Skip to content

Just A General Waffle

October 30, 2010

Well, well, well…time to write another blog, I guess.  Like the title says…Just A General Waffle…so…what shall I waffle about???

This year has been a year of change all round…work, home, etc. and not just for us, as friends have had their own changes to deal with…both good and bad.

Whatever people may say about such social networks as Facebook, I am thankful to it for my growing number of friends who share the same interests as me.  For years, prior to getting the computer, I felt like I was a minority when it came to a love of books, history, costume, and all things Regency/Napoleonic/Empire…and longed for someone to talk to and share observations, thoughts and ideas.  Thanks to Facebook, I now have that outlet.  Aren’t computers great!!

People met at the Jane Austen Festival have since become friends, and their worlds of re-enacting and costume-making, and of course history have inspired me.  Through them I have learned of many events…most of them I couldn’t get to…but a couple of them I did…(YAY!!)  In May, Robert and I went to Newstead Abbey for the NA (Napoleonic Association) re-enactment, and had a brilliant day, despite the changeable weather…and in the summer, I was able to go to the Burghley House Battle Prom…brilliant!

Last month we went to Bath for the Jane Austen Festival, and while staying in Trowbridge for a few days, popped over to Bristol to spend the afternoon with Natalia, where we took a ferry down river to the SS Great Britain.  In the evening, we met up with Robert’s friend, Leon, and visited a lovely little riverside pub.

The the following weekend we had Robert’s school reunion…and a bit of an adventure in London when the hotel that Robert booked for the Saturday night…was actually booked for the Sunday night!  So we had to get the tube from Waterloo and head back to Greenford to stay with friends for the night. 

The journey into London was uneventful, but it was a different matter on the way back!!  Announcement after announcement told of stations closed or the whole of the Central line closed, and as more and more people tried to find alternative routes, the place was getting more and more packed and hot and stuffy.  I was sure I was going to have a panic attack!!  It was not at all nice!!!  That evening,  the reunion was held at The Bridge Hotel in Greenford, and was a very pleasant contrast to that afternoon!!!

There have been changes at work, too, as it was discovered that there was supposed to be five cleaners and one supervisor, rather than me cleaning and supervising, with the result that I ended up running around like a blue-arsed fly every day!

At home, Robert finished papering the living-room, we got rid of the old sofas when we were given a sofa/bed, carpet was laid, the hallway has been painted white, and new downlights installed.  We haven’t finished the decorating yet, as the new architrave around the doors still needs sanding between coats of paint, and one of the over-doors still needs blocking in…it’s on-going…work-in-progress…but at least something has been done (after all these years).

So, what’s next?  Who knows…watch this space (as I’m fond of saying!)  😉

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 7:37 pm

    Wow! Your lead a very busy and interesting life in complete contrast to me! London. Hmm. Looks like you were having a similar visit to my recent foray to the capital. We were in Bath last year (I think) went down for the day and looked around the Jane Austen museum. I’m into all of that sort of thing and secretly wish we could all return to that time.
    Enjoying watching Downtown Abbey on TV for just that same reason.

    • October 31, 2010 10:31 am

      Yo Sandi! Hehehehehe, great 2 see ur site! Lovely phot of u! I think I shall have got used 2 wp in approximately a years time! Hope u have a lovely day 2day, Luv PF XXX

  2. October 31, 2010 10:50 am

    Interesting, TG?? This is the sum total of my year…which is an improvement on last year, only just. But, a journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step…so who knows what next year may bring!!

    Hi, PF…I’m still getting used to the layout of everything and what this or that does…if you have any questions, Technogran will help you with it.

  3. October 31, 2010 7:49 pm

    Oh don’t worry about London Sandi lol it’s always like that…all perfectly normal and you soon get used to it…especially at weekends 😉

    Running round like a blue-arsed fly is part and party of any supervisory position! Important to learn the art of delegation…lol…delegate! delegate! delegate! Then slip off for a well earned cuppa 🙂

    • October 31, 2010 9:07 pm

      You mean that stations and lines are always being closed…and people get herded like sheep as they try to find alternative routes??? No thank you!! I wouldn’t want to get used to that!
      As for supervising, now I am just a supervisor I have to find things to do…got to look busy…lol!

  4. Arlene permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hi Sandi nice to see you back on the blog circuit, and as TG said you have been very busy, but I bet you enjoy it. You’re right about computers, I too think they’re marvellous inventions, they take lonely and housebound people all round the world at the touch…, I just love the whole technology, and the ‘friends’ I’ve made, It’s something to look forward to, seeing hat folk get up to.
    I’ve been watching Downton Abbey too TG, but I can’t say I’m all that impressed by the acting and it seems to be running out of steam, though maybe with the Irish plot, it may liven up.
    Look forward to more penmanship from you Sandi.

  5. November 1, 2010 2:28 pm

    Most of my blogging is on the other one…Roundgown & Reticules, as I’m very much into costume-making, and all things Regency/Napoleonic.
    I watched the first Episode of Downton Abbey, but couldn’t be bothered after that. I wish they would bring back Poldark!!

Leave a Reply

