Skip to content

Christmas Goody Box – Part 1

December 28, 2009

A couple of weeks ago, I began work on a Christmas Goody Box, and thought that I would share my idea with you. (Actually, they could be used for parties at any time of year, depending on how you decorate them…not just for Christmas.)

The first one was made way back in the eighties, but unfortunately I don’t have any photos of it. It was brought out every Christmas and filled with small packets of sweets, snacks and biscuits, until it got too tatty.

Goody Box 1 The original was made with a brown cardboard box, which is probably why it got easily damaged, so this time I am using picture mounting board, which is available from all good art suppliers and craft shops.

You will also need a sharp knife for cutting it, a pencil, ruler, glue, and some stiff card for joining the pieces (or sticky tape if you prefer). Another option for the corners is quadrant beading available from any DIY store…in which case, a junior hacksaw is needed for cutting it.Goody Box 3

My version is 12”x10.5”x6” and the base is 1” bigger all round. I cut the stiff card into strips, and scored down the centre with an old craft knife (fairly blunt) so that it could be bent precisely. For the original, I think I used brown gummed paper tape, which joined the pieces on the outside.

You can make this any size you want…I just like rectangular.  For Christmas, it could be decorated in a Dickensian style, or as a single-storey gingerbread house.  I’m going to brick it, so more of that in Part 2…!

Goody Box 001     Goody Box 005

Goody Box 008

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Curiosity permalink
    December 28, 2009 7:19 pm

    No, don\’t brick it! Carry on and finish it off!Blue Peter theme tune keeps springing to mind!!

  2. Sandi permalink
    December 28, 2009 8:34 pm

    Anne, I\’m not going to drop bricks on it! What I meant was that I am going to do it like brickwork…maybe half timber it. I can\’t make up my mind, yet, so I shall just start on the roof…add a couple of chimneys, then tile it…with a few \’slipped\’ tiles of course, to add character. Do I do the door in the middle, or to one side? Latticed or sash windows? I think it has got to be Dickensian…don\’t you…?!

  3. ROCKET permalink
    December 28, 2009 10:00 pm

    If the box was constructed with brick it would last forever. It would be hard to move and really hurt if you dropped it on your toe but it WOULD last. We made it with no trouble, no shootings, I only had to wave at a few select idiots with one finger and cuss at a few dozen. Connection signal is very weak so I won\’t be on much but wanted to let you know we had made it so you\’ll know it\’s a scam if Simon tries running the old "we need money to bail RM out of jail" routine. Mom thanked per your wishes and she says you are most welcome. Love & best wishes to all.

  4. Sandi permalink
    December 28, 2009 10:28 pm

    Glad you arrived safely, RM…catch you later.I\’m going to spend hours cutting out little bricks, from cardboard, so that I can glue them all on individually. (Of course, you can cheat and use brick paper designed for dolls houses, but you don\’t get the proper effect.) The brown cardboard that backs A4 file pads is good for this….andyway, this is going in my next blog…!!!

  5. Curiosity permalink
    December 28, 2009 11:00 pm

    Are you sure you went to your mums RM cos we had a shooting over the road last night which made the news headlines. One bloke dead, another critical and a woman arrested, a burnt out car and a hit and run landrover typ0e vehicle….I wonder if it were Godzilla….. all in the same incident. I had been in the front room but wanted to watch the soaps so I went into the back room, a while later hubby came down and asked if i had heard the commotion out the front as two men were kicking the head in of another while two women were screaming! Police cars with sirens came along the road -unconnected to that – and they all ran off, he said he was about to go out there and help the bloke. I did not hear a thing, just as well cos I could not stand by and let someone get a beating.

  6. ROCKET permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:04 am

    Wasn\’t me. I even had the gun vault double locked and all but the handguns secured. They aren\’t much good at more than about 50 yards maximum so a trans-Atlantic shooting is pretty much out of the question.

  7. Samuel J permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:20 am

    I don\’t know about that….He was talking about sending a package of "Camping Gear" to his partner in Crime, Bubba Claus in the UK……

  8. Curiosity permalink
    December 29, 2009 8:57 am

    Food for thought SJF, food for thought! Will have to wait and see the photofit.

  9. Sandi permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:21 pm

    Hmmm…his evil twin has de-camped from Bournmouth and is currently \’staying with friends\’…hmmm…!

  10. Curiosity permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:30 pm

    The plot thickens!

  11. Sandi permalink
    December 29, 2009 1:15 pm

    The thick plottens!

  12. Curiosity permalink
    December 29, 2009 2:12 pm

    yes! i think i do \’plotten\’.

  13. Sandi permalink
    December 29, 2009 7:53 pm

    I have made a start on cutting out millions of \’roof tiles\’…freehand…no rulers allowed if you want to achieve a \’rustic look\’…! I shall use a ruler for the \’bricks\’, though.Right…time to round up any A4 file pads…and plunder them for the cardboard backing…!!!

  14. Sandi permalink
    December 31, 2009 1:09 pm

    Last day of 2009…? It already feels like 2010 to me…!

  15. Curiosity permalink
    December 31, 2009 2:20 pm

    Remember at school having a project about what we thought the future in 2000 would be like! Good grief even 2000 is so the long lost past now that is has become history!We are not all in silver suits or in cars that fly, the sun still shines and there still is no global peace among mankind.2010….how do we say that \’two thousand and ten\’ or \’twenty ten\’, I suppose the next ten years will be the \’teens\’!

  16. Sandi permalink
    December 31, 2009 3:11 pm

    I say twenty ten…less syllabubs (LOL!) Now you mention it, that sounds vaguely familiar…didn\’t Blue Peter start all that with their time capsule thingummy? Was that a junior school or senior school project?

  17. FATMAN permalink
    January 3, 2010 2:52 pm

    Nice blog Sandi… and I love the Moody Blues hahhaha..I have all their CD\’s… Ooop\’s I should introduce myself as I have been absent from Spaces for a little while.. I am the Fatman hahahha full of laughs and a little naughty but mostly harmless… Maybe we could be friends.. I blog most days…But jokes or my point on life.. Oh and I have a friend who helps me called Rupert..He is a naughty Dachshund..FM X

  18. Curiosity permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:29 pm

    Oh no Fatman, if you have too many friends then nothing will get done on Spaces cos we will all be laughing all day from your jokes!!

  19. Sandi permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    I remember Fatman from someone elses space last year…or even the year before…! Anne…we laugh at RMs blogs and the banter with Eileen, Maria, Bran, Rachel, Robin, and everyone else, too…my computer has had many near misses when it comes to a tea-shower!!! I actually did spit tea all over the kitchen, this morning…Robert was reading aloud some of the nonsense that we\’d created with magnetic letters a few years ago…and written down!!!

  20. Curiosity permalink
    January 3, 2010 4:53 pm

    The mind \’boggles\’ as to what those words may have been!

  21. Sandi permalink
    January 3, 2010 6:59 pm

    Totally stupid nonsense…really…\’squash me dogz dinner inna bun wiv cat tailz + sauce\’…that kinda nonsense…see…told ya…!!! LOL!

  22. Curiosity permalink
    January 3, 2010 7:04 pm

    Serves me right for asking.

  23. Princess permalink
    January 3, 2010 8:30 pm

    Yo Sandi! Just reading & enjoying ur comments here! Hope u have a lovely evening, Luv PF XXX

  24. Sandi permalink
    January 3, 2010 9:55 pm

    You did ask…! LMAO!!!PF…glad you didn\’t ask for more…silly nonsense, I mean…why we wrote them down, I don\’t know…LOL!!

  25. ROCKET permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:08 pm

    And I thought the voices in my head came up with some strange stuff!

  26. Sandi permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:26 pm

    LOL! \’Total nonsense will b spoken wen not finding BBQ frogs 4 l8ish lunch…\’ Then there are the \’6 skiing fishes farting mud\’…and some other such ridiculous bits which are just too silly to mention. Or as John Cleese would have said…"Stop! Stop! This is getting very silly…!!"

  27. ROCKET permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:30 pm

    Wolfie……..ask Simon if he\’s finished with the tranq gun. I think we\’re going to be needing it. Sandi, just stay where you are and relax. The big butterfly net is nothing to fear.

  28. Samuel J permalink
    January 4, 2010 12:32 am

    Rm knows too much about tranquilizer guns and butterfly nets….Me thinks he\’s had one too many whacka, whacka, bangy, bangy form the skillet….Oh what the heck!!::whacka, whacka, Bangy, Bangy:: Look RM!! See all the Pretty little birdies?!? Let me get the net and I\’ll catch them for you….

  29. Sandi permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:56 am

    LOL!! Er…is this the net you were after…? Here let me catch those little birdies for you RM…nice work SJF…(now what do we do with him…?!!!)

  30. Eileen permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:21 pm

    6 skiing fishes farting mud??? Now I\’m just so glad I left my cup of coffee firmly in it\’s place or I\’d have sprayed my computer with it reading your blog!!

  31. Deb's permalink
    January 6, 2010 1:59 pm

    hiya Sandi ((hugs))you\’ve made that sound and look so easy to make, but I know for a fact that it would end up looking like the house that jack built if i attempted it. xXx

  32. Sandi permalink
    January 6, 2010 2:17 pm

    Eileen, the times I have nearly done that and been thankful that I\’d actually finished my drink…! The magnetic letters have re-appeared on the fridge, and are now being re-arranged on a regular basis…LOL! Crazy, some of the stuff that is…is…er…you know…Debs, It is pretty simple to make, honest…have been tiling the roof, then, when I\’ve made up my mind about doors, windows and such like, I will post Part 2 showing the effects that a few scraps of cardboard, filler, and paint can achieve.

  33. Eileen permalink
    January 6, 2010 2:28 pm

    Why is daytime tv so bloody boring? I wish I had my ipod docking station here at least I\’d be able to listen to some decent music then! Getting bored now :o(Looking forward to seeing part 2 Sandi

  34. Sandi permalink
    January 6, 2010 2:35 pm

    You could go to YouTube and listen to your faves from there…but then again, I tend to spend forever on YouTube checking out all kinds of stuff…!Will have to get on with Goody Box, then, so I can get blog done…and stop procrastinating!!

  35. Curiosity permalink
    February 8, 2010 11:47 am

    Any progress here?

  36. Curiosity permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:37 pm

    On Behalf of the Christmas Goody Box………."Oi! have you forgotten ME!!!!" ahem!!

  37. Sandi permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:50 pm

    Ah…yes…roof tiles done…brickwork done…windows and door almost done…then it will be painted. I think the paints are in the lot somewhere…ho hum..!! I did want to get this finished in January!

  38. Sandi permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:52 pm

    Darn it!! I was going to make chimbleys (chimneys) to go on it!!

  39. Princess permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:02 pm

    Hehehehhee, I shall look 4ward 2 phot evid of the chimbleys!!!! Luv PF XXX

  40. Curiosity permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:28 pm

    Gonna end up an Easter Goody Box at this rate!

  41. Sandi permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:20 am

    Well, if I add snow and icicles it would be just or Christmas…but I\’m just making it as a cottage…(see first paragraph)

  42. ROCKET permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:27 am

    I happen to know where you can get more snow than you\’ll ever use at a STEEP discount. Fresh supply is being unloaded right now! I\’ll throw in the icicles for free.

Leave a comment