Skip to content

St George’s Day…London 2011

May 18, 2011

This year I definitely had a birthday to remember!  Not only did St Geaorge’s Day fall on a Saturday, but it was also Easter Weekend…and we were spending the day in London!

The weather was glorious, which is usually unheard of for bank holiday weekends, so I got very hot and foot-sore, and later developed a bit of a headache.

We headed down to Essex to stop with Robert’s friend Ian and his wife Jo, on Friday, and because the weather was so lovely had dinner out on the terrace.  The reason that I mentioned this is because Robert got bitten…but more of that later.

Tower Bridge

Saturday morning, we caught the underground train, which went most of the way overground, into London, getting off near the Tower of London.  We did a lap of the Tower, taking a stroll onto Tower Bridge before taking the riverside walk…

…past what used to be Billingsgate market…

Not Venice... Billingsgate, London

…the no so old London Bridge…

…Southwark Bridge…

Southwark Bridge

…and the Millenium Bridge…

Millenium Bridge

…then on to St Paul’s…

St Paul's

By this time my feet were killing me and I was feeling very hot and sweaty, which was not very nice at all!  So we headed down Ludgate Hill to Fleet Street to a little hostelry that Robert had been to last time he was in London…

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese

…Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese.  This was a lovely old inn dating back to the 17th century, with bars on various levels…mostly down in the old cellars…

From here we headed for the other side of the river to The Black Friar…

The Black Friar

…where we met up with Ian and Jo, and John and Anne-Marie…before moving on to Doggett’s…

Doggett's

…then to The Mad Hatter…

The Mad Hatter

…where Pete joined us.  Next we headed for the Founders Arms…

Founders Arms

…which was very, very busy…but we found a table!

This post is getting very long, so I shall leave it at that, and continue our ‘trek’ around London in part two…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 12:59 pm

    And then on to The Mad Hatter. I was smiling at this point and then I saw the photo. God bless you Sandi, such joy and jubilation in that photo, I am chuckling as I type. And Wow, that photo at the top. Until then, I was unaware of how much the Thames had changed. My last recollection of it was when my Dad and I would spend time on one of the ferries when I was much younger.

    Lovely post Sandi and pleased you had such a good time. xx

    • May 18, 2011 2:23 pm

      Glad it made you smile, Natalia.
      While my feet hurt, and I was feeling hot and uncomfortable…I wasn’t having such a good time. I was trailing behind the others, and struggling to keep up…I thought I was going to be lost in the London throng!! But next day I could easily forget all that and remember the places we’d been to. 🙂

  2. May 18, 2011 1:50 pm

    Poor ol’ feet must have needed a good soak by the time you had traipsed all that way! Lovely Pics.

    • May 18, 2011 2:15 pm

      And this was just the beginning…we’d been out since 9am. It was a very loooooong day!

  3. Roket Man permalink
    May 19, 2011 3:57 am

    Very cool! Why do I get the feeling that there was a LOT more to this adventure?

    • May 19, 2011 11:10 am

      Could it be the last sentence where I said that I would ‘continue the trek around London in Part Two’…??? We didn’t get back to base until after 1am!

  4. May 22, 2011 12:53 pm

    I trust you were wearing comfortables shoes…..what a fab expedition!

    • May 28, 2011 10:43 pm

      Boots with heels…comfy enough just for going to and from work, but not for wearing all day. The problem was…no other suitable footwear! 😦

Leave a Reply

