doh!!
Anyway, I’d bought a pattern from Reconstructing History for an 1820s tailcoat, and started to make it up in calico.  This was when when all the problems began to materialise…nothing matched up, and the shapes of the coat, collar and tails were a total nightmare!  The instructions were scant, even though the pattern promised ‘detailed instructions’!  Basically, I had to totally re-do the whole pattern and make another calico toile, re-jigging until I was happy with it.
All the time, Promenade day loomed ever closer, and I still hadn’t made any trousers!  I began to panic.  My costume was also in the process of being updated, as I had to run up a new spencer since the satin one ended up with the back splitting.
To cut a long story short, we packed up the costumes…along with my sewing kit…and headed for Trowbridge to stop with Robert’s mum for a few days.  Almost as soon as we arrived, out came the costumes and sewing re-commenced, and with Vi’s help, we did go to the ball…well, the Promenade, actually!
Robert’s sister Karen drove us to Bath, but because I had been sewing like a lunatic since I had got up, we arrived a bit late…the Promenade had already started.  We joined the column of promenaders and proceeded to have a grand day.  Because we were late, we didn’t get to meet up with friends as arranged, so didn’t know who was or wasn’t there, but we did find some of them, and had a fantastic day.
The next weekend we went to London for Robert’s school reunion at the Bridge Hotel in Greenford.  He had booked us into a hotel in Westminster, so after dropping Lynda off at her parent’s in Greenford, we headed for the tube station, only to find that there was nowhere to park.  On to the next station, car parked in tiny carpark, and off to town we went.
Waterloo!  I so wanted to go this year, only I didn’t mean the flippin’ station!!!  Anyway…a walk to the hotel…only to find that it was booked for Sunday night!  We ended up laughing about it as it only cost a couple of pounds…lol!  Robert phoned Lynda’s parents and explained what had happened, so we headed back to Greenford to stop the night with them…only things began to go a bit wrong.
After a quick drink at The Wellesley, at Waterloo, we headed back to the underground…and an announcement that a station had closed, the Central Line was closed, etc., etc.  We attempted to find another route to get back to Perivale, where the car was parked, but another announcement, followed by another, then another, and more and more people cramming onto the platforms and the tunnels between different stations…OK, I cannot remember any order, just tunnels, platforms, announcements, backwards, forwards, more and more people…I was beginning to panic…I just wanted to get out!  Suffice it to say, we got back to Greenford in one piece, and went to the reunion that evening.
Since then…nothing much has happened.  I tidied up some of the mess that had accumulated whilst I was mad sewing woman, only for it to creep back as I’m still in a creative mood and want to make something else…or finish a couple of the things I’ve already started…
Whatever I do, you can bet your bottom dollar that it won’t be very interesting…so I won’t bore you with it…lol!!
Pr

Promenading in the Royal Crescent, Bath

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalia permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:10 pm

    Hiya Missus,
    Yes that weekend brings back some very special memories for me too. You had good weather again, just a pity you got held up. “All turned out well in the end” Even Robert’s trousers held up too. 😉 I did write a blog about that week, I even got to see Eileen in the week. Oh well back to normal now. xx

  2. October 10, 2010 11:44 pm

    I missed out an important bit, didn’t I!! Maybe I should do a blog about the SS Great Britain and Brunel…and our afternoon in Bristol.
    Maybe…also…I should do a seperate blog about Robert’s trousers, too???

  3. October 11, 2010 9:00 am

    What a busy page! Can see I am going to have to put the kettle on and have a good old read and catch up…..perhaps it should be called Madwoman Magazine! lol

  4. October 11, 2010 9:44 am

    I’ve never been fond of the tube! Lol, well what a lot crammed in there, bet you were exhausted 🙂 like the photo Sandi btw x

    • October 13, 2010 1:12 am

      It went from being funny, to downright stressful!! I was actually scared!!

  5. October 11, 2010 11:32 am

    Has Technogran posted about setting up photo albums yet…that’s a point, are photo albums available on here???
    Adding photos to a blog is rather a pain in the wotsit, and is rather long-winded, innit?! That is my first attempt at adding a photo to a blog…I would have added a lot more if this was WLS, but it isn’t (sigh), but hopefully, I can add a few more to another blog, about an afternoon in Bristol with Natalia and a visit to the SS Great Britain.

    • October 18, 2010 11:35 am

      Yes I have Madwoman, and may I take this opportunity to encourage you to use Live Writer for all your future posts on here if you don’t already use it. WordPress does have a Media feature which includes any photos that you might want to use inside a blog post if you so wish, but its a bit of a faff to be honest with you. Follow my how to’ s on the subject here at http://technograns.wordpress.com
      I am just in the throes of doing one about Live Writer and WordPress. Writer makes is easy peasy to add photos to your blog post. Honest! I can’t blog now without using it.

  6. October 11, 2010 12:01 pm

    If you use Live writer it is just as easy to do the photos in a blog. Yes, Technogran has mentioned photo albums (I added pics to a page for a temporary fix) I think she said something about downloading them to Picasso or sumink! I ws going to try to do a link to Skydrive for mine but not had time yet. So I will be following your lead on that!

  7. October 11, 2010 12:11 pm

    So much for keeping things simple! These days you need more and more different things just to do one simple thing!! It drives me nuts!!
    I haven’t found Live Writer on the laptop yet, and since my PC has bit the dust, I will just have to carry on as I am. Oh, well…!

  8. Rocket Man permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:06 am

    Live Writer has served me well and I still use it every day. Picasa is a photo editor, downloadable free of charge from Google. It had nearly the same functionality as Photoshop Essentials (which I paid $80 for, damn it!) and also has online photo album features.

    No on to the important stuff; the new jacket you made for me has nice shiny buckles in the back but the straps don’t line up correctly. I have 3 huge limps on my headbone from falling off the sofa while trying to squirm out of the jacket! Oooooh, look…….birdies 🙂

  9. Rocket Man permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:06 am

    That should read 3 huge LUMPS. My limps are in my legs, not my headbone.

  10. October 12, 2010 12:41 pm

    I love using Live Writer, I used it all the time on the PC, but that poor old dinosaur has bit the dust!

  11. October 12, 2010 3:46 pm

    Yo! Found you here too! Getting good at this! No problem downloading you at work…good connection signal but back at the house…Anyway 🙂 You can still download live writer can’t you? They’re bringing the upgraded version out later this autumn I understand too. Now…since I am here….and RM is here too…lol…and those nice shiney buckly at the back jackets have been mentioned 🙂 I owe him…for making me wait till tomorrow for Pt 3 of his blog…Whacka! Whacka! Whacka! Bangy! Bangy! Bangy!!! Look forward to the continued adventures of a madwoman! lol 😉

    • October 12, 2010 3:51 pm

      Well, that’s a handful of friends found…get your hunting head on, Wolfie, and round up the rest of ’em. 😉
      I’ve just opened a new blog, just for the Regency/Napoleonic stuff, so will play with that a bit later, and see about importing specific blog entries into it.
      Now it’s time for w-w-w-w-w…o..r…k…!!

  12. October 13, 2010 12:56 pm

    It is a great shame that spaces couldn’t have transferred us complete with our networks intact, I’m still searching for a few folk but then again I suppose it keeps us busy lol!

    Robin regularly complains about my ‘creative piles’ too (no puns please) but it is so time consuming refiling books and materials every night when you know you’ll need them again next morning.

    On the subject of historic costuming has anyone got any recommendations for creating an Elizabethan style gown please?

    • October 13, 2010 2:48 pm

      It’s amazing how many dress patterns are now available for costumes of all eras, Sarah, so I will post some links to my favourites for you to browse, including costume-makers and their articles.

  13. Sandi permalink*
    October 17, 2010 10:52 pm

    Where’s my WordPress toolbar gone?

    • October 17, 2010 11:27 pm

      I know just what you mean, I lose mine too, it usually depends on how I arrive at my site. Hit and miss with me, have not worked out which way is bona fide yet!

      • October 17, 2010 11:45 pm

        I eneded up having to put in wordpress.com then signing in again…pain in the butt! I normally get here by opening a new tab and clicking on whichever blog I want.

    • October 18, 2010 11:39 am

      You will lose if if you ever sign out of WordPress or use a different browser which hasn’t got your username and password saved.
      Just pop along to http://www.wordpress.com and look up at the top left hand side, then put in your username and password. Then don’t forget to let your browser remember it, your Navibar should then appear again.

      • October 18, 2010 12:06 pm

        Thanks TG…that’s what I had to do. But I hadn’t signed out at all, so I don’t know why it happened.

  14. Mike Mac permalink
    October 29, 2010 8:34 pm

    Hiya Sandi, yeah thought your place was ‘open’ as i’ve popped in before without having to log in! I’m just encouraging Princess to join us….its gotta be alot harder for her as she has a much larger friends list and i guess she’s worried that alot of them who havn’t crossed over yet won’t actually bother so could end up losing many of them! Havn’t done too much myself since transferring over, just a few jokey blogs…so is your username Madwoman or Sandi? I’ll add you ok….i did have mine ‘open’ for a while but junk mail seemed to increase so went private and its decreased…..don’t know if they’re connected but why take the chance?! xxx

Leave a Reply

