Skip to content

Planned Quilt

January 29, 2011

Last week I was browsing a new quilting website, when one caught my eye.  It was bold, but simple, and looked quite stunning…and I fell in love with it, thinking that it would be perfect for the bedroom.

It is called Black Tie, and there are only four colours involved…black, white, red, and beige…so I downloaded the instructions and printed them off.  All I have to do now is to work out how many squares I would have to construct, plus border, and how much fabric will be needed for a bed-sized quilt, as this one is only 45″ square.

The fabrics will have to be sourced and purchased elsewhere, as there is nothing to be found in Lincoln that is suitable for patchwork.  (Oh for the days when there was a choice of drapery stores, plus a lovely little patchwork and quilting shop on Steep Hill!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 7:53 pm

    That’s very nice Sandi, and a very apt name as it does look like a ‘dicky bow’ I wish you luck in looking for the fabric, and perhaps you’ll post the finished bedspread.
    I know what you mean about lack of drapery shops, there was one in every high street at least, but I think I only know of two in about 5 miles.

    • February 6, 2011 7:57 pm

      Not only did we have two within one stretch of the upper High Street, but some of the stores had good haberdashery departments, so you could find anything you needed. Oh, those were the days…!

  2. March 17, 2011 5:59 pm

    that looks like a native American design, Sandi, it reminds me of some work from the Four corners region of the USA. it is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

